Switzerland

Tanz Luzerner Theater TLT

I am who I am who I am

Tour dates

Duration: 104 mins., with interval

April 23, 2020

Luzern

19:30

May 5, 2020

Bienne/Biel

20:00

May 8, 2020

Luzern

19:30

May 10, 2020

Luzern

19:00

May 15, 2020

Bern

20:00

May 16, 2020

La Chaux-de-Fonds

18:15

Ticket information

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Nebia

Bienne/Biel

Rue Thomas-Wyttenbach 4

www.nebia.ch +41 32 321 31 83

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch

TPR L'Heure bleue / ADN - Hiver de Danses

La Chaux-de-Fonds

Avenue Léopold-Robert 27

www.tpr.ch +41 32 967 60 50

Three strong personalities question the meaning of identity with virtuosity and humour.

 

British choreographer Carolin Finn takes a wild ride through fantasy and reality in search for the uniqueness in each and everyone of us. Ella Rothschild from Israel questions how one’s own identity changes in a group context. Swiss artist Jasmine Morand focuses on our visual perception, which is always subjective and never without a personal filter. How much can we really trust our perception, after all? «I am who I am who I am» – an intelligent, humorous and decidedly female view of the world!

 

Three premieres by three women packed into one production: a rarity in itself. The title of the production opening the 17th edition of Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps says it all: «I am who I am who I am». Kathleen McNurney, director of TLT since 2009, has formed an ensemble over the years which compares favourably with significantly bigger companies worldwide. In close collaboration with Steps, she has chosen three young guest choreographers, thus connecting the ensemble of TLT with the independent scene. The choreographers were all faced with the same task: to create a piece on the theme «identity». The result: cosmopolitan, individual and anything but identical.

 

Video message from Kathleen McNurney, Jasmine Morand, Ella Rothschild, Caroline Finn, from the Lock Down. On April 23rd they should have opened the festival with "I am who I am who I am".

Caroline Finn

Caroline Finn

Caroline Finn trained at the Arts Educational School (Tring Park) and at Julliard School in New York. She has danced for companies such as Ballet Preljocaj (F) and Compagnie Carolyn Carlson (F). Today she works around the world as an independent choreographer. In 2010, she won the production award at the Copenhagen International Choreography Competition; in 2014, she received the Matthew Bourne’s New Adventures Award. From 2015 to 2018, she was resident choreographer at the National Dance Company Wales. Picture: Vreni Arbes

Ella Rothschild

Ella Rothschild

Ella Rothschild, born 1984 in Israel, is widely acknowledged as an outstanding voice in the younger generation of Israel’s lively dance scene. She has danced with Inbal Pinto and Avshalom Pollak Dance Company and Batsheva Dance Company. Since 2010, she has created her own choreographies, which are presented worldwide. In 2016, she received the Rosenblum Prize for the Performing Arts in Tel Aviv. Rothschild continues to dance on stage, recently doing so to a choreography by CrystalPite/Kidd Pivot for the Balletto Teatro di Torino. Picture: Rolex Robert Wright

Jasmine Morand

Jasmine Morand

Jasmine Morand, born 1977 in Zurich, trained at the École de Danse Classique Geneviève Chaussat in Geneva and at the Académie Princesse Grace de Monaco. The repeated prizewinner of the Migros Culture Percentage Study Prize for young art students, she has danced with companies such as Ballet National de Nancy et de Lorraine and Ballett Zürich. In 2008, she founded Compagnie Prototype Status based at Dansomètre in Vevey, a dance laboratory run and curated by her. In 2013, she received the art award of the Canton of Vaud and in 2018 the prize Label+ romand for her creation «LUMEN». Picture: Céline Michel

Programme:

I am who Iam who I am

Choreography:

Caroline Finn, Jasmine Morand, Ella Rothschild

Artistic direction:

Kathleen McNurney

Costumes:

Eva Butzkies

Lighting/stage design:

Guy Hoare

Dancers:

Zach Enquist, Elisabeth Gareis, Phoebe Jewitt, Giovanni Insaudo, Carlos Kerr Jr., Valeria Marangelli, Igli Mezini, Eduarda Pereira Santos, Flavio Quisisana, Aurélie Robichon, Sandra Salietti Aguilera, Andrea Thompson, Gonçalo Torres dos Reis, Tom van de Ven

Co-production:

Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps, Luzerner Theater

World premiere and festival opening:

23/4/2020, Luzerner Theater

More information:

Tanz Luzerner Theater TLT

Schweiz

Tanz Luzerner Theater TLT

I am who I am who I am

Tourdaten

Dauer: 104 Min. mit Pause

Oktober 28, 2020

Luzern

20:00

Oktober 30, 2020

Luzern

20:00

Oktober 31, 2020

Luzern

20:00

Tickets
November 3, 2020

Luzern

20:00

Tickets
November 4, 2020

Luzern

20:00

Tickets
November 5, 2020

Luzern

20:00

Tickets
Ticketinformation

Südpol Halle

Luzern

Arsenalstrasse 28, Kriens

www.sudpol.ch +41 41 318 00 40

Südpol Halle

Luzern

Arsenalstrasse 28, Kriens

www.sudpol.ch +41 41 318 00 40

Südpol Halle

Luzern

Arsenalstrasse 28, Kriens

www.sudpol.ch +41 41 318 00 40

Südpol Halle

Luzern

Arsenalstrasse 28, Kriens

www.sudpol.ch +41 41 318 00 40

Südpol Halle

Luzern

Arsenalstrasse 28, Kriens

www.sudpol.ch +41 41 318 00 40

Südpol Halle

Luzern

Arsenalstrasse 28, Kriens

www.sudpol.ch +41 41 318 00 40

Drei starke Persönlichkeiten hinterfragen virtuos und humorvoll, was Identität bedeutet.

Die Britin Caroline Finn begibt sich auf einen wilden Ritt durch Fantasie und Realität auf der Suche nach der Einzigartigkeit eines jeden von uns. Ella Rothschild aus Israel fragt sich, wie sich die eigene Identität im Gruppenkontext verändert. Die Schweizerin Jasmine Morand setzt an beim Sehen, das immer subjektiv, nie ohne persönlichen Filter geschieht. Wie sehr können wir uns eigentlich auf unsere Wahrnehmung verlassen? «I am who I am who I am» – ein intelligenter, ideenreicher, humorvoller und für einmal dezidiert weiblicher Blick auf die Welt!

Drei Uraufführungen von drei Frauen, gebündelt in einer Produktion, das hat Seltenheitswert. Kathleen McNurney leitet TLT seit 2009 und hat über die Jahre ein Ensemble geformt, das auch international die Konkurrenz deutlich grösserer Compagnien nicht zu scheuen braucht. In enger künstlerischer Zusammenarbeit mit Steps hat sie nun drei junge Gastchoreografinnen ausgewählt und verbindet damit das Ensemble von TLT mit der freien Szene. Die Choreografinnen wurden alle vor dieselbe Aufgabe gestellt: ein Stück zum Thema «Identität» zu kreieren. Das Resultat: international, individuell und alles andere als identisch.

 

Nach der Absage des Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestivals Steps im Frühling 2020 werden die Koproduktionen der Ausgabe 2020 in der Theatersaison 20/21 gezeigt. Die Uraufführung von «I am who I am who I am» findet am 28. Oktober 2020 in Luzern statt. Caroline Finns Stück «personae» wird in Form eines Tanzfilms präsentiert.

Caroline Finn

Caroline Finn

Caroline Finn, 1981 in Bromley UK geboren, erhält ihre Ausbildung an der Arts Educational School und an der Juilliard School in New York. Sie tanzt unter anderem im Ballet Preljocaj (F) und in der Compagnie von Carolyn Carlson (F). Heute arbeitet sie weltweit als freischaffende Choreografin. 2010 gewinnt Finn den Produktionspreis beim Wettbewerb für Choreografie in Kopenhagen, 2014 wird ihr der Matthew Bourne’s New Adventures Choreographer Award zuerkannt. Von 2015 bis 2018 ist sie Residenz-Choreografin der National Dance Company Wales. Foto: Vreni Arbes

Ella Rothschild

Ella Rothschild

Die 1984 in Israel geborene Ella Rothschild gilt als herausragende Stimme der jüngeren Generation in der lebendigen israelischen Tanzszene. Sie tanzt mit der Inbal Pinto und Avshalom Pollak Dance Company und der Batsheva Dance Company. Eigene Choreografien entstehen ab 2010, die weltweit zu sehen sind. 2016 erhält sie den Rosenblum Prize for the Performing Arts der Stadt Tel Aviv. Weiterhin ist Rothschild als Tänzerin auf der Bühne, zuletzt in der Crystal Pite/Kidd Pivot-Kreation für das Balletto Teatro di Torino. Foto: Rolex Robert Wright

Jasmine Morand

Jasmine Morand

Jasmine Morand, 1977 in Zürich geboren, erhält ihre Tanzausbildung an der École de Danse Classique Geneviève Chaussat in Genf und an der Académie Princesse Grace de Monaco. Die mehrfache Preisträgerin des Migros-Kulturprozent Förderpreises für junge Kunststudierende tanzt anschliessend unter anderem im Ballet National de Nancy et Lorraine und im Zürcher Ballett. 2008 gründet sie ihre eigene Compagnie Prototype Status mit Sitz im von ihr auch geleiteten und kuratierten Dansomètre in Vevey. 2013 erhält sie den Kunstpreis des Kantons Waadt, 2018 den Preis Label+ romand für ihre Kreation «LUMEN». Foto: Céline Michel

Programm:

I am who Iam who I am

Choreografien:

«IRIS» Jasmine Morand / «PIGULIM» Ella Rothschild  / Tanzfilm «personae» Caroline Finn

Künstlerische Leitung:

Kathleen McNurney

Dramaturgie:

Sarah Brusis

Kostüme:

Eva Butzkies

Bühne:

Sophia Prölss

Tänzerinnen/Tänzer:

Carlos Kerr Jr., Dario Dinuzzi, Andrea Thompson, Valeria Marangelli, Lisa Gareis, Phoebe Jewitt, Igli Mezini, Flavio Quisisana, Olivia Blanch, Mathilde Gilhet, Luigi Imperato, Terra Kell, Mathew Prichard, Ilaria Rabagliati, Gabriele Rolle, Giuliana Sollami

Koproduktion:

Migros Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps, Luzerner Theater

Uraufführung:

28.10.2020, Südpol Luzern

Weitere Infos:

Tanz Luzerner Theater TLT