Needcompany

Probabilities of Independent Events

Tour Dates

Duration: 75 mins. Without break

May 4, 2022

Zug

20:00

Ticket
May 5, 2022

Zug

20:00

Ticket
May 8, 2022

Bienne/Biel

18:00

Ticket
May 10, 2022

Monthey

20:00

Ticket
May 13, 2022

La Tour-de-Trême

20:00

Ticket
May 15, 2022

Mézières VD

17:00

Ticket
May 18, 2022

Fribourg

20:00

Ticket
Ticket information

Theater Casino Zug

Zug

Artherstrasse 2-4

www.theatercasino.ch +41 41 729 05 05

Theater Casino Zug

Zug

Artherstrasse 2-4

www.theatercasino.ch +41 41 729 05 05

Nebia

Bienne/Biel

Rue Thomas-Wyttenbach 4

www.nebia.ch +41 32 321 31 83

Théâtre du Crochetan

Monthey

Avenue du Théâtre 9

www.crochetan.ch +41 24 475 79 09

Salle CO2

La Tour-de-Trême

Rte de la Ronclina 4

www.co2-spectacle.ch +41 26 913 15 46

Théâtre du Jorat

Mézières VD

Rue du Théâtre 12

www.theatredujorat.ch +41 21 903 07 55

Equilibre

Fribourg

Place Jean-Tinguely 1

www.equilibre-nuithonie.ch +41 26 350 11 00

Belgian Needcompany has been bringing colourful combinations of art forms to the stage for over thirty years. With Probabilities of Independent Events, the company takes audiences on a hilarious ride, telling a boisterous and uninhibited tale full of youthful enthusiasm. The stage is transformed into a grotesque fantasy world where everything is possible and nothing can go wrong. The different performers come together as a lively whole, a wild assortment of artists dressed in gaudy costumes. They mix self-sung pop and folk songs by Queen, Zappa and Co. with energy-laden dances, theatre pieces and performances – which all comes together to create in an effervescent, contagious live music collage. The message is as simple as it is brilliant: Long live being together, enjoying life and, of course, kitsch! Probabilities of Independent Events was originally developed with students from the Royal Conservatoire Antwerp. Now the company has created a new and exclusive version for the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps. Together with young graduates from the College of Higher Education for Contemporary and Urban Stage Dance in Zurich (HF ZUB), choreographer Grace Ellen Barkey will bring the debut performance of the successful piece to the stage at Theater Casino Zug. This is a night where fun is guaranteed!

Grace Ellen Barkey

Grace Ellen Barkey

The artist, choreographer and performer Grace Ellen Barkey was born in Surabaya, Indonesia, and has lived and worked for over 30 years in Brussels. Together with Jan Lauwers, she founded Needcompany (1986) and has successfully carried out her own projects since 1992. Her artistic work moves between theatre, dance and visual/fine arts. Music plays a central role in her work and includes everything from Gustav Mahler to Sonic Youth. In 2013, the legendary American avant-garde collective The Residents wrote the music for her creation MUSH-ROOM. Together with the fine artist Lot Lemm, Barkey established the label Lemm&Barkey in 2004. Over the years, the versatile artist has continuously expanded and developed her work in different directions. In addition to works for the stage, she also creates installations, which have been exhibited in different museums, including BOZAR (Brussels), Benaki Museum (Athens), Musée des Arts Décoratifs (Paris), CC Strombeek, Museum Dr. Guislain (Ghent) and Triennale Hasselt/“SuperBodies”. Picture: Maarten van der Put

Needcompany

Needcompany

The company was founded in 1986 by the artist couple Jan Lauwers and Grace Ellen Barkey. Maarten Seghers joined in 2001. Lauwers, Barkey and Seghers work together as a core team in an interdisciplinary manner, combining theatre, dance, performance, visual/fine arts and creative writing. Their artistic work can be seen far beyond the borders of Belgium. Needcompany has presented itself as an international, multilingual, innovative and interdisciplinary company from the beginning. Picture: Phile Deprez

Programme:

Probabilities of Independent Events

Artistic directors Needcompany:

Grace Ellen Barkey, Jan Lauwers, Maarten Seghers

Choreography:

Grace Ellen Barkey

Choreography assistant:

Sung Im Her

Dramaturgy:

Elke Janssens

Musical director and arrangements:

Rombout Willems

Needcompany orchestra and performers:

Sung Im Her, Jules Beckman, Jan Lauwers, Simon Lenski, Maarten Seghers, Emily Hehl, George van Dam, Rombout Willems

Dancers ZUB:

Arlette Dellers, Jana Dünner,  Sheyla Carmelita Gomez de la Cruz, Sofie Heller, Sofia Kovaleva, Michaela Kvet, Zoé de Reynier, Pia Ringel, Elisa Pinos Serrano, Branca Scheidegger, Selina Sigrist, Christian Waespi

Costumes:

Charlotte Seeligmuller

Stage manager:

Koen de Saeger

Technical director and lighting designer:

Ken Hioco

Sound:

Pierrick Drochmans

Monitor mix:

Bart Aga

Production director:

Marjolein Demey

Original version:

Dancers: Royal Conservatoire of Antwerp

Co-production: Concertgebouw Brugge

Supported by: the Belgian Federal Government’s Tax Shelter

Special thanks to: Royal Conservatoire of Antwerp – AP Hogeschool, Yasemin Kandemir, Karel Tuytschaever, Nienke Reehorst, Tax Shelter Financing Fund nv, Melissa Thomas, Christel Simons

Premiere: 5 December 2019 at Concertgebouw Brugge

Production:

Needcompany

Co-production:

Theater- und Musikgesellschaft Zug, Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Supported by:

Flemish agencies

Premiere:

4 May 2022 at Theater Casino Zug as part of the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Age recommendation:

8 years and older

Einführungen / Nachgespräche:

4.5.2022 Theater Casino Zug, Einführung
5.5.2022 Theater Casino Zug, Einführung

Further information:

Needcompany

Needcompany

Probabilities of Independent Events

Tourdaten

Dauer: 75 Min. ohne Pause

Mai 4, 2022

Zug

20:00

Tickets
Mai 5, 2022

Zug

20:00

Tickets
Mai 8, 2022

Bienne/Biel

18:00

Tickets
Mai 10, 2022

Monthey

20:00

Tickets
Mai 13, 2022

La Tour-de-Trême

20:00

Tickets
Mai 15, 2022

Mézières VD

17:00

Tickets
Mai 18, 2022

Fribourg

20:00

Tickets
Ticketinformation

Theater Casino Zug

Zug

Artherstrasse 2-4

www.theatercasino.ch +41 41 729 05 05

Theater Casino Zug

Zug

Artherstrasse 2-4

www.theatercasino.ch +41 41 729 05 05

Nebia

Bienne/Biel

Rue Thomas-Wyttenbach 4

www.nebia.ch +41 32 321 31 83

Théâtre du Crochetan

Monthey

Avenue du Théâtre 9

www.crochetan.ch +41 24 475 79 09

Salle CO2

La Tour-de-Trême

Rte de la Ronclina 4

www.co2-spectacle.ch +41 26 913 15 46

Théâtre du Jorat

Mézières VD

Rue du Théâtre 12

www.theatredujorat.ch +41 21 903 07 55

Equilibre

Fribourg

Place Jean-Tinguely 1

www.equilibre-nuithonie.ch +41 26 350 11 00

Die belgische Needcompany steht seit über dreissig Jahren für eine kunterbunte Mischung aus Kunstformen. Mit «Probabilities of Independent Events» entführt die Compagnie das Publikum in eine urkomische Geschichte voller jugendlicher Begeisterung: unbändig und hemmungslos. Auf der Bühne öffnet sich ein grotesker Fantasieraum, in dem alles möglich ist und nichts schiefgehen kann. Wild zusammengewürfelt und in knalligen Kostümen bilden die verschiedenen Performer*innen eine quirlige Gemeinschaft. Sie mischen selbst gesungene Pop- und Folksongs von Queen, Zappa und Co. mit einer geballten Ladung Tanz, Theater und Performance. Was dabei herauskommt, ist eine sprudelnde und ansteckende Livemusik-Collage. Die Botschaft ist so simpel wie genial: Hoch lebe das Zusammensein, die Lebensfreude und der Kitsch! Ursprünglich wurde «Probabilities of Independent Events» mit Studierenden des Royal Conservatoire Antwerp entwickelt. Nun gibt es exklusiv für das Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps eine neue Version. Gemeinsam mit jungen Absolvent*innen der Höheren Fachschule für Zeitgenössischen und Urbanen Bühnentanz (ZUB) in Zürich bringt die Choreografin Grace Ellen Barkey das Erfolgsstück als Uraufführung auf die Bühne des Theater Casino Zug. Spassfaktor garantiert!

 

 

Was denkt Theater HORA über «Probabilities of Independent Events»?
Hier gehts zum HORAkel von Gianni Blumer und Frank Häusermann

Grace Ellen Barkey

Grace Ellen Barkey

Die Künstlerin, Choreografin und Performerin Grace Ellen Barkey wurde in Surabaya, Indonesien, geboren und lebt und arbeitet seit über dreissig Jahren in Brüssel. Sie ist gemeinsam mit Jan Lauwers die Gründerin von Needcompany (1986) und seit 1992 mit ihren eigenen Projekten international erfolgreich tätig. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit bewegt sich zwischen Theater, Tanz und visueller/bildender Kunst. Dabei spielt die Musik stets eine zentrale Rolle und reicht von Gustav Mahler bis zu Sonic Youth. 2013 schrieb das legendäre amerikanische Avantgarde-Kunstkollektiv «The Residents» die Musik für ihre Kreation MUSH-ROOM. Zusammen mit der bildenden Künstlerin Lot Lemm gründete Barkey 2004 das Label Lemm&Barkey. Über die Jahre hat die vielseitige Künstlerin ihre Arbeit kontinuierlich aufgebaut und in verschiedene Richtungen weiterentwickelt. Neben Bühnenkreationen erarbeitet sie Installationen, die in verschiedenen Museen, einschliesslich BOZAR (Brüssel), Benaki Museum (Athen), Musée des Arts Décoratifs (Paris), CC Strombeek, Museum Dr. Guislain (Gent), Triënnale Hasselt / Superbodies, gezeigt worden sind. Foto: Maarten van der Put

Needcompany

Needcompany

Die Compagnie wurde 1986 vom Künstlerpaar Jan Lauwers und Grace Ellen Barkey gegründet. 2001 stiess Maarten Seghers dazu. Lawers, Barkey und Seghers arbeiten als Kernteam interdisziplinär: Theater, Tanz, Performance, visuelle/bildende Kunst und kreatives Schreiben. Ihre künstlerischen Arbeiten sind weit über die belgischen Landesgrenzen hinaus zu sehen. Von Anfang an präsentierte sich Needcompany als internationale, multilinguale, innovative und inter­disziplinäre Compagnie. Foto: Phile Deprez

Programm:

Probabilities of Independent Events

Künstlerische Leitung Needcompany:

Grace Ellen Barkey, Jan Lauwers, Maarten Seghers

Choreografie:

Grace Ellen Barkey

Choreografische Assistenz:

Sung Im Her

Dramaturgie:

Elke Janssens

Musikalische Leitung und Arrangements:

Rombout Willems

Needcompany Orchester und Performer*innen:

Sung Im Her, Jules Beckman, Jan Lauwers, Simon Lenski, Maarten Seghers, Emily Hehl, George van Dam, Rombout Willems

Tänzer*innen ZUB:

Arlette Dellers, Jana Dünner,  Sheyla Carmelita Gomez de la Cruz, Sofie Heller, Sofia Kovaleva, Michaela Kvet, Zoé de Reynier, Pia Ringel, Elisa Pinos Serrano, Branca Scheidegger, Selina Sigrist, Christian Waespi

Kostüme:

Charlotte Seeligmuller

Inspizient:

Koen de Saeger

Technischer Direktor und Lichtdesigner:

Ken Hioco

Ton:

Pierrick Drochmans

Monitor Mix:

Bart Aga

Produktionsleitung:

Marjolein Demey

Originalversion:

Tänzer*innen: Antwerp’s Royal Conservatoire

Koproduktion: Concertgebouw Brügge

Unterstützt von: The Belgian Federal Government’s Tax Shelter

Dank an: Antwerp’s Royal Conservatoire – AP Hogeschool, Yasemin Kandemir, Karel Tuytschaever, Nienke Reehorst, Tax Shelter financing Fund nv, Melissa Thomas, Christel Simons

Uraufführung: 5. Dezember 2019, Concertgebouw Brügge

Produktion:

Needcompany

Koproduktion:

Theater- und Musikgesellschaft Zug, Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps

Unterstützt von:

Flämische Behörden

Uraufführung:

4. Mai 2022, Theater Casino Zug, im Rahmen des Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps

Altersempfehlung:

ab 8 Jahren

Einführungen / Nachgespräche:

4.5.2022 Theater Casino Zug, Einführung
5.5.2022 Theater Casino Zug, Einführung

Weitere Infos:

Needcompany