Needcompany

Annie Hanauer / LAC / Teatro Danzabile

Tour Dates

Duration: 75 mins. Without break

May 4, 2022

Zug

20:00

Ticket
May 5, 2022

Zug

20:00

Ticket
May 8, 2022

Bienne/Biel

18:00

Ticket
May 10, 2022

Monthey

20:00

Ticket
May 13, 2022

La Tour-de-Trême

20:00

Ticket
May 15, 2022

Mézières VD

17:00

Ticket
May 18, 2022

Fribourg

20:00

Ticket
Ticket information

Theater Casino Zug

Zug

Artherstrasse 2-4

www.theatercasino.ch +41 41 729 05 05

Theater Casino Zug

Zug

Artherstrasse 2-4

www.theatercasino.ch +41 41 729 05 05

Nebia

Bienne/Biel

Rue Thomas-Wyttenbach 4

www.nebia.ch +41 32 321 31 83

Théâtre du Crochetan

Monthey

Avenue du Théâtre 9

www.crochetan.ch +41 24 475 79 09

Salle CO2

La Tour-de-Trême

Rte de la Ronclina 4

www.co2-spectacle.ch +41 26 913 15 46

Théâtre du Jorat

Mézières VD

Rue du Théâtre 12

www.theatredujorat.ch +41 21 903 07 55

Equilibre

Fribourg

Place Jean-Tinguely 1

www.equilibre-nuithonie.ch +41 26 350 11 00

Probabilities of Independent Events takes pop and folk songs from Zappa, Queen and other music icons as a point of departure and transforms the stage into a wild, bizarre party. The performance is the work of the Belgian Needcompany, which has existed for over 30 years and represents an eclectic mix of artistic forms, including dance-infused theatre and performance that combines visual arts. Their works are often accompanied by live music. In Probabilities of Independent Events, choreographer Grace Ellen Barkey explores the possibility of planning probability. Anything is possible! The work transports the audience into a hilarious story. The choreography is an ode to life, new beginnings, the present moment, fantasy and creative thinking. It is a celebration of togetherness, exaggeration and kitsch. Originally performed with students from the Royal Conservatoire of Antwerp at Concertgebouw Brugge, the choreographer will stage this brilliant work exclusively for the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps with young graduates of the Höhere Fachschule für Zeitgenössischen und Urbanen Bühnentanz in Zurich and will perform the premiere at Theater Casino Zug.

Grace Ellen Barkey

Grace Ellen Barkey

The artist, choreographer and performer Grace Ellen Barkey was born in Surabaya, Indonesia, and has lived and worked for over 30 years in Brussels. Together with Jan Lauwers, she founded Needcompany (1986) and has successfully carried out her own projects since 1992. Her artistic work moves between theatre, dance and visual/fine arts. Music plays a central role in her work and includes everything from Gustav Mahler to Sonic Youth. In 2013, the legendary American avant-garde collective The Residents wrote the music for her creation MUSH-ROOM. Together with the fine artist Lot Lemm, Barkey established the label Lemm&Barkey in 2004. Over the years, the versatile artist has continuously expanded and developed her work in different directions. In addition to works for the stage, she also creates installations, which have been exhibited in different museums, including BOZAR (Brussels), Benaki Museum (Athens), Musée des Arts Décoratifs (Paris), CC Strombeek, Museum Dr. Guislain (Ghent) and Triennale Hasselt/“SuperBodies”. Picture: Maarten van der Put

Needcompany

Needcompany

The company was founded in 1986 by the artist couple Jan Lauwers and Grace Ellen Barkey. Maarten Seghers joined in 2001. Lauwers, Barkey and Seghers work together as a core team in an interdisciplinary manner, combining theatre, dance, performance, visual/fine arts and creative writing. Their artistic work can be seen far beyond the borders of Belgium. Needcompany has presented itself as an international, multilingual, innovative and interdisciplinary company from the beginning. Picture: Phile Deprez

Programme:

Probabilities of Independent Events

Artistic director:

Grace Ellen Barkey

Choreography:

Grace Ellen Barkey

Choreography assistant:

Sung Im Her

Dramaturgy:

Elke Janssens

Musical director and arrangements:

Rombout Willems

Needcompany orchestra and performers:

Sung Im Her, Jules Beckman, Jan Lauwers, Simon Lenski, Maarten Seghers, Emily Hehl, George van Dam, Rombout Willems

Dancers:

Daniel Borak, Arlette Dellers, Jana Dünner,  Sheyla Carmelita Gomez de la Cruz, Michaela Kvet, Pia Ringel, Elisa Pinos Serrano, Branca Scheidegger, Selina Sigrist, Christian Waespi

Costumes:

Charlotte Seeligmuller

Stage manager:

Koen de Saeger

Technical director and lighting designer:

Ken Hioco

Sound:

Pierrick Drochmans

Monitor mix:

Bart Aga

Production director:

Marjolein Demey

Original version:

Dancers: Royal Conservatoire of Antwerp

Co-production: Concertgebouw Brugge

Supported by: the Belgian Federal Government’s Tax Shelter

Special thanks to: Royal Conservatoire of Antwerp – AP Hogeschool, Yasemin Kandemir, Karel Tuytschaever, Nienke Reehorst, Tax Shelter Financing Fund nv, Melissa Thomas, Christel Simons

Premiere: 5 December 2019 at Concertgebouw Brugge

Production:

Needcompany

Co-production:

Theater Casino Zug, Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Supported by:

Flemish agencies

Premiere:

4 May 2022 at Theater Casino Zug as part of the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Age recommendation:

8 years and older

Further information:

Needcompany

Needcompany

Probabilities of Independent Events

DATES DE TOURNÉE

Durée: 75 minutes sans entracte

mai 4, 2022

Zug

20:00

Billets
mai 5, 2022

Zug

20:00

Billets
mai 8, 2022

Bienne/Biel

18:00

Billets
mai 10, 2022

Monthey

20:00

Billets
mai 13, 2022

La Tour-de-Trême

20:00

Billets
mai 15, 2022

Mézières VD

17:00

Billets
mai 18, 2022

Fribourg

20:00

Billets
Billetterie

Theater Casino Zug

Zug

Artherstrasse 2-4

www.theatercasino.ch +41 41 729 05 05

Theater Casino Zug

Zug

Artherstrasse 2-4

www.theatercasino.ch +41 41 729 05 05

Nebia

Bienne/Biel

Rue Thomas-Wyttenbach 4

www.nebia.ch +41 32 321 31 83

Théâtre du Crochetan

Monthey

Avenue du Théâtre 9

www.crochetan.ch +41 24 475 79 09

Salle CO2

La Tour-de-Trême

Rte de la Ronclina 4

www.co2-spectacle.ch +41 26 913 15 46

Théâtre du Jorat

Mézières VD

Rue du Théâtre 12

www.theatredujorat.ch +41 21 903 07 55

Equilibre

Fribourg

Place Jean-Tinguely 1

www.equilibre-nuithonie.ch +41 26 350 11 00

Depuis plus de 30 ans, Needcompany se caractérise par sa pluridisciplinarité artistique. Avec Probabilities of Independent Events, la troupe belge entraîne le public dans une histoire déjantée et vibrante d’enthousiasme adolescent, indomptable et sans retenue. S’ouvre sur scène un monde imaginaire grotesque dans lequel tout est possible et rien ne peut aller de travers. Dans un joyeux mélange et affublés de costumes bigarrés, les artistes forment un ensemble pétillant qui associe interprétations de titres pop et folk de Queen, Frank Zappa, etc. à un concentré de danse, de théâtre et de performance. Il en résulte un melting-pot à l’effervescence contagieuse rythmé par de la musique live. Le message est aussi simple que génial: vive le partage, la joie de vivre et le kitsch! Créée à l’origine pour les étudiant·e·s du Conservatoire royal d’Anvers, Probabilities of Independent Events a été remaniée par la chorégraphe Grace Ellen Barkey en exclusivité pour Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros. Interprétée par de jeunes diplômé·e·s de la Haute école spécialisée de danse contemporaine et urbaine de Zurich, cette pièce à succès fêtera sa première sur la scène du Theater Casino Zug. Plaisir garanti!

Grace Ellen Barkey

Grace Ellen Barkey

L’artiste, chorégraphe et performeuse Grace Ellen Barkey est née à Surabaya, en Indonésie. Elle vit et travaille depuis plus de trente ans à Bruxelles. Elle a fondé Needcompany en 1986 avec Jan Lauwers et, depuis 1992, rencontre un franc succès à l’international avec ses propres projets. Son travail artistique se situe à la croisée des chemins entre le théâtre, la danse, les beaux-arts et les arts visuels. La musique y joue toujours un rôle central et couvre un répertoire qui s’étend de Gustav Mahler à Sonic Youth. En 2013, le fameux collectif artistique avant-gardiste américain «The Residents» a composé la musique de sa création MUSH-ROOM. En 2004, Barkey a fondé le label Lemm&Barkey avec la plasticienne Lot Lemm. Au fil des années, cette artiste polyvalente a sans cesse développé son travail et exploré des directions extrêmement variées. En parallèle à ses créations scéniques, elle a imaginé des installations qui ont été présentées dans divers musées, entre autres au BOZAR (Bruxelles), au Benaki Museum (Athènes), au Musée des Arts Décoratifs (Paris), au CC Strombeek (Grimbergen), au musée Dr. Guislain (Gand) et à la triennale Hasselt / Superbodies. Photo: Maarten van der Put

Needcompany

Needcompany

La compagnie a été fondée en 1986 par le couple d’artistes formé par Jan Lauwers et Grace Ellen Barkey. Maarten Seghers les a rejoints en 2001. Lawers, Barkey et Seghers forment un noyau dur interdisciplinaire mêlant le théâtre, la danse, la performance, les beaux-arts, les arts visuels et l’écriture créative. Leur succès est loin de se confiner aux frontières de la Belgique: dès sa création, Needcompany s’est distinguée comme une troupe internationale, multilingue, novatrice et interdisciplinaire. Photo: Phile Deprez

Programme:

Probabilities of Independent Events

Direction artistique Needcompany:

Grace Ellen Barkey, Jan Lauwers, Maarten Seghers

Chorégraphie:

Grace Ellen Barkey

Assistance chorégraphique:

Sung Im Her

Dramaturgie:

Elke Janssens

Direction musicale et arrangements:

Rombout Willems

Orchestre et performeur·euse·s de Needcompany:

Sung Im Her, Jules Beckman, Jan Lauwers, Simon Lenski, Maarten Seghers, Emily Hehl, George van Dam, Rombout Willems

Danseur·euse·s ZUB:

Arlette Dellers, Jana Dünner,  Sheyla Carmelita Gomez de la Cruz, Sofie Heller, Sofia Kovaleva, Michaela Kvet, Zoé de Reynier, Pia Ringel, Elisa Pinos Serrano, Branca Scheidegger, Selina Sigrist, Christian Waespi

Costumes:

Charlotte Seeligmuller

Régisseur de plateau:

Koen de Saeger

Direction technique et lumière:

Ken Hioco

Son:

Pierrick Drochmans

Mixage écran:

Bart Aga

Direction de production:

Marjolein Demey

Version originale:

Danseur·euse·s: Conservatoire royal d’Anvers

Coproduction: Concertgebouw de Bruges

Avec le soutien de: Tax shelter du Gouvernement fédéral belge.

Remerciements à: Conservatoire royal d’Anvers – AP Hogeschool, Yasemin Kandemir, Karel Tuytschaever, Nienke Reehorst, Tax Shelter financing Fund nv, Melissa Thomas, Christel Simons

Première: le 5 décembre 2019, Concertgebouw de Bruges

Production:

Needcompany

Coproduction:

Theater- und Musikgesellschaft Zug, Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros

Avec le soutien des:

autorités flamandes

Première:

le 4 mai 2022, Theater Casino Zug, dans le cadre de Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros

Âge recommandé:

dès 8 ans

Einführungen / Nachgespräche:

4.5.2022 Theater Casino Zug, Einführung
5.5.2022 Theater Casino Zug, Einführung

Plus d’informations:

Needcompany