Cie. La Ronde

8

Tour Dates

Duration: 70 mins. without break

April 30, 2022

Pully

20:30

Ticket
May 4, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Ticket
May 6, 2022

Steckborn

20:15

Ticket
May 7, 2022

Luzern

20:00

Ticket
May 13, 2022

Langenthal

20:00

Ticket
May 15, 2022

Bern

18:00

May 18, 2022

Aarau

20:00

May 21, 2022

Chiasso

20:30

Ticket
Ticket information

L’Octogone Théâtre de Pully

Pully

Avenue de Lavaux 41

www.theatre-octogone.ch +41 21 721 36 20

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Phönix Theater

Steckborn

Im Feldbach 8

www.phoenix-theater.ch +41 52 761 19 85

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Stadttheater Langenthal

Langenthal

Theatersträsschen 1

www.stadttheater-langenthal.ch +41 62 922 26 66

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch +41 31 310 05 40

Bühne Aarau Alte Reithalle

Aarau

Apfelhausenweg 20

www.buehne-aarau.ch +41 62 834 80 40

Cinema Teatro

Chiasso

Via D. Alighieri 3b

www.cinema-teatro.ch +41 58 122 42 78

Back in 2020, choreographers Cathy Marston and Ihsan Rustem founded the new Swiss-based company Cie. La Ronde. Now, for their first full-length programme, they are joining forces with the renowned Caroline Finn and Luca Signoretti, who will complete the international quartet. Four unique signatures will tell eight stories, all interwoven together to create a complete performance. Inspired by Arthur Schnitzler's theatre piece "Reigen", which in 1920 prompted one of the biggest theatre scandals of the 20th century due to its provocative sexual themes, the choreographers will explore topics such as attraction, desire, transference, intimacy and power together with eight dancers. Cie. La Ronde shines a spotlight onto Schnitzler's work and its content from today's perspective. Where do we as a society stand on such issues today – around a hundred years later? The result is a modern Reigen with newly developed characters and a catchy soundtrack. The performance retains Schnitzler's dramaturgy: "8" consists of eight very different duets – two per choreographer – which are closely connected to one another to ultimately form a circle. Each duet has an individual artistic signature – at the same time, the self-contained evening gives the impression of being cast from one mould. This unique feature is a clear sign of the close collaboration and mutual support that connects the four choreographers.

 

Those interested can read up on the mysteries behind the authorship of the individual duets on the company's website. Decide for yourself whether you want to wait and see what the performance holds on the day or whether your curiosity will get the best of you.

Cathy Marston

Cathy Marston

Born in the UK, Cathy Marston studied dance in Cambridge and at The Royal Ballet School in London. Afterwards, she danced with Ballett Zürich, Ballett Luzerner Theater and Bern Ballett. She was an Associate Artist at the Royal Opera House in London before serving as Director of Bern Ballett from 2007 until 2013. There she oversaw numerous premieres and invited renowned choreographers, such as Hofesh Shechter, Andrea Miller, Karole Armitage, Alexander Ekman and Medhi Walerski, to produce works for her company. At the same time, she founded the charitable company called The Cathy Marston Project and produced numerous dance productions as an internationally celebrated choreographer, including for The Royal Ballet, American Ballet Theatre, Joffrey Ballet and Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal, to name just a few. In 2019 and 2021, she won the British National Dance Award for The Suit (Ballet Black)/The Cellist (The Royal Ballet) and received the renowned South Bank Sky Arts Award for her production Victoria with Northern Ballet in 2020. In the same year, she received the award for extraordinary achievements from the International Institute for Dance and Theatre. She will serve as ballet director and chief choreographer of Ballett Zürich starting in the 2023/2024 season. Picture: Rick Guest

Ihsan Rustem

Ihsan Rustem

Ihsan Rustem was born in London and studied dance at the Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance. He began creating his own choreography in 2010 following a long dance career as an ensemble member in many different European dance companies, including Gärtnerplatztheater München, Introdans, Bern Ballett and Tanz Luzerner Theater. He has been involved in many collaborations, including with NW Dance Project in Portland, Oregon, where he has served as Resident Choreographer since 2015, and with Nederlands Dans Theater 2, Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal, Ballet Moscow, Hubbard Street Dance Chicago 2, the Chilean National Ballet, Zurich University of the Arts and ensembles in Lucerne, Bern and St. Gallen. He served twice as choreographer for the popular Russian television series The Bolshoi Ballet. Nederlands Dans Theater named him one of their up-and-coming choreographers for the 2018/2019 season. His works for NW Dance Project have received numerous accolades, including Sadler’s Wells Global Dance Prize, the Audience Prize at the International Choreographic Competition Hannover and Dance Magazine’s Reader’s Choice Award for Carmen. In 2021, he joined the jury of the prestigious Prix de Lausanne. Picture: Aline Paley

Caroline Finn

Caroline Finn

The British choreographer Caroline Finn was educated at the Arts Educational School and the Juilliard School in New York. From 2015 to 2018, she served as Artistic Director of the National Dance Company of Wales and remained there as Resident Choreographer from 2018 to 2021. As a dancer, she performed with Ballett Theater München, Ballett Preljocaj and the Carolyn Carlson Company. As a freelance choreographer, she developed works for the Chilean National Ballett, Tanz Luzerner Theater, Phoenix Dance Theatre, Bayerisches Junior Ballett München, Teatr Groteska and the National Dance Company of Wales. Her solo work Bernadette has been commissioned by numerous festivals. In 2010, she won the Production Award at the Copenhagen International Choreography Competition and the Matthew Bourne New Adventures Choreographer Award in 2014. As an educator, lecturer and choreographer, she teaches around the world at different conservatories and universities. She is a member of Tanztendenz München e.V. Picture: Ingo Hoehn

Luca Signoretti

Luca Signoretti

Luca Signoretti was born in Pesaro, Italy, and began studying dance in his native country before joining Ballet Junior de Genève in 2006. In 2009, he moved to Lucerne and became a dancer with Tanz Luzerner Theater. Following his active dance career, he then turned to choreography. In 2013, he was a finalist in the 27th International Choreographic Competition Hannover, and three years later he received the Pretty Creatives Award from the North West Dance Project in Oregon, USA. Additional accolades followed, including both second place and the Production Award at the 11th Copenhagen International Choreography Competition. In 2019, he was semi-finalist at the Rotterdam International Duets Choreography Competition (RIDCC). His first short dance film was nominated by the Student Academy Awards in Hollywood in 2020. He completed a master’s degree in choreography at Zurich University of the Arts and is now Artistic Director of the new Choreographers in Residence platform. In 2021, he founded the Luca Signoretti Dance Company, which will tour Switzerland as part of Tanzfaktor in 2022. He regularly teaches at Tanzwerk101 and Zurich University of the Arts. Picture: Danilo Moroni

Programme:

8

Artistic Directors:

Cathy Marston, Ihsan Rustem

Choreography:

Cathy Marston, Ihsan Rustem, Caroline Finn, Luca Signoretti

Music:

Nicolas Rabaeus

Costumes:

Catherine Voeffray

Stage design:

Jann Messerli

Lighting:

Laurent Junod

Dancers:

Sarafina Beck, Giulia Esposito, Pietro Cono Genova, Neil Höhener, Rachel Lawrence, Petr Nedbal, Jorge García Pérez, Annabelle Peintre

Cover dancers:

Maxime Gilles Guenin, Nina Ritter

Project Directors:

Cathy Marston, Ihsan Rustem

Production management:

Martina Langmann, Irene Andreetto

Stage management:

Laurent Junod

Tour management:

Irene Andreetto

Co-production:

Theater Winterthur, Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps, Tanzwerk101

Supported by:

Kultur Stadt Bern, Amt für Kultur Kanton Bern, Burgergemeinde Bern, the canton of Zurich, the municipality of Muri bei Bern, Stanley Thomas Johnson Foundation, Corodis, La Loterie Romande,  Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Daria Blum, anonymous donations

Premiere:

7 April 2022 at Theater Winterthur

Weitere Infos:

Cie. La Ronde

Cathy Marston

Ihsan Rustem

Luca Signoretti

Cie. La Ronde

8

Tourdaten

Dauer: 70 Min. ohne Pause

April 30, 2022

Pully

20:30

Tickets
Mai 4, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Tickets
Mai 6, 2022

Steckborn

20:15

Tickets
Mai 7, 2022

Luzern

20:00

Tickets
Mai 13, 2022

Langenthal

20:00

Tickets
Mai 15, 2022

Bern

18:00

Tickets
Mai 18, 2022

Aarau

20:00

Tickets
Mai 21, 2022

Chiasso

20:30

Tickets
Ticketinformation

L’Octogone Théâtre de Pully

Pully

Avenue de Lavaux 41

www.theatre-octogone.ch +41 21 721 36 20

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Phönix Theater

Steckborn

Im Feldbach 8

www.phoenix-theater.ch +41 52 761 19 85

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Stadttheater Langenthal

Langenthal

Theatersträsschen 1

www.stadttheater-langenthal.ch +41 62 922 26 66

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch +41 31 310 05 40

Bühne Aarau Alte Reithalle

Aarau

Apfelhausenweg 20

www.buehne-aarau.ch +41 62 834 80 40

Cinema Teatro

Chiasso

Via D. Alighieri 3b

www.cinema-teatro.ch +41 58 122 42 78

Die Schweiz ist um eine vielfältige Tanzcompagnie reicher. Cathy Marston und Ihsan Rustem haben mit der Cie. La Ronde nicht nur eine neue, schweizbasierte und gleichzeitig internationale Compagnie ins Leben gerufen, sondern holen sich für ihr erstes abendfüllendes Programm nam­hafte Verstärkung: Caroline Finn und Luca Signoretti. Inspiriert von Arthur Schnitzlers Theaterstück «Reigen», das 1920 aufgrund seines provokanten, sexuell konnotierten Inhalts einen der grössten Theaterskandale des 20. Jahrhunderts auslöste, untersuchen die Choreograf*innen Themen wie Anziehung, Begierde, Intimität und Macht und fragen sich: Wo stehen wir in diesen Fragen heute, rund ein Jahrhundert später? Die Cie. La Ronde blickt aus der heutigen Perspektive auf Schnitz­lers Werk und seinen Inhalt. Entstanden ist ein moderner Reigen. Dafür adaptieren die Tanzschaffenden bewusst Schnitzlers spezifische Dramaturgie: Der in sich geschlossene Abend besteht ausschliesslich aus Duetten, die in einer Verkettung miteinander verbunden sind und schliesslich einen Kreis bilden. Vier einzigartige Handschriften erzählen acht Geschichten, die alle miteinander verknüpft ein Ganzes ergeben.

Cathy Marston

Cathy Marston

Die gebürtige Britin Cathy Marston erhielt ihre Tanzausbildung in Cambridge sowie an der Royal Ballet School London und tanzte anschliessend beim Ballett Zürich, beim Ballett Luzerner Theater und beim Ballett Bern. Während vier Jahren war sie Associate Artist des Royal Opera House London, bevor sie 2007 als Ballettdirektorin ans Konzert Theater Bern wechselte und bis 2013 blieb. Dort schuf sie zahlreiche Uraufführungen und lud renommierte Choreograf*innen wie Hofesh Shechter, Andrea Miller, Karole Armitage, Alexander Ekman und Medhi Walerski dazu ein, für ihre Compagnie zu kreieren. Zeitgleich gründete sie die Benefiz-Company The Cathy Marston Project und schuf als international gefeierte Choreografin unzählige Tanzproduktionen, unter anderem für The Royal Ballet, American Ballet Theatre, Joffrey Ballet und Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal, um nur einige zu nennen. 2019 und 2021 gewann Cathy Marston den britischen National Dance Award für «The Suit» (Ballet Black) / «The Cellist» (The Royal Ballet) und erhielt 2020 den renommierten South Bank Sky Arts Award für ihre Produktion «Victoria» mit dem Northern Ballet. Im selben Jahr wurde ihr vom internationalen Institut für Tanz und Theater der Preis für herausragende Leistungen verliehen. Ab der Spielzeit 2023/24 ist sie die neue Ballettdirektorin und Chefchoreografin des Balletts Zürich. Foto: Rick Guest

Ihsan Rustem

Ihsan Rustem

Ihsan Rustem wurde in London geboren und studierte Tanz an der Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance. Nach einer langen Tänzerkarriere als Ensemblemitglied verschiedenster europäischer Tanzcompagnien, unter anderem Gärtnerplatztheater München, Introdans, Bern Ballett und Tanz Luzerner Theater, begann er 2010, selbst zu choreografieren. Es entstanden Kooperationen unter anderem mit dem NW Dance Project in Portland Oregon, wo er seit 2015 als Hauschoreograf tätig ist, sowie mit dem Nederlands Dans Theater 2, Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal, Ballet Moscow, Hubbard Street Dance Chicago 2, dem chilenischen Nationalballett, der ZHdK und den Ensembles von Luzern, Bern und St. Gallen. Zweimal war er für die beliebte russische Fern­seh­sendung «The Bolshoi Ballet» als Choreograf tätig. 2018/19 ernannte ihn das Nederlands Dans Theater zu einem ihrer aufstrebenden Choreografen. Ihsan Rustems Arbeiten für das NW Dance Project wurden mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, unter anderem mit dem Sadler’s Wells Global Dance Prize, dem Publikumspreis beim Internationalen Choreografie-Wettbewerb in Han­no­ver und dem Reader’s Choice Award des Dance Magazine für «Carmen». 2021 war er Jurymitglied des renommierten Prix de Lausanne. Foto: Aline Paley

Caroline Finn

Caroline Finn

Die britische Choreografin Caroline Finn erhielt ihre Ausbildung an der Arts Educational School und der Juilliard School in New York. Von 2015 bis 2018 war sie die künstlerische Leiterin der National Dance Company Wales und blieb dort von 2018 bis 2021 als Hauschoreografin tätig. Als Tänzerin war sie Teil des Ballett Theater München, des Ballett Preljocaj und der Compagnie Carolyn Carlson. Als freischaffende Choreografin entwickelte sie unter anderem Arbeiten für das chilenische Nationalballett, Tanz Luzerner Theater, Phoenix Dance Theatre, Bayerisches Junior Ballett München, Teatr Groteska und National Dance Company Wales. Ihre Soloarbeit «Bernadette» wurde zu zahlreichen internationalen Festivals eingeladen. 2010 gewann Caroline Finn den Produktionspreis der Copenhagen International Choreography Competition und 2014 den Matthew Bourne New Adventures Choreographer Award. Als Pädagogin, Dozentin und Choreo­grafin lehrt sie weltweit an verschiedenen Konservatorien und Universitäten. Caroline Finn ist Mitglied der Vereinigung Tanztendenz München e.V. Foto: Ingo Hoehn

Luca Signoretti

Luca Signoretti

Luca Signoretti wurde in Pesaro (I) geboren und begann seine Tanzausbildung in seiner Heimat­stadt, bevor er 2006 Mitglied des Ballet Junior de Genève wurde. 2009 wechselte er nach Luzern und wurde als Tänzer bei Tanz Luzerner Theater engagiert. Nach seiner aktiven Tänzerkarriere wandte er sich dem Choreografieren zu. 2013 war Signoretti Finalist der 27. Ausgabe des inter­nationalen Choreografie-Wettbewerbs in Hannover und gewann drei Jahre später den Pretty Creatives Preis des Wettbewerbs North West Dance Project in Oregon, USA. Weitere Auszeich­nungen folgten: An der 11. Ausgabe des renommierten Choreografie-Wettbewerbs in Kopenhagen erreichte er den zweiten Platz und erhielt den Produktionspreis. 2019 war er Halbfinalist bei der Rotterdam International Duets Choreography Competition (RIDCC). Sein erster Tanz-Kurzfilm wurde für die Students Academy Awards 2020 in Hollywood nominiert. Luca Signoretti ist erfolg­reicher Absolvent des Masterstudiengangs Choreografie an der ZHdK und künstlerischer Leiter der neuen Plattform «Choreographers in Residence». 2021 gründete er die Luca Signoretti Dance Company, mit der er 2022 im Rahmen von Tanzfaktor durch die Schweiz touren wird. Daneben unterrichtet er regelmässig am Tanzwerk101 und an der ZHdK. Foto: Danilo Moroni

Programm:

8

Künstlerische Leitung:

Cathy Marston, Ihsan Rustem

Choreografie:

Cathy Marston, Ihsan Rustem, Caroline Finn, Luca Signoretti

Musik:

Nicolas Rabaeus

Kostüme:

Catherine Voeffray

Bühne:

Jann Messerli

Licht/Inspizienz:

Laurent Junod

Tänzer*innen:

Winston Ricardo Arnon, Sarafina Beck, Giulia Esposito, Neil Höhener, Rachel Lawrence, Petr Nedbal, Jorge García Pérez, Annabelle Peintre

Projektleitung:

Cathy Marston, Ihsan Rustem

Produktionsmanagement:

Martina Langmann, Irene Andreetto

Tourmanagement:

Irene Andreetto

Koproduktion:

Theater Winterthur, Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps, Tanzwerk 101

Unterstützt von:

Kultur Stadt Bern, Amt für Kultur Kanton Bern, Burgergemeinde Bern, Kanton Zürich, Gemeinde Muri bei Bern, Stanley Thomas Johnson Stiftung, Corodis, La Loterie Romande,  Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Daria Blum, anonyme Spenden

Uraufführung:

7. April 2022, Theater Winterthur

Altersempfehlung:

ab 15 Jahren

Weitere Infos:

Cie. La Ronde

Cathy Marston

Ihsan Rustem

Luca Signoretti