CocoonDance

RUNthrough

Tour Dates

Duration: 60 mins. without break

May 7, 2022

Monthey

19:00

Ticket
May 8, 2022

Monthey

17:00

Ticket
May 11, 2022

Baden

19:30

Ticket
May 14, 2022

Poschiavo

20:30

Ticket
May 15, 2022

Poschiavo

17:00

Ticket
May 19, 2022

Morges

20:00

Ticket
May 22, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Ticket
Ticket information

Théâtre du Crochetan

Monthey

Avenue du Théâtre 9

www.crochetan.ch +41 24 475 79 09

Théâtre du Crochetan

Monthey

Avenue du Théâtre 9

www.crochetan.ch +41 24 475 79 09

Kurtheater Baden

Baden

Parkstrasse 20

www.kurtheater.ch +41 56 222 22 44

Palestre scuole comunali

Poschiavo

Via da S. Maria 19

www.valposchiavo.ch/steps +41 81 839 00 60

Palestre scuole comunali

Poschiavo

Via da S. Maria 19

www.valposchiavo.ch/steps +41 81 839 00 60

Théâtre de Beausobre

Morges

Av. de Vertou 2

www.beausobre.ch +41 21 804 97 16

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

RUNthrough exuberantly fuses together different concepts of movement and types of body language. The performance is produced by CocoonDance, a company inseparable from the contemporary European dance scene. With Swiss choreographer Rafaële Giovanola at the helm, the ensemble has intrigued and fascinated audiences with extraordinary works for many years. For its latest project, CocoonDance has invited individuals with a wide range of dance backgrounds to spend time with the company and share their knowledge. Within this context, the company’s professional dancers collaborate with representatives from the local Serbian Folklore Association and also suddenly find themselves in the middle of a vibrant jam session with local hip-hop artists. The resulting mini collaborations lead to exciting artistic experiments that serve as inspiration for the evening-length choreography. RUNthrough is the product of an adventure-filled journey focused on making music, singing, dancing, learning and tinkering together. The work is a unique experience and will celebrate its premiere during the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps in 2022. For curious minds : short video documentaries about the residencies can be found under “Videos”. They offer an exciting peek into rehearsals.

Rafaële Giovanola

Rafaële Giovanola

The Swiss choreographer was born in Baltimore, USA, and studied dance with Marika Besobrasova in Monte Carlo. As a young dancer, she collaborated with the Frankfurt Ballet, where she danced classical repertoire while also working with important contemporary choreographers, such as Jiří Kylián, Uwe Scholz and William Forsythe. In 1990, she joined the Choreographisches Theater before starting CocoonDance, her own company, 10 years later with the dramaturge Rainald Endrass. In 2012, CocoonDance established a junior company, which was invited in both 2016 and 2019 to Tanztreffen der Jugend as part of the Berliner Festspiele. Rafaële Giovanola has an abstract understanding of dance, similar to that of contemporary visual arts. Her work is about creating images that do not immediately reveal their meaning but stimulate different perceptions. In addition to her own choreography and numerous commissions, including works for Dance Company at Theater Osnabrück, Zentrum für Zeitgenössischen Tanz (ZZT) in Cologne and tanzmainz during the 2021/2022 season, she also teaches around the world, including at tanzhaus nrw in Düsseldorf, Theater St. Gallen, Staatstheater Nürnberg as well as for the Ewgenij Panfilow Company, the Perm Ballet School (Russia), the choreographic centre Donko Seko Bamako (Mali) and at Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts in Bangalore (India). Picture: Joerg Letz

CocoonDance

CocoonDance

CocoonDance was founded by choreographer Rafaële Giovanola and dramaturge Rainald Endrass in 2000. Since 2004, the company has performed and directed the dance division at Theater im Ballsaal, which receives institutional support from the federal city of Bonn. The company is defined by a diverse, international and interdisciplinary network, and is regularly involved in cultural and educational activities as well as promoting young talent through its own junior company and artistic education. The company’s roughly 40 evening-length productions have been commissioned as guest performances on five continents and awarded multiple prizes, including the sponsorship grant from the canton of Valais. In 2018 and 2020, CocoonDance was represented at TANZPLATTFORM DEUTSCHLAND, the most important contemporary dance biennial in Germany. During their three-year residency from 2016 to 2019 at Théâtre du Crochetan in Monthey, CocoonDance not only strengthened its connection to Switzerland, but also initiated an important local artistic project: Cie. Junior, a second company for young talent. The company aims to provide young people in Valais with low-threshold and individual access to contemporary dance. CocoonDance has served as Artiste associée at Théâtre du Crochetan since 2020, where it also provides advisory services for different types of dance education and audience development. Picture: Alessandro de Matteis

Programme:

RUNthrough

Choreography:

Rafaële Giovanola

Dramaturgy:

Rainald Endrass

Choreographic assistance:

Jade Albasini

Œil extérieur:

Conseils Littéraires - Mélisende Navarre

Music:

Franco Mento

Costumes:

Mathilde Grebot

Stage/lighting:

Robi Voigt

Video:

Michael Maurissens

Dancers:

Cristina Commisso, Fa-Hsuan Chen, Margaux Dorsaz, Álvaro Esteban, Jenna Hendry, Joana Kern, Evandro Pedroni, Yonas Perou

Management/touring:

GROUNDWORKERS, mechtild-tellmann kulturmanagement

Press:

Fabiana Uhart

Production management:

GROUNDWORKERS

Co-production:

Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps, Théâtre du Crochetan Monthey, Kunstfest Weimar, Beethovenfest Bonn, Theater im Ballsaal Bonn

Funded by:

Migros Culture Percentage, Pro Helvetia, Conseil de la Culture, État du Valais, Oertli Foundation, Ernst Göhner Foundation, Corymbo Foundation, NRW Art Foundation, Ministry of Culture and Science North Rhine-Westphalia, North Rhine-Westphalia State Office for the Independent Performing Arts, the federal city of Bonn

Supported by:

tanz+ residency centre – Tanz & Kunst Königsfelden, Théâtre Sévelin 36 Lausanne, ANTIGEL Festival Geneva, Le Malévoz Quartier Culturel

Premiere:

7 May 2022 at Théâtre du Crochetan as part of the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Age recommendation:

10 years and older

Further Information:

CocoonDance

CocoonDance

RUNthrough

Tourdaten

Dauer: 60 Min. ohne Pause

Mai 7, 2022

Monthey

19:00

Tickets
Mai 8, 2022

Monthey

17:00

Tickets
Mai 11, 2022

Baden

19:30

Tickets
Mai 14, 2022

Poschiavo

20:30

Tickets
Mai 15, 2022

Poschiavo

17:00

Tickets
Mai 19, 2022

Morges

20:00

Tickets
Mai 22, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Tickets
Ticketinformation

Théâtre du Crochetan

Monthey

Avenue du Théâtre 9

www.crochetan.ch +41 24 475 79 09

Théâtre du Crochetan

Monthey

Avenue du Théâtre 9

www.crochetan.ch +41 24 475 79 09

Kurtheater Baden

Baden

Parkstrasse 20

www.kurtheater.ch +41 56 222 22 44

Palestre scuole comunali

Poschiavo

Via da S. Maria 19

www.valposchiavo.ch/steps +41 81 839 00 60

Palestre scuole comunali

Poschiavo

Via da S. Maria 19

www.valposchiavo.ch/steps +41 81 839 00 60

Théâtre de Beausobre

Morges

Av. de Vertou 2

www.beausobre.ch +41 21 804 97 16

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

«RUNthrough» ist eine sprudelnde Mischung aus verschiedenen Bewegungskonzepten und Körpersprachen. Verantwortlich dafür ist eine Compagnie, die aus der zeitgenössischen europäischen Tanzszene nicht mehr wegzudenken ist: CocoonDance. Seit vielen Jahren überzeugt und fasziniert das Ensemble rund um die Schweizer Choreografin Rafaële Giovanola mit herausragenden Arbeiten. Für ihr neustes Projekt lädt CocoonDance Menschen aus unterschiedlichsten Tanzkontexten ein, Zeit mit der Compagnie zu verbringen und ihr Wissen zu teilen. So treffen die Profitänzer*innen auf Vertreter*innen des einheimischen Serbischen Folklorevereins oder befinden sich plötzlich inmitten einer vibrierenden Jam-Session mit lokalen Hip-Hop-Künstler*innen. Dank dieser Mini-Kollaborationen entstehen spannende künstlerische Experimente, die Inspiration für die abendfüllende Choreografie sind: «RUNthrough» ist das Produkt einer abenteuerlichen Reise, bei der das gemeinsame Musizieren, Singen, Tanzen, Lernen und Tüfteln im Vordergrund stehen. Ein einmaliges Erlebnis, das im Rahmen des Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps 2022 Premiere feiert. Für Neugierige: Kurze Videodokumentationen der Residenzaufenthalte sind unter «Videos» aufgeschaltet. Sie geben einen spannenden Einblick in die Probenarbeit.

Rafaële Giovanola

Rafaële Giovanola

Die Schweizer Choreografin wurde in Baltimore, USA, geboren und studierte Tanz bei Marika Besobrasova in Monte Carlo. Als junge Tänzerin wurde sie beim Frankfurter Ballett engagiert, wo sie in klassischen Repertoirestücken tanzte und gleichzeitig mit wichtigen zeitgenössischen Choreografen zusammenarbeitete: Jiří Kylián, Uwe Scholz und William Forsythe. 1990 trat Rafaële Giovanola dem Choreographischen Theater bei, bevor sie zehn Jahre später gemeinsam mit dem Dramaturgen Rainald Endrass ihre eigene Compagnie CocoonDance ins Leben rief. 2012 kam die Junior Company von CocoonDance hinzu, die 2016 und 2019 zum Tanztreffen der Jugend im Rahmen der Berliner Festspiele eingeladen wurde. Rafaële Giovanolas Verständnis von Tanz ist ein abstraktes, ähnlich wie in der modernen bildenden Kunst. Es geht um die Kreation von Bildern, die sich nicht auf den ersten Blick erschliessen und die Menschen zu einer anderen Wahrnehmung anregen. Neben eigenen Choreografien und zahlreichen Auftragsarbeiten, unter anderem für die Dance Company am Theater Osnabrück, am Zentrum für Zeitgenössischen Tanz (ZZT) in Köln und in der Spielzeit 2021/22 für tanzmainz, unterrichtet sie weltweit unter anderem im tanzhaus nrw in Düsseldorf, im Theater St. Gallen, am Staatstheater Nürnberg, an der Ewgenij Panfilow Compagnie und an der staatlichen Ballettschule Perm (Russland), im choreographischen Zentrum Donko Seko Bamako (Mali) und im Attakkalari Center Bangalore (Indien). Foto: Joerg Letz

CocoonDance

CocoonDance

CocoonDance wurde im Jahr 2000 von der Choreografin Rafaële Giovanola und vom Dramaturgen Rainald Endrass gegründet. Seit 2004 bespielt und leitet die Compagnie die Sparte Tanz in dem von der Bundesstadt Bonn institutionell geförderten freien Theater im Ballsaal. Die Compagnie zeichnet sich durch ein vielfältiges, internationales und interdisziplinäres Netzwerk aus und engagiert sich regelmässig im Bereich «Kultur und Schule» sowie in der Nachwuchsförderung, unter anderem mit ihrer eigenen Junior Company und mit Vermittlung. Ihre rund vierzig abendfüllenden Produktionen wurden zu Gastspielen auf fünf Kontinenten eingeladen und mehrfach mit Preisen ausgezeichnet, unter anderem mit dem Förderpreis des Kantons Wallis. 2018 und 2020 war CocoonDance vertreten bei der wichtigsten Biennale für zeitgenössischen Tanz in Deutschland, TANZPLATTFORM DEUTSCHLAND. Während der dreijährigen Residenzzeit zwischen 2016 und 2019 im Théatre du Crochetan in Monthey hat CocoonDance nicht nur ihre Verbindung zur Schweiz gestärkt, sondern ein wichtiges lokales Vermittlungsprojekt ins Leben gerufen: eine zweite Nachwuchscompagnie, die Cie. Junior, die sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, jungen Menschen im Wallis einen niederschwelligen und persönlichen Zugang zum zeitgenössischen Tanz zu ermöglichen. Seit 2020 ist CocoonDance Artiste associée des Théâtre du Crochetan und in beratender Funktion für Tanzvermittlungsformate und Publikumsentwicklung tätig. Foto: Alessandro de Matteis

Programm:

RUNthrough

Choreografie:

Rafaële Giovanola

Dramaturgie:

Rainald Endrass

Choreografische Assistenz:

Jade Albasini

Œil extérieur:

Conseils Littéraires, Mélisende Navarre

Komposition:

Franco Mento

Kostüme:

Mathilde Grebot

Raum/Licht:

Robi Voigt

Video:

Michael Maurissens

Tänzer*innen:

Cristina Commisso, Fa-Hsuan Chen, Margaux Dorsaz, Álvaro Esteban, Jenna Hendry, Joana Kern, Evandro Pedroni, Yonas Perou

Management/Touring:

GROUNDWORKERS, mechtild-tellmann kulturmanagement

Pressearbeit:

Fabiana Uhart

Produktionsleitung:

GROUNDWORKERS

Koproduktion:

Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps, Théâtre du Crochetan Monthey, Kunstfest Weimar, Beethovenfest Bonn, Theater im Ballsaal Bonn

Gefördert von:

Migros-Kulturprozent, Pro Helvetia, Conseil de la Culture, État du Valais, Stiftung Corymbo, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Oertli-Stiftung,  Kunststiftung NRW, Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, NRW Landesbüro Freie Darstellende Künste, Bundesstadt Bonn

Unterstützt von:

Residenzzentrum tanz+ – Tanz & Kunst Königsfelden, Théâtre Sévelin 36 Lausanne, Festival ANTIGEL Genève, Le Malévoz Quartier Culturel

Uraufführung:

7. Mai 2022, Théâtre du Crochetan, im Rahmen des Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps

Altersempfehlung:

ab 10 Jahren

Weitere Infos:

CocoonDance