Switzerland

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis

Faded

Tour Dates

Duration: 55 mins., no interval

April 24, 2020

Luzern

20:00

April 26, 2020

Bellinzona

17:00

April 28, 2020

St. Gallen

20:00

April 30, 2020

Baden

20:00

May 1, 2020

Baden

20:00

May 6, 2020

Zürich

20:00

May 13, 2020

Solothurn

19:30

May 15, 2020

Delémont

20:30

Ticket information

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Teatro Sociale Bellinzona

Bellinzona

Piazza Governo 11

www.teatrosociale.ch +41 91 825 48 18

Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Kurtheater Ausser Haus: Thik Theater im Kornhaus

Baden

Kronengasse 10

www.kurtheater.ch +41 56 210 98 70

Kurtheater Ausser Haus: Thik Theater im Kornhaus

Baden

Kronengasse 10

www.kurtheater.ch +41 56 210 98 70

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Stadttheater Solothurn

Solothurn

Theatergasse 18

www.tobs.ch +41 32 626 20 70

Forum St-Georges

Delémont

Route de Bâle 5

www.ccrd.ch

The Genevan Ioannis Mandafounis, winner of the 2015 Swiss Dance Awards in the category «Outstanding Male Dancer», has long been established as a successful choreographer. With his «Faded», a co-production with the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps, he finalises his change of roles and identity. He has decided to retire from the stage. But before that, he assumes the role of a classical dancer for one last time. With «Faded» he looks back to the beginnings of his career and pays respects to his roots in ballet. Mandafounis has rehearsed several extremely demanding solo variations from famous ballets works in the original and – with the eye of a contemporary choreographer – has arranged them as a true tour de force of a programme. A musician-performer shares the stage with him. She is an important reference in this reflection on a profession which has completely dominated his life, with regular training from a young age. While he re-experiences each solo through a body shaped by years of dance practice, a quite humorous, but above all deeply touching dialogue of the dancer with dance itself emerges.



Ioannis Mandafounis explains the close connection between the identity of his piece «Faded» and the identity of Steps.

Ioannis Mandafounis

Ioannis Mandafounis

Ioannis Mandafounis, born 1981 in Athens, studied dance there at the National School of Dance and at the Conservatoire in Paris. He had a successful dance career at the Göteborg Ballet, NDT 2 and the Forsythe Company. In 2007, he initiated a close collaboration with his colleague Fabrice Mazliah. Together with May Zarhy they founded the artists’ collective Mamaza in 2009. Mandafounis also collaborates with other artists, and works as a guest choreographer and teacher. From 2013 to 2018, the co-production model PRAIRIE of Migros Culture Percentage sponsored various projects by Ioannis Mandafounis. In 2015, he won the Swiss Dance Award in the category «Outstanding Male Dancer».

Antigoni Fryda

Antigoni Fryda

Antigoni Fryda, born 1984 in Athens, studied electrical engineering and computer science. In 2009, she graduated from the Drama School of the National Theater of Northern Greece. She also studied the flute and music theory. She received various scholarships, one of which enabled her to train at the Stella Acting Studio in New York. In 2016, she studied for a Master’s degree in philosophy in Athens. During the past 15 years, she has collaborated as actress and performer with renowned artists and participated in various productions which have been successful on the international circuit. Picture: Domniki Mitropoulou

Programme:

Faded

Concept/interpretation:

Ioannis Mandafounis

Live music/interpretation:

Antigoni Fryda

Dramaturgy:

Eri Kyrgia

Ballet variations adapted by Smaralia Karakosta:

Marius Petipa / Ricardo Drigo (1894), Enrico Cecchetti / Léo Delibes (1894), Marius Petipa / Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1890), Michel Fokine / Frédéric Chopin (1909), Jerome Robbins / Frédéric Chopin (1976), Kenneth McMillan / Jules Massenet (1974), Marius Petipa / Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1895), Serge Lifar / Edouard Lalo (1943), Marie Taglioni / Jacques Offenbach (1860)

Lighting:

David Kretonic

Coaching:

Smaralia Karakosta

Production management:

Mélanie Fréguin

Production:

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis

Co-production:

Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps; Ville de Vernier – département culture & communication; Theater Freiburg; Onassis Cultural Center Athens

Support:

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis is subsidised by the cooperative grant agreement between the City of Geneva and the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia

World premiere:

4/4/2019, Théâtre du Lignon, Vernier

More information:

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis

Schweiz

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis

Faded

Tourdaten

Dauer: 55 Min. ohne Pause

Oktober 17, 2020

Luzern

20:00

Tickets
Mai 22, 2021

St. Gallen

20:00

Tickets
Ticketinformation

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Der Genfer Ioannis Mandafounis, 2015 bei den Schweizer Tanzpreisen in der Kategorie «herausragender Tänzer» ausgezeichnet, ist längst auch als erfolgreicher Choreograf etabliert. Nun vollzieht er im Rahmen von «Faded», einer Koproduktion mit dem Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps, den RolIen- und Identitätswechsel endgültig. Er hat beschlossen, von der Bühne abzutreten. Doch vorher schlüpft Mandafounis ein letztes Mal in die Rolle des klassischen Tänzers: Mit «Faded» blickt er zurück auf die Anfänge seiner Karriere und erweist seinen Wurzeln im Ballett Reverenz. Mandafounis studierte dafür mehrere extrem anspruchsvolle Solo-Variationen aus berühmten Ballettwerken im Original ein und reihte sie – mit dem Auge des zeitgenössisch arbeitenden Choreografen – zu einer wahren Tour de Force von einem Programm zusammen. Eine Musikerin-Performerin teilt die Bühne mit ihm, ist wichtiger Bezugspunkt bei der Reflexion über einen Beruf, der sein Leben seit Jugendtagen durch das regelmässige Training vollständig dominiert hat. Indem der Tänzer jedes einzelne Solo mit seinem durch lange Tanzerfahrung geprägten Körper neu erfährt, entsteht nach und nach ein durchaus humorvoller, vor allem aber zutiefst berührender Dialog des Tänzers mit dem Tanzen selbst.

 

Nach der Absage des Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestivals Steps im Frühling 2020 werden die Koproduktionen der Ausgabe 2020 in der Theatersaison 20/21 gezeigt. Die Tournee von «Faded» beginnt am 17. Oktober 2020 in Luzern.

Ioannis Mandafounis

Ioannis Mandafounis

Der 1981 in Athen geborene Ioannis Mandafounis studiert Tanz an der Nationalschule Athen und am Conservatoire in Paris. Eine erfolgreiche Tänzerkarriere absolviert er beim Göteborg Ballett, beim NDT 2 und bei der Forsythe Company. 2007 beginnt eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kollegen Fabrice Mazliah, sie rufen 2009 zusammen mit May Zarhy das Künstlerkollektiv Mamaza ins Leben. Mandafounis kreiert aber auch mit anderen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, erhält Einladungen als Gastchoreograf und unterrichtet. In den Jahren 2013 bis 2018 werden verschiedene Projekte von Ioannis Mandafounis im Rahmen des Koproduktionsmodells PRAIRIE vom Migros-Kulturprozent unterstützt. 2015 wird er mit dem Schweizer Tanzpreis in der Kategorie «Herausragender Tänzer» ausgezeichnet.

Antigoni Fryda

Antigoni Fryda

Die 1984 geborene Künstlerin stammt aus Athen. Sie studierte Elektrotechnik und Computerwissenschaften. Einen Abschluss macht sie 2009 an der Drama School of the National Theater of Northern Greece; parallel dazu studiert sie Flöte und Musiktheorie. Stipendien ermöglichen unter anderem eine Weiterbildung am Stella Adler Acting Studio in New York. 2016 beginnt sie ein Masterstudium in Philosophie in Athen. Im Laufe der letzten 15 Jahre kollaboriert sie als Schauspielerin und Performerin mit namhaften Künstler*innen und ist in zahlreiche Produktionen eingebunden, die international gezeigt werden. Foto: Domniki Mitropoulou

Programm:

Faded

Konzept/Interpretation:

Ioannis Mandafounis

Livemusik/Interpretation:

Antigoni Fryda

Dramaturgie:

Eri Kyrgia

Ballet Variationen adaptiert durch Smaralia Karakosta:

Marius Petipa / Ricardo Drigo (1894), Enrico Cecchetti / Léo Delibes (1894), Marius Petipa / Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1890), Michel Fokine / Frédéric Chopin (1909), Jerome Robbins / Frédéric Chopin (1976), Kenneth McMillan / Jules Massenet (1974), Marius Petipa / Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1895), Serge Lifar / Edouard Lalo (1943), Marie Taglioni / Jacques Offenbach (1860)

Licht:

David Kretonic

Coaching:

Smaralia Karakosta

Produktionsmanagement:

Mélanie Fréguin

Produktion:

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis

Koproduktion:

Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps, Ville de Vernier – département culture & communication, Theater Freiburg, Onassis Cultural Center Athen,

Unterstützt von:

Die Cie Ioannis Mandafounis erhält Subventionen im Rahmen der kooperativen Fördervereinbarung zwischen der Stadt Genf, dem Kanton Genf und Pro Helvetia.

Uraufführung:

4.4.2019, Théâtre du Lignon, Vernier

Weitere Infos:

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis