Martin Zimmermann / Kinsun Chan / Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen

Wonderful World

Tour Dates

Duration: 60 mins. without break

April 28, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Ticket
April 29, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Ticket
April 30, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Ticket
May 1, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Ticket
May 4, 2022

Baden

19:30

Ticket
May 7, 2022

Sierre

19:00

Ticket
May 10, 2022

Delémont

20:00

Ticket
May 15, 2022

Basel

16:00

Ticket
May 15, 2022

Basel

18:30

Ticket
May 17, 2022

Bern

20:00

Ticket
May 20, 2022

Winterthur

19:30

Ticket
May 21, 2022

Winterthur

19:30

Ticket
Ticket information

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Kurtheater Baden

Baden

Parkstrasse 20

www.kurtheater.ch +41 56 222 22 44

TLH-Sierre

Sierre

Rte de Ancien Sierre 13

www.tlh-sierre.ch +41 27 452 02 90

Théâtre du Jura

Delémont

Route de Bâle 10

www.theatre-du-jura.ch +41 32 566 55 55

Theater Basel Schauspielhaus

Basel

Steinentorstrasse 7

www.theaterbasel.ch +41 61 295 11 33

Theater Basel Schauspielhaus

Basel

Steinentorstrasse 7

www.theaterbasel.ch +41 61 295 11 33

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch +41 31 310 05 40

Theater Winterthur

Winterthur

Theaterstrasse 6

www.theaterwinterthur.ch +41 52 267 66 80

Theater Winterthur

Winterthur

Theaterstrasse 6

www.theaterwinterthur.ch +41 52 267 66 80

What happens to society when it is thrown off balance? Choreographers Kinsun Chan and Martin Zimmermann explore this question in Wonderful World, their first joint creation. The result of this first-rate collaboration is a visually unique work of art. The stage on which the performance takes place is unsteady, tilting with even the slightest movement and literally ripping the floor out from under the dancers’ feet. The stage is transformed into a symbol for our constantly changing world. Zimmermann and Chan’s Wonderful World is a surreal and abstract, yet also poetic discussion about patterns of human behaviour in extraordinary situations. While interacting with life-size puppets, the 16 ensemble members of the Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen ask whom each puppet represents. The dancers risk falling with each step. However, the intrigue of danger prevails, and the dancers must start the daring balancing act over and over again from the beginning. Zimmermann and Chan’s work brings representatives from two different worlds together. Chan is an internationally renowned choreographer and stage and costume designer, who has directed the Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen since the 2019/2020 season. Martin Zimmermann is an important figure in the international contemporary dance and circus scene and winner of the Swiss Grand Award for the Performing Arts/Hans Reinhart Ring in 2021. The work combines two different artistic perspectives into an unforgettable evening of dance, which will open the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps in St. Gallen.

Kinsun Chan

Kinsun Chan

The Canadian-Swiss choreographer and designer studied art, graphic design and dance at Virginia Intermont College, Georgia State University and the University of Louisville. As a dancer, he was a member of the Ballett Zürich led by Heinz Spoerli and Ballett Basel led by Richard Wherlock and has danced in choreographic works by Jiří Kylián, William Forsythe, Hans van Manen and Ed Wubbe, among others. His choreographic works have been performed by Ballett Basel, Singapore Dance Theatre, the ballet of Staatsoper Hannover, Royal Ballet School Antwerpen, John Cranko Ballet School, Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and Luzerner Theater, among others. In addition to his own works, he has choreographed numerous opera performances around the world. As an interior designer and costume designer, he has designed sets for numerous productions of renowned companies in both Europe and Asia. He has served as director of the Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen since the 2019/2020 season. Picture: Ilaria Masini

Martin Zimmermann

Martin Zimmermann

The choreographer, theatre director, set designer and performer Martin Zimmermann grew up in Wildberg, Switzerland, and graduated from the Centre National des Arts du Cirque (CNAC) in Paris following an apprenticeship as decorator. For more than 20 years, he has created, choreographed and staged visual and physical theatre without words in Zurich, whose mixture of circus, dance, theatre and spectacular stage installations has inspired large audiences around the world. His works have been performed at BAM New York, Tokyo Metropolitan Theater, Théâtre de la Ville Paris, Barbican London, Sydney Opera House, Festival d’Avignon and the Fondation Beyeler Art Museum, among others. He received the Swiss Design Award three years in a row for his set designs. He is an Associated Artist at Maison de la culture de Bourges/Scène Nationale and at Tanzhaus Zürich. In 2021, he received the renowned Swiss Grand Award for the Performing Arts/Hans Reinhart Ring, Switzerland’s greatest award for theatre. Picture: Augustin Rebetez

Programme:

Wonderful World

Choreography:

Martin Zimmermann, Kinsun Chan

Choreography assistant:

Sandrine Cassini

Dramaturgy:

Caroline Damaschke

Concept and stage design:

Martin Zimmermann

Music:

Hans-Peter Pfammatter, Daniel Steffen

Costumes:

Martin Zimmermann, Kinsun Chan

Lighting:

Christian Kass

Dancers:

Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen – Pamela Campos, Mikaël Champs, Guang-Xuan Chen, Beatriz Coelho, Dustin Eliot, Swane Küpper, Mei-Yun Lu, Lorian Mader, Naiara Silva de Matos, Lena Obuska, Emily Pak, Piran Scott, Samuel Trachsel, Camille Zany, Michal Zhao

Tour management:

Kinsun Chan, Theater St. Gallen

Co-production:

Theater St. Gallen and Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Supported by:

Sophie and Karl Binding Foundation, Ostschweizer Stiftung für Musik und Theater

Premiere:

28 April 2022, Theater St.Gallen, opening night of the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Age recommendation:

12 years and older

Further information:

Theater St. Gallen

Kinsun Chan

Martin Zimmermann

Martin Zimmermann / Kinsun Chan / Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen

Wonderful World

Tourdaten

Dauer: 60 Min. ohne Pause

April 28, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Tickets
April 29, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Tickets
April 30, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Tickets
Mai 1, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Tickets
Mai 4, 2022

Baden

19:30

Tickets
Mai 7, 2022

Sierre

19:00

Tickets
Mai 10, 2022

Delémont

20:00

Tickets
Mai 15, 2022

Basel

16:00

Tickets
Mai 15, 2022

Basel

18:30

Tickets
Mai 17, 2022

Bern

20:00

Tickets
Mai 20, 2022

Winterthur

19:30

Tickets
Mai 21, 2022

Winterthur

19:30

Tickets
Ticketinformation

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Kurtheater Baden

Baden

Parkstrasse 20

www.kurtheater.ch +41 56 222 22 44

TLH-Sierre

Sierre

Rte de Ancien Sierre 13

www.tlh-sierre.ch +41 27 452 02 90

Théâtre du Jura

Delémont

Route de Bâle 10

www.theatre-du-jura.ch +41 32 566 55 55

Theater Basel Schauspielhaus

Basel

Steinentorstrasse 7

www.theaterbasel.ch +41 61 295 11 33

Theater Basel Schauspielhaus

Basel

Steinentorstrasse 7

www.theaterbasel.ch +41 61 295 11 33

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch +41 31 310 05 40

Theater Winterthur

Winterthur

Theaterstrasse 6

www.theaterwinterthur.ch +41 52 267 66 80

Theater Winterthur

Winterthur

Theaterstrasse 6

www.theaterwinterthur.ch +41 52 267 66 80

Was passiert mit der Gesellschaft, wenn sie aus dem Gleichgewicht gerät? Die Choreografen Kinsun Chan und Martin Zimmermann gehen in ihrer ersten gemeinsamen Kreation «Wonderful World» dieser Frage nach. Das Resultat dieser hochkarätigen Zusammenarbeit ist ein visuell einzigartiges Stück. Ort des Geschehens ist eine instabile Bühne, die durch die kleinste Bewegung kippt und den Tänzer*innen wortwörtlich den Boden unter den Füssen wegzieht. Die Bühne wird zum Symbol für unsere sich stetig verändernde Welt. «Wonderful World» ist Zimmermanns und Chans surreale, abstrakte und gleichzeitig poetische Diskussion von menschlichen Verhaltensmustern in Ausnahmezuständen. Im Spiel mit lebensgrossen Puppen werfen die 16 Ensemblemitglieder der Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen die Frage auf, wer wessen Marionette ist. Die Tänzer*innen riskieren bei jedem Schritt den Absturz. Doch der Reiz der Gefahr überwiegt und lässt sie das kühne Gleichgewichtsspiel immer wieder von vorne beginnen. Mit Zimmermann und Chan begegnen sich Vertreter zweier Welten. Der international erfolgreiche Choreograf, Bühnen- und Kostümdesigner Kinsun Chan leitet seit der Saison 2019/20 die Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen, Martin Zimmermann ist ein wichtiger Kopf der internationalen zeitgenössischen Tanz- und Zirkusszene und Preisträger des Schweizer Grand Prix Darstellende Künste / Hans-Reinhart-Ring 2021. Zwei unterschiedliche künstlerische Perspektiven vereinen sich zu einem unvergesslichen Tanzabend, der das Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps in St. Gallen feierlich eröffnet.

Kinsun Chan

Kinsun Chan

Der kanadisch-schweizerische Choreograf und Designer Kinsun Chan studierte Kunst, Grafikdesign und Tanz am Virginia Intermont College, an der Georgia State University und an der University of Louisville. Als Tänzer war er unter anderem Mitglied des Ballett Zürich unter Heinz Spoerli sowie des Ballett Basel unter Richard Wherlock und tanzte unter anderem in Choreografien von Jiří Kylián, William Forsythe, Hans van Manen und Ed Wubbe. Seine choreografischen Arbeiten wurden international unter anderem vom Ballett Basel, vom Singapore Dance Theatre, vom Ballett der Staatsoper Hannover, von der Royal Ballet School Antwerpen, der John Cranko Ballet School, der Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts sowie am Luzerner Theater aufgeführt. Neben eigenen Kreationen entwickelte Kinsun Chan zahlreiche Choreografien für Opernaufführungen weltweit. Als Innenarchitekt und Kostümbildner entwirft Chan Ausstattungen für zahlreiche Produktionen renommierter Compagnien in Europa und in Asien. Seit der Saison 2019/20 ist er Leiter der Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen. Foto: Ilaria Masini

Martin Zimmermann

Martin Zimmermann

Der Choreograf, Theaterregisseur, Bühnenbildner und Performer Martin Zimmermann wuchs in Wildberg in der Schweiz auf und absolvierte nach einer Lehre als Dekorationsgestalter die Hochschule Centre National des Arts du Cirque (CNAC) in Paris. Seit mehr als zwanzig Jahren erfindet, choreografiert und inszeniert er von Zürich aus visuelles und physisches Theater ohne Worte, dessen Mischung aus Zirkus, Tanz, Theater und spektakulären Bühneninstallationen weltweit ein grosses Publikum begeistert. Seine Stücke wurden unter anderem im BAM New York, Tokyo Metropolitan Theater, Théâtre de la Ville Paris, Barbican London, Sydney Opera House, Festival d’Avignon oder im Kunstmuseum Fondation Beyeler gezeigt. Zimmermanns Bühnenbilder wurden dreimal hintereinander mit dem Swiss Design Award ausgezeichnet. Er ist Associated Artist an der Maison de la culture de Bourges / Scène Nationale und am Tanzhaus Zürich. 2021 erhielt Martin Zimmermann die höchste Schweizer Theaterauszeichnung, den renommierten Grand Prix Darstellende Künste / Hans-Reinhart-Ring 2021. Foto: Augustin Rebetez

Programm:

Wonderful World

Choreografie:

Martin Zimmermann, Kinsun Chan

Choreografische Assistenz:

Sandrine Cassini

Dramaturgie:

Caroline Damaschke

Konzept und Bühne:

Martin Zimmermann

Komposition:

Hans-Peter Pfammatter, Daniel Steffen

Kostüme:

Martin Zimmermann, Kinsun Chan

Licht:

Christian Kass

Tänzer*innen:

Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen – Pamela Campos, Mikaël Champs, Guang-Xuan Chen, Beatriz Coelho, Dustin Eliot, Swane Küpper, Mei-Yun Lu, Lorian Mader, Naiara Silva de Matos, Lena Obuska, Emily Pak, Piran Scott, Samuel Trachsel, Camille Zany, Michal Zhao

Tourmanagement:

Kinsun Chan, Theater St. Gallen

Koproduktion:

Theater St. Gallen und Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps

Unterstützt von:

Sophie und Karl Binding Stiftung, Ostschweizer Stiftung für Musik und Theater

Uraufführung:

28. April 2022, Theater St. Gallen, Eröffnung des Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps

Altersempfehlung:

ab 12 Jahren

Weitere Infos:

Theater St. Gallen

Kinsun Chan

Martin Zimmermann