Portraits in Otherness

Mamu Tshi / Dickson Mbi / Joy Ritter

Tour Dates

Duration 70 mins. without break

May 3, 2022

Lausanne

19:30

Ticket
May 4, 2022

Lausanne

19:30

Ticket
May 7, 2022

Lugano

20:30

Ticket
May 11, 2022

Zug

20:00

May 13, 2022

Moutier

20:00

Ticket
May 19, 2022

Steckborn

20:15

Ticket
May 21, 2022

Basel

20:00

Ticket
Ticket information

Théâtre Sévelin 36

Lausanne

Av. de Sévelin 36

www.theatresevelin36.ch +41 21 620 00 10

Théâtre Sévelin 36

Lausanne

Av. de Sévelin 36

www.theatresevelin36.ch +41 21 620 00 10

LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura

Lugano

Piazza Bernardino Luini 6

www.luganolac.ch +41 58 866 42 22

Theater Casino Zug

Zug

Artherstrasse 2-4

www.theatercasino.ch +41 41 729 05 05

Aula de Chantemerle

Moutier

Chemin de Chantemerle 2

www.ccpmoutier.ch +41 32 493 45 11

Phönix Theater

Steckborn

Im Feldbach 8

www.phoenix-theater.ch +41 52 761 19 85

Kaserne Basel

Basel

Klybeckstrasse 1b

www.kaserne-basel.ch +41 61 666 60 00

Making up Portraits in Otherness are three solos in different styles. In the course of an evening, three up-and-coming choreographers present a piece choreographed and performed by them personally. L’Héritière by Mamu Tshi is an impressive performance that brings questions related to her own cultural heritage to the stage and catapults the audience into the fascinating world of "Krumping". The dancer from Lausanne stands for empowerment and resistance, and is an important female voice from the French-speaking Swiss dance scene. The second artist, Dickson Mbi, lives and breathes hip-hop. His impressive "popping" skills cast an irresistible spell on the audince. During his solo Duende, he focuses on the eponymous term from flamenco, powerfully bridging a wide range of dance forms. Joy Ritter completes the international trio. She combines Filipino folk dancing, classical dance education and the art of “voguing” in her solo work BABAE, which is inspired by Mary Wigman’s famous solo work Hexentanz. All three explore the boundaries of their artistic rootsand write their own choreographic signatures in a nod to contemporary dance.

Mamu Tshi

Mamu Tshi

Mamu Tshi was born in the Republic of the Congo and now lives and works in Lausanne. The young artist felt drawn to street dance at a young age and is now a world champion in krumping, for which she was awarded “Dancer of the Year” in 2020. The powerful, expressive and liberating form of freestyle dance is part of the street dance movement and considered an artistic response to the systematic repression suffered by certain groups of people and their resulting frustration. The lively “battles”, which are influenced by hip-hop, are typically carried out in public spaces by different “crews”. Mamu Tshi was involved in the dynamic underground street dance scene for a long time before appearing for the first time at Théâtre Sévelin 36 as part of Quarts d’Heure, a platform for young choreographers, in 2019. Based on her extraordinary artistic work, she was subsequently invited to develop her solo work Womb: Entrailles as artiste associée through spring 2023. With her work l’Héritière, she is among the participants of the international trio Portraits in Otherness and is supported and mentored by the director of Théâtre Sévelin 36, Philippe Saire. Picture: Mathilda Olmi

Dickson Mbi

Dickson Mbi

Dickson Mbi was born in Cameroon and grew up in London. He has a background in jazz, ballet and contemporary dance and studied at Lewisham College and the London Contemporary Dance School. Today, he is an internationally successful dancer in the hip-hop scene and famous for his powerful movements and remarkable jumping ability. He has won numerous competitions, including popping contests at Juste Debout UK, BattleISM, KOD and the British B-Boy Championships. As a dancer, he collaborated with Basement Jaxx, Shallama, Robbie Williams, Corinne Bailey-Rae, Black Eyed Peas, Russell Maliphant and Boy Blue Entertainment. In 2017, he was nominated for the UK Theatre Award (“Best Achievement in Dance”) and for “Emerging Artist” and “Outstanding Male Performer (Modern)” at the National Dance Awards Critic Circle. Picture: Woon-Shik Lee

Joy Ritter

Joy Ritter

Joy Ritter was born in Los Angeles and moved to Freiburg im Breisgau at the age of four. She received her first ballet lessons as a child before being accepted to the Palucca University of Dance Dresden at the age of seventeen. In addition to ballet, jazz and contemporary dance, traditional Filipino and Polynesian folk dances round off her dance repertoire. In 2011, she was a member of the Jackson Immortal World Tour, a show produced by the renowned Cirque du Soleil to commemorate the pop legend Michael Jackson, who died in 2009, with shows in the US, Canada and Europe. Since 2012, she has toured the world with Wang Ramirez and the Akram Khan Company and is increasingly involved in the hip-hop scene. She was nominated by the UK National Dance Awards as outstanding dancer in 2017 for her performance in Until the Lions. Picture: Merav Maroody

Programme:

L’Héritière, Duende, BABAE

Artistic directors:

Akram Khan, Farooq Chaudhry

Artistic production:

Farooq Chaudhry

Age recommendation:

8 years and older

L’Héritière

Choreography/dance:

Mamu Tshi

Music:

Tracy September

Lighting:

Samuel Montaño

Mentor:

Philippe Saire

Production:

Théâtre Sévelin 36

Co-production:

Théâtre Sévelin 36, Akram Khan Company, Migros Culture Percentage

Dance Festival Steps

Premiere:

3 May 2022 at Théâtre Sévelin 36 as part of the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Duende

Choreography/dance:

Dickson Mbi

Music:

Roger Goula

Lighting:

Fabiana Piccioli

Production:

Farooq Chaudhry

Co-production:

Akram Khan Company, Sadler’s Wells London

Premiere:

5 June 2018 at Sadler’s Wells London; first Swiss performance

BABAE

Choreography/dance:

Joy Ritter

Artistic assistant:

Lukas Steltner

Music:

Vincenzo Lamagna

Costumes:

Lan Behrendt DYAO

Lighting:

Arne Schmitt, Joy Ritter

Production:

Farooq Chaudhry

Co-production:

Akram Khan Company, Sadler’s Wells London, «Witchdance Project» Sophiensaele Berlin, Tanzfonds Erbe

Premiere:

5 June 2018 at Sadler’s Wells London; first Swiss performance

Einführungen/Nachgespräche:

11.5.2022 Theater Casino Zug, Einführung

 

Further information:

Dickson Mbi

Joy Ritter

Akram Khan Company – Portraits in Otherness

Portraits in Otherness

Mamu Tshi / Dickson Mbi / Joy Ritter

Tourdaten

Dauer: 70 Min. ohne Pause

Mai 3, 2022

Lausanne

19:30

Tickets
Mai 4, 2022

Lausanne

19:30

Tickets
Mai 7, 2022

Lugano

20:30

Tickets
Mai 11, 2022

Zug

20:00

Tickets
Mai 13, 2022

Moutier

20:00

Tickets
Mai 19, 2022

Steckborn

20:15

Tickets
Mai 21, 2022

Basel

20:00

Tickets
Ticketinformation

Théâtre Sévelin 36

Lausanne

Av. de Sévelin 36

www.theatresevelin36.ch +41 21 620 00 10

Théâtre Sévelin 36

Lausanne

Av. de Sévelin 36

www.theatresevelin36.ch +41 21 620 00 10

LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura

Lugano

Piazza Bernardino Luini 6

www.luganolac.ch +41 58 866 42 22

Theater Casino Zug

Zug

Artherstrasse 2-4

www.theatercasino.ch +41 41 729 05 05

Aula de Chantemerle

Moutier

Chemin de Chantemerle 2

www.ccpmoutier.ch +41 32 493 45 11

Phönix Theater

Steckborn

Im Feldbach 8

www.phoenix-theater.ch +41 52 761 19 85

Kaserne Basel

Basel

Klybeckstrasse 1b

www.kaserne-basel.ch +41 61 666 60 00

«Portraits in Otherness» ist eine «Triple Bill» par excellence. Im Fokus stehen drei vielverspre­chende Nachwuchskünstler*innen und ihre stilistisch unterschiedlichen Tanzsoli. «L’Héritière» thematisiert Existenz und Würde und katapultiert die Zuschauer*innen in die faszinierende Welt des «Krumping». Mamu Tshi ist eine vielversprechende Stimme aus der Schweizer Streetdance- Szene. Mit Dickson Mbi ist ein zweiter Künstler vertreten, dessen Herz für den Hip-Hop schlägt. Mit seinen beindruckenden «Popping»-Fähigkeiten zieht er das Publikum in seinen Bann. Das Solo «Duende» ist eine persönliche Erzählung, die Erinnerungen und tiefe Gefühle kraftvoll nach aussen trägt. Joy Ritter komplettiert das herausragende Trio. Sie vereint philippinischen Volkstanz, klassische Tanzausbildung und Voguing-Vokabular. Sie zeigt das Solo «BABAE», das von Mary Wigmans berühmten Solo «Hexentanz» inspiriert ist. Alle drei loten die Grenzen ihrer künstlerischen Prägungen aus und entwickeln ihre eigene choreografische Handschrift. Hinter dem Konzept der Förderung junger internationaler Talente stehen der Choreograf Akram Khan und sein Dramaturg Farooq Chaudhry. Die Schweizer Künstlerin Mamu Tshi wurde vom Choreografen Philippe Saire mentoriert. Die drei Mentoren haben den Wunsch, die eigenen Erfahrungen weiterzugeben und Talenten eine Plattform zu bieten. Ein grosser Gewinn – nicht nur für die Menschen auf, sondern auch für die Menschen vor der Bühne.

Mamu Tshi

Mamu Tshi

Mamu Tshi wurde im Kongo geboren, lebt und arbeitet heute in Lausanne. Die junge Künstlerin fühlte sich schon früh zum Streetdance hingezogen und gehört heute zur Weltspitze des Krum­ping. 2020 wurde ihr der Titel «Tänzerin des Jahres» in dieser Disziplin verliehen. Der kraftvolle, expressive und befreiende Freestyle-Tanz ist Teil der Streetdance-Bewegung und gilt unter anderem als künstlerische Antwort auf systematische Unterdrückung gewisser Gruppierungen und die damit verbundene Frustration. Die vom Hip-Hop beeinflussten, energiegeladenen Battles werden meist im öffentlichen Raum von verschiedenen Crews ausgetragen. Mamu Tshi verbrachte viel Zeit in der dynamischen Untergrundszene des Streetdance, bevor sie 2019 im Rahmen von «Quarts d’Heure» – einer Plattform für junge Choreograf*innen – erstmals im Théâtre Sévelin 36 zu sehen war. Aufgrund ihrer herausragenden künstlerischen Arbeit wurde sie daraufhin eingeladen, als «artiste associée» ihr Solo Womb: Entrailles bis zum Frühjahr 2023 auszubauen. Mit ihrem Stück l’Héritière ergänzt Mamu Tshi das internationale Trio von «Portraits in Otherness» und wird dabei vom Leiter des Théâtre Sévelin 36, Philippe Saire, begleitet und mentoriert. Foto: Mathilda Olmi

Dickson Mbi

Dickson Mbi

Dickson Mbi wurde in Kamerun geboren und wuchs in London auf. Er verfügt über einen Hintergrund in Jazz, Ballett und zeitgenössischem Tanz. Seine Tanzausbildung absolvierte er am Lewisham College und an der London Contemporary Dance School. Heute ist er international erfolgreicher Tänzer in der Hip-Hop-Tanzszene, berühmt für seine kraftvollen Bewegungen und die bemerkenswerten Sprungfähigkeiten. Zahllose Wettbewerbsgewinne zieren die Karriere, darunter die Popping-Wettbewerbe Juste Debout UK, BattleISM, KOD und die britische B-Boy Championships. Als Tänzer arbeitet er unter anderem mit Basement Jaxx, Shallama, Robbie Williams, Corinne Bailey-Rae, Black Eyed Peas, Russell Maliphant und Boy Blue Entertainment zusammen. 2017 war er für den UK Theatre Award («Best Achievement in Dance») nominiert sowie als «Emerging Artist» und «Outstanding Male Performer (Modern)» beim National Dance Awards Critic Circle. Foto: Woon-Shik Lee

Joy Ritter

Joy Ritter

Joy Ritter wurde in den Los Angeles geboren und zog im Alter von vier Jahren nach Freiburg im Breisgau. Ihre ersten Ballettstunden erhielt sie im Kindesalter, bevor sie mit siebzehn an der Palucca Schule in Dresden aufgenommen wurde. Neben Ballett, Jazz und zeitgenössischem Tanz runden traditionelle philippinische und polynesisches Folktänze ihr breites Tanzrepertoire ab. 2011 war sie Mitglied der Jackson Immortal World Tour, einer Show der renommierten Cirque du Soleil zu Ehren der 2009 verstorbenen Pop-Legende Michael Jackson, mit Stopps in den USA, Kanada und Europa. Seit 2012 tourt sie gemeinsam mit Wang Ramirez und der Akram Khan Company weltweit und ist vermehrt in der Hip-Hop-Szene anzutreffen. Für ihre Darstellung in «Until the Lions» wurde sie 2017 von den UK National Dance Awards als herausragende Tänzerin nominiert. Foto: Merav Maroody

Programm:

L’Héritière, Duende, BABAE

Künstlerische Leitung:

Akram Khan, Farooq Chaudhry

Künstlerische Produktion:

Farooq Chaudhry

 

 

L’Héritière

Choreografie/Tanz:

Mamu Tshi

Komposition:

Tracy September

Licht:

Samuel Montaño

Mentorat:

Philippe Saire

Produktion:

Théâtre Sévelin 36

Koproduktion:

Théâtre Sévelin 36, Akram Khan Company, Migros-Kulturprozent

Tanzfestival Steps

Uraufführung:

3. Mai 2022, Théâtre Sévelin 36, im Rahmen des Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps

Duende

Choreografie/Tanz:

Dickson Mbi

Komposition:

Roger Goula

Licht:

Fabiana Piccioli

Produktion:

Farooq Chaudhry

Koproduktion:

Akram Khan Company, Sadler’s Wells London

Uraufführung:

5. Juni 2018, Sadler’s Wells London, Schweizer Erstaufführung

BABAE

Künstlerische Assistenz:

Lukas Steltner

Komposition:

Vicenzo Lamagna

Kostüme:

Lan Behrendt DYAO

Licht:

Arne Schmitt, Joy Alpuerto Ritter

Produktion:

Farooq Chaudhry

Koproduktion:

Akram Khan Company, Sadler’s Wells London, «Witchdance Project» Sophiensaele Berlin, Tanzfonds Erbe

Uraufführung:

5. Juni 2018, Sadler’s Wells London, Schweizer Erstaufführung

 

Weitere Infos

Dickson Mbi

Joy Ritter

Akram Khan Company – Portraits in Otherness