Switzerland

Tanz Luzerner Theater TLT

I am who I am who I am

Tour dates

Duration: 104 mins., with interval

April 23, 2020

Luzern

19:30

May 5, 2020

Bienne/Biel

20:00

May 8, 2020

Luzern

19:30

May 10, 2020

Luzern

19:00

May 15, 2020

Bern

20:00

May 16, 2020

La Chaux-de-Fonds

18:15

Ticket information

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Nebia

Bienne/Biel

Rue Thomas-Wyttenbach 4

www.nebia.ch +41 32 321 31 83

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch

TPR L'Heure bleue / ADN - Hiver de Danses

La Chaux-de-Fonds

Avenue Léopold-Robert 27

www.tpr.ch +41 32 967 60 50

Three strong personalities question the meaning of identity with virtuosity and humour.

 

British choreographer Carolin Finn takes a wild ride through fantasy and reality in search for the uniqueness in each and everyone of us. Ella Rothschild from Israel questions how one’s own identity changes in a group context. Swiss artist Jasmine Morand focuses on our visual perception, which is always subjective and never without a personal filter. How much can we really trust our perception, after all? «I am who I am who I am» – an intelligent, humorous and decidedly female view of the world!

 

Three premieres by three women packed into one production: a rarity in itself. The title of the production opening the 17th edition of Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps says it all: «I am who I am who I am». Kathleen McNurney, director of TLT since 2009, has formed an ensemble over the years which compares favourably with significantly bigger companies worldwide. In close collaboration with Steps, she has chosen three young guest choreographers, thus connecting the ensemble of TLT with the independent scene. The choreographers were all faced with the same task: to create a piece on the theme «identity». The result: cosmopolitan, individual and anything but identical.

 

Video message from Kathleen McNurney, Jasmine Morand, Ella Rothschild, Caroline Finn, from the Lock Down. On April 23rd they should have opened the festival with "I am who I am who I am".

Caroline Finn

Caroline Finn

Caroline Finn trained at the Arts Educational School (Tring Park) and at Julliard School in New York. She has danced for companies such as Ballet Preljocaj (F) and Compagnie Carolyn Carlson (F). Today she works around the world as an independent choreographer. In 2010, she won the production award at the Copenhagen International Choreography Competition; in 2014, she received the Matthew Bourne’s New Adventures Award. From 2015 to 2018, she was resident choreographer at the National Dance Company Wales. Picture: Vreni Arbes

Ella Rothschild

Ella Rothschild

Ella Rothschild, born 1984 in Israel, is widely acknowledged as an outstanding voice in the younger generation of Israel’s lively dance scene. She has danced with Inbal Pinto and Avshalom Pollak Dance Company and Batsheva Dance Company. Since 2010, she has created her own choreographies, which are presented worldwide. In 2016, she received the Rosenblum Prize for the Performing Arts in Tel Aviv. Rothschild continues to dance on stage, recently doing so to a choreography by CrystalPite/Kidd Pivot for the Balletto Teatro di Torino. Picture: Rolex Robert Wright

Jasmine Morand

Jasmine Morand

Jasmine Morand, born 1977 in Zurich, trained at the École de Danse Classique Geneviève Chaussat in Geneva and at the Académie Princesse Grace de Monaco. The repeated prizewinner of the Migros Culture Percentage Study Prize for young art students, she has danced with companies such as Ballet National de Nancy et de Lorraine and Ballett Zürich. In 2008, she founded Compagnie Prototype Status based at Dansomètre in Vevey, a dance laboratory run and curated by her. In 2013, she received the art award of the Canton of Vaud and in 2018 the prize Label+ romand for her creation «LUMEN». Picture: Céline Michel

Programme:

I am who Iam who I am

Choreography:

Caroline Finn, Jasmine Morand, Ella Rothschild

Artistic direction:

Kathleen McNurney

Costumes:

Eva Butzkies

Lighting/stage design:

Guy Hoare

Dancers:

Zach Enquist, Elisabeth Gareis, Phoebe Jewitt, Giovanni Insaudo, Carlos Kerr Jr., Valeria Marangelli, Igli Mezini, Eduarda Pereira Santos, Flavio Quisisana, Aurélie Robichon, Sandra Salietti Aguilera, Andrea Thompson, Gonçalo Torres dos Reis, Tom van de Ven

Co-production:

Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps, Luzerner Theater

World premiere and festival opening:

23/4/2020, Luzerner Theater

More information:

Tanz Luzerner Theater TLT

Suisse

Tanz Luzerner Theater TLT

I am who I am who I am

Dates de tournée

Durée: 104 minutes avec entracte

avril 23, 2020

Luzern

19:30

mai 5, 2020

Bienne/Biel

20:00

mai 8, 2020

Luzern

19:30

mai 10, 2020

Luzern

19:00

mai 15, 2020

Bern

20:00

mai 16, 2020

La Chaux-de-Fonds

18:15

Billetterie

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Nebia

Bienne/Biel

Rue Thomas-Wyttenbach 4

www.nebia.ch +41 32 321 31 83

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch

TPR L'Heure bleue / ADN - Hiver de Danses

La Chaux-de-Fonds

Avenue Léopold-Robert 27

www.tpr.ch +41 32 967 60 50

Trois fortes personnalités s’interrogent sur la signification de l’identité avec humour et virtuosité

 

La chorégraphe britannique Caroline Finn entraîne le public dans un voyage entre fantaisie et réalité, à la recherche de ce qui rend chacun d’entre nous unique. L’Israélienne Ella Rothschild explore la transformation de l’identité individuelle dans le contexte du groupe. Quant à la Suissesse Jasmine Morand, elle prend comme point de départ la vue, subjective en soi, puisque toujours soumise à un filtre personnel. À quel point peut-on se fier à ses perceptions? «I am who I am who I am» ouvre une fenêtre sur un monde riche en imagination, en humour et, pour une fois, clairement féminine!

 

Trois premières créées par trois femmes et regroupées en une production: voilà une curiosité en soi. «I am who I am who I am» ouvrira la 17e édition de Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros, et cela n’est pas un hasard. Kathleen McNurney est à la tête du TLT depuis 2009. Au fil des années, elle a formé une troupe qui n’a rien à envier à des ensembles autrement plus prestigieux. En étroite collaboration artistique avec Steps, elle a sélectionné trois jeunes chorégraphes et jette des ponts entre la troupe du TLT et la scène indépendante. Les chorégraphes ont toutes reçu la même tâche: créer une pièce sur le thème de l’identité. Le résultat est international, individuel et loin d’être identique.

 

Message vidéo de Kathleen McNurney, Jasmine Morand, Ella Rothschild, Caroline Finn depuis leur confinement. Elles auraient dû ouvrir le festival le 23 avril avec "I am who I am who I am".

Caroline Finn

Caroline Finn

Caroline Finn, née en 1981 à Bromley GB, se forme à l’Arts Educational School et à la Juilliard School à New York. Elle danse ensuite, entre autres, pour le Ballet Preljocaj (F) et la compagnie de Carolyn Carlson (F). Aujourd’hui, elle travaille comme chorégraphie indépendante à travers le monde. En 2010, Caroline Finn remporte le prix de production du Concours international de chorégraphie de Copenhague et, en 2014, elle est récompensée par le Matthew Bourne New Adventures Choreographer Award. De 2015 à 2018, elle est chorégraphe résidente à la National Dance Company Wales. Photo: Vreni Arbes

Ella Rothschild

Ella Rothschild

Née en 1984 en Israël, Ella Rothchild est une figure marquante de cette jeune génération de la scène bouillonnante de la danse israélienne. Elle danse avec l’Inbal Pinto and Avshalom Pollak Dance Company ainsi qu’avec la Batsheva Dance Company. Dès 2010, elle crée ses propres pièces, qu’elle présente à travers le monde. En 2016, la ville de Tel Aviv lui décerne le prix Rosenblum pour les arts de la scène. Ella Rothschild n’a pas quitté la scène pour autant et a par exemple dansé dans la création de Crystal Pite/Kidd Pivot pour le Balletto Teatro di Torino. Photo: Rolex Robert Wright

Jasmine Morand

Jasmine Morand

Jasmine Morand est née à Zurich. Elle suit sa formation à l’École de danse classique Geneviève Chaussat à Genève ainsi qu’à l’Académie Princesse Grace à Monaco. Elle est à plusieurs reprises lauréate du Prix d’encouragement pour jeunes talents du Pour-cent culturel Migros. Au cours de sa carrière, elle a dansé notamment au Ballet National de Nancy et Lorraine ainsi qu’au Zürcher Ballett. En 2008, Jasmine Morand fonde la Compagnie Prototype Status, qui réside au Dansomètre à Vevey, un espace entièrement géré par l’artiste. En 2013, elle est récompensée par le Prix culturel vaudois et en 2018 sa création «LUMEN» reçoit le prix Label+ romand. Photo: Céline Michel

Programme:

I am who Iam who I am

Chorégraphie:

Caroline Finn, Jasmine Morand, Ella Rothschild

Direction artistique:

Kathleen McNurney

Costumes:

Eva Butzkies

Création lumières/scénographie:

Guy Hoare

Danseuses/danseurs:

Zach Enquist, Elisabeth Gareis, Phoebe Jewitt, Giovanni Insaudo, Carlos Kerr Jr., Valeria Marangelli, Igli Mezini, Eduarda Pereira Santos, Flavio Quisisana, Aurélie Robichon, Sandra Salietti Aguilera, Andrea Thompson, Gonçalo Torres dos Reis, Tom van de Vena

Coproduction:

Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros, Luzerner Theater

Première et ouverture du festival:

23.4.2020, Luzerner Theater

Plus d‘informations:

Tanz Luzerner Theater TLT