Martin Zimmermann / Kinsun Chan / Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen

Wonderful World

Tour Dates

Duration: 60 mins. without break

April 28, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Ticket
April 29, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Ticket
April 30, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Ticket
May 1, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Ticket
May 4, 2022

Baden

19:30

Ticket
May 7, 2022

Sierre

19:00

Ticket
May 10, 2022

Delémont

20:00

Ticket
May 15, 2022

Basel

16:00

Ticket
May 15, 2022

Basel

18:30

Ticket
May 17, 2022

Bern

20:00

Ticket
May 20, 2022

Winterthur

19:30

Ticket
May 21, 2022

Winterthur

19:30

Ticket
Ticket information

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Kurtheater Baden

Baden

Parkstrasse 20

www.kurtheater.ch +41 56 222 22 44

TLH-Sierre

Sierre

Rte de Ancien Sierre 13

www.tlh-sierre.ch +41 27 452 02 90

Théâtre du Jura

Delémont

Route de Bâle 10

www.theatre-du-jura.ch +41 32 566 55 55

Theater Basel Schauspielhaus

Basel

Steinentorstrasse 7

www.theaterbasel.ch +41 61 295 11 33

Theater Basel Schauspielhaus

Basel

Steinentorstrasse 7

www.theaterbasel.ch +41 61 295 11 33

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch +41 31 310 05 40

Theater Winterthur

Winterthur

Theaterstrasse 6

www.theaterwinterthur.ch +41 52 267 66 80

Theater Winterthur

Winterthur

Theaterstrasse 6

www.theaterwinterthur.ch +41 52 267 66 80

What happens to society when it is thrown off balance? Choreographers Kinsun Chan and Martin Zimmermann explore this question in Wonderful World, their first joint creation. The result of this first-rate collaboration is a visually unique work of art. The stage on which the performance takes place is unsteady, tilting with even the slightest movement and literally ripping the floor out from under the dancers’ feet. The stage is transformed into a symbol for our constantly changing world. Zimmermann and Chan’s Wonderful World is a surreal and abstract, yet also poetic discussion about patterns of human behaviour in extraordinary situations. While interacting with life-size puppets, the 16 ensemble members of the Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen ask whom each puppet represents. The dancers risk falling with each step. However, the intrigue of danger prevails, and the dancers must start the daring balancing act over and over again from the beginning. Zimmermann and Chan’s work brings representatives from two different worlds together. Chan is an internationally renowned choreographer and stage and costume designer, who has directed the Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen since the 2019/2020 season. Martin Zimmermann is an important figure in the international contemporary dance and circus scene and winner of the Swiss Grand Award for the Performing Arts/Hans Reinhart Ring in 2021. The work combines two different artistic perspectives into an unforgettable evening of dance, which will open the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps in St. Gallen.

Kinsun Chan

Kinsun Chan

The Canadian-Swiss choreographer and designer studied art, graphic design and dance at Virginia Intermont College, Georgia State University and the University of Louisville. As a dancer, he was a member of the Ballett Zürich led by Heinz Spoerli and Ballett Basel led by Richard Wherlock and has danced in choreographic works by Jiří Kylián, William Forsythe, Hans van Manen and Ed Wubbe, among others. His choreographic works have been performed by Ballett Basel, Singapore Dance Theatre, the ballet of Staatsoper Hannover, Royal Ballet School Antwerpen, John Cranko Ballet School, Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and Luzerner Theater, among others. In addition to his own works, he has choreographed numerous opera performances around the world. As an interior designer and costume designer, he has designed sets for numerous productions of renowned companies in both Europe and Asia. He has served as director of the Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen since the 2019/2020 season. Picture: Ilaria Masini

Martin Zimmermann

Martin Zimmermann

The choreographer, theatre director, set designer and performer Martin Zimmermann grew up in Wildberg, Switzerland, and graduated from the Centre National des Arts du Cirque (CNAC) in Paris following an apprenticeship as decorator. For more than 20 years, he has created, choreographed and staged visual and physical theatre without words in Zurich, whose mixture of circus, dance, theatre and spectacular stage installations has inspired large audiences around the world. His works have been performed at BAM New York, Tokyo Metropolitan Theater, Théâtre de la Ville Paris, Barbican London, Sydney Opera House, Festival d’Avignon and the Fondation Beyeler Art Museum, among others. He received the Swiss Design Award three years in a row for his set designs. He is an Associated Artist at Maison de la culture de Bourges/Scène Nationale and at Tanzhaus Zürich. In 2021, he received the renowned Swiss Grand Award for the Performing Arts/Hans Reinhart Ring, Switzerland’s greatest award for theatre. Picture: Augustin Rebetez

Programme:

Wonderful World

Choreography:

Martin Zimmermann, Kinsun Chan

Choreography assistant:

Sandrine Cassini

Dramaturgy:

Caroline Damaschke

Concept and stage design:

Martin Zimmermann

Music:

Hans-Peter Pfammatter, Daniel Steffen

Costumes:

Martin Zimmermann, Kinsun Chan

Lighting:

Christian Kass

Dancers:

Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen – Pamela Campos, Mikaël Champs, Guang-Xuan Chen, Beatriz Coelho, Dustin Eliot, Swane Küpper, Mei-Yun Lu, Lorian Mader, Naiara Silva de Matos, Lena Obuska, Emily Pak, Piran Scott, Samuel Trachsel, Camille Zany, Michal Zhao

Tour management:

Kinsun Chan, Theater St. Gallen

Co-production:

Theater St. Gallen and Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Supported by:

Sophie and Karl Binding Foundation, Ostschweizer Stiftung für Musik und Theater

Premiere:

28 April 2022, Theater St.Gallen, opening night of the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Age recommendation:

12 years and older

Further information:

Theater St. Gallen

Kinsun Chan

Martin Zimmermann

Martin Zimmermann / Kinsun Chan / Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen

Wonderful World

DATES DE TOURNÉE

Durée: 60 minutes sans entracte

avril 28, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

avril 29, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

avril 30, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

mai 1, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

mai 4, 2022

Baden

19:30

Billets
mai 7, 2022

Sierre

19:00

mai 10, 2022

Delémont

20:00

Billets
mai 15, 2022

Basel

16:00

Billets
mai 15, 2022

Basel

18:30

Billets
mai 17, 2022

Bern

20:00

mai 20, 2022

Winterthur

19:30

Billets
mai 21, 2022

Winterthur

19:30

Billets
Billetterie

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Kurtheater Baden

Baden

Parkstrasse 20

www.kurtheater.ch +41 56 222 22 44

TLH-Sierre

Sierre

Rte de Ancien Sierre 13

www.tlh-sierre.ch +41 27 452 02 90

Théâtre du Jura

Delémont

Route de Bâle 10

www.theatre-du-jura.ch +41 32 566 55 55

Theater Basel Schauspielhaus

Basel

Steinentorstrasse 7

www.theaterbasel.ch +41 61 295 11 33

Theater Basel Schauspielhaus

Basel

Steinentorstrasse 7

www.theaterbasel.ch +41 61 295 11 33

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch +41 31 310 05 40

Theater Winterthur

Winterthur

Theaterstrasse 6

www.theaterwinterthur.ch +41 52 267 66 80

Theater Winterthur

Winterthur

Theaterstrasse 6

www.theaterwinterthur.ch +41 52 267 66 80

Que se passe-t-il lorsque l’équilibre de la société est menacé? Telle est la question à laquelle les chorégraphes Kinsun Chan et Martin Zimmermann tentent de répondre dans Wonderful World. De leur prestigieuse collaboration résulte une pièce au visuel hors du commun. Les danseur·euse·s évoluent sur un plancher instable qui s’incline au moindre de leurs mouvements. Le sol se dérobe littéralement sous leurs pieds. La scène devient le symbole de notre monde en perpétuelle transformation. Wonderful World reflète la discussion à la fois surréaliste, abstraite et poétique de Kinsun Chan et de Martin Zimmermann sur nos modèles comportementaux typiques lors de situations extraordinaires. Tout en jouant avec des marionnettes grandeur nature, les membres de Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen posent la question de savoir qui est la marionnette de qui. Les artistes risquent de sombrer à chaque pas au fond de l’abîme. Mais l’attrait du danger l’emporte sur la raison et ils recommencent sans cesse leur audacieux jeu d’équilibriste. Kinsun Chan et Martin Zimmermann permettent à deux mondes de se rencontrer. Kinsun Chan, chorégraphe, scénographe et créateur de costumes de renommée internationale, dirige la compagnie de danse du Theater St. Gallen depuis la saison 2019/20. Martin Zimmermann est, quant à lui, une personnalité importante de la scène internationale de danse contemporaine et de cirque et le lauréat du Grand Prix suisse des arts de la scène / Anneau Hans Reinhart 2021. Deux perspectives artistiques différentes s’unissent pour une soirée de danse inoubliable à l’occasion de l’ouverture de Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros, à Saint-Gall.

Kinsun Chan

Kinsun Chan

Le chorégraphe helvético-canadien a étudié l’art, le design graphique et la danse au Virginia Intermont College, à la Georgia State University ainsi qu’à l’Université de Louisville. Comme danseur, il a été engagé au Ballett Zürich sous Heinz Spoerli et au Ballett Basel sous Richard Wherlock et a, entre autres, dansé des chorégraphies de Jiří Kylián, William Forsythe, Hans van Manen et Ed Wubbe. Ses propres créations ont notamment été présentées dans les compagnies et écoles suivantes: Ballett Basel, Singapore Dance Theatre, Ballett der Staatsoper Hannover, Royal Ballet School Antwerpen, John Cranko Ballet School, Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts ainsi qu’au Luzerner Theater. Parallèlement à ses créations, Kinsun Chan a élaboré de nombreuses chorégraphies pour des représentations d’opéra aux quatre coins du monde. Comme architecte d’intérieur et costumier, il imagine par ailleurs la scénographie de nombreuses productions pour des compagnies de renom, en Europe et en Asie. Depuis la saison 2019/20, il dirige la compagnie de danse du Theater St.Gallen. Photo: Ilaria Masini

Martin Zimmermann

Martin Zimmermann

Le chorégraphe, metteur en scène, scénographe et performeur Martin Zimmermann passe son enfance à Wildberg (CH) et effectue un apprentissage de décorateur, avant d’obtenir son diplôme au Centre National des Arts du Cirque (CNAC) à Paris. Depuis plus de 20 ans, il invente, chorégraphie et met en scène, à Zurich, un théâtre visuel et physique sans paroles combinant des éléments venus du cirque, de la danse et du théâtre avec des installations scéniques spectaculaires, et enthousiasmant un large public à travers le monde. Ses pièces ont notamment été présentées au BAM New York, au Tokyo Metropolitan Theater, au Théâtre de la Ville Paris, au Barbican London, au Sydney Opera House, au Festival d’Avignon ainsi qu’à la Fondation Beyeler. Les décors de Martin Zimmermann ont été récompensés trois ans d’affilée par le Swiss Design Award. Il est par ailleurs artiste associé à La Maison de la culture de Bourges / Scène Nationale et à la Tanzhaus Zürich. En 2021, Martin Zimmermann s’est vu décerner la plus prestigieuse récompense suisse dans le domaine du théâtre: le Grand Prix suisse des arts de la scène / Anneau Hans Reinhart 2021. Photo: Augustin Rebetez

Programme:

Wonderful World

Chorégraphie:

Martin Zimmermann, Kinsun Chan

Concept et scénographie:

Martin Zimmermann

Composition:

Hans-Peter Pfammatter, Daniel Steffen

Costumes:

Martin Zimmermann et Kinsun Chan

Creation lumière:

Christian Kass

Collaboration chorégraphique et artistique:

Sandrine Cassini

Dramaturgie:

Caroline Damaschke

Fabrication de marionnettes:

Décoration d’intérieur Theater St. Gallen

Machinerie:

Sandrine Cassini

Régisseur, figurant, assistant :

Noah Geistlich

Organisation des tournées:

Kinsun Chan, Theater St. Gallen

Lumière:

Thomas Utzinger

Habilleuses:

Maria Beck, Ana Galindo, Alma Greco, Lika Wagenseil

Régisseur plateau:

Mike Roscher

Technicien scène:

Holger Bruder

Entraînement tournées:

Sandrine Cassini

Danseur·euse·s Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen:

Pamela Campos, Mikaël Champs, Guang-Xuan Chen, Beatriz Coelho, Dustin Eliot, Swane Küpper, Mei-Yun Lu, Lorian Mader, Naiara Silva de Matos, Lena Obluska, Emily Pak, Piran Scott, Samuel Trachsel, Camille Zany, Minghao Zhao

Construction du décor:

La structure du décor a été construite par Ingo Groher et le Schauspielhaus Zürich pour la pièce „Öper Öpis“ crée par Zimmermann & de Perrot en 2008.

Coproduction:

Theater St.Gallen et Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros

Avec le soutien de:

Fondation Sophie et Karl Binding, Ostschweizer Stiftung für Musik und Theater

Première:

le 28 avril 2022, Theater St. Gallen, en ouverture du Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros

Âge recommandé:

dès 12 ans

Avertissement relatif au contenu:

Effets stroboscopique

Introductions(Discussions:

20./21.5.2022 Theater Winterthur, Introduction avec Kinsun Chan et Martin Zimmermann

Répétitions ouvertes au public:

14.5.2022 Theater Basel avec le Ballett Theater Basel et la Tanzkompanie Theater St. Gallen

Plus d’informations:

Theater St. Gallen

Kinsun Chan

Martin Zimmermann