Spain

IT Dansa

Paisatges

Tour Dates

Duration: 90 mins., with interval

April 27, 2020

Bern

20:00

Ticket
April 29, 2020

Schaffhausen

19:30

Ticket
May 2, 2020

Chiasso

20:30

Ticket
May 5, 2020

Neuchâtel

20:00

Ticket
May 8, 2020

Chur

20:00

Ticket
May 10, 2020

Zug

19:00

Ticket
May 13, 2020

Zürich

20:00

Ticket
Ticket information

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch

Stadttheater Schaffhausen

Schaffhausen

Herrenacker 23

www.stadttheater-sh.ch +41 52 625 05 55

Cinema Teatro

Chiasso

Via D. Alighieri 3b

www.centroculturalechiasso.ch +41 91 695 09 16

Théâtre du Passage

Neuchâtel

Passage Maximilien-de-Meuron 4

www.theatredupassage.ch +41 32 717 79 07

Theater Chur

Chur

Theaterplatz

www.theaterchur.ch +41 81 252 66 44

Theater Casino Zug

Zug

Artherstrasse 2-4

www.theatercasino.ch +41 41 729 05 05

Schauspielhaus Pfauen

Zürich

Rämistrasse 34

www.schauspielhaus.ch +41 44 258 77 77

The Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps welcomes IT Dansa from Spain. This company of young dancers was founded in 1996 by the Belgian choreographer Catherine Allard in Barcelona. The programme combines a variety of dance types and varies slightly from venue to venue. The choreography of «The Prom» by Lorena Nogal is as young and lively as the company itself – a colourful and adorably whacky dance theatre piece, which perfectly taps into the youthfulness of the dancers. Alexander Ekman’s works are characterised by brilliant dance technique, high tempo and, as also the case with «Whim», a good deal of humour. Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui presents an excerpt from «In Memoriam», where three people explore the power structures between them. «Wad Ras», a work created by Ramón Baeza and Montse Sánchez, has its roots in flamenco. This duo has strongly expanded this dance form. It is the dancers themselves who clap and beat and cheer each other along musically. Finally, «Kaash» by Akram Khan seduces with a perfect fusion of classical kathak and contemporary dance. IT Danse delivers a perfect package for those who are curious to (re)discover dance in its multiple facets!

Lorena Nogal

Lorena Nogal

The artist Lorena Nogal graduated in dance at the Institut del Teatro de Barcelona. From 2005 to 2008 she danced in the junior company associated with the school. Subsequently, she had engagements with productions of Plan B Danza (2007-2010), Lanònima Imperial (2011) and Gelabert-Azzopardi (2011–2016). Since 2008, she has been an active member of the artistic team around Marcos Morau. She is his choreographic assistant as well as a dancer in his company La Veronal and in commissioned works for international companies. Additionally, she creates her own choreographies.

Alexander Ekman

Alexander Ekman

Alexander Ekman, born 1984 in Sweden, was a dancer with the Royal Swedish Ballet, Cullberg Ballet and NDT 2. In 2006, he successfully switched from dance to choreography. He has created works for companies such as Cullberg Ballet, Compañía Nacional de Danza, Göteborg Ballet, Berner Ballett, the Royal Swedish Ballet, Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet and The Paris Opera Ballet. In 2011, he taught and choreographed at the Julliard School in New York. From 2011 to 2013, he was associate choreographer of NDT. Additionally, Ekman designs the stage sets for many of his works. Picture: Ann Ray

Akram Khan

Akram Khan

Khan studied northern Indian kathak and contemporary dance in London. In 2000, he founded the Akram Khan Company. Many of his works are the result of interdisciplinary cooperation with renowned artists. He has been regularly represented in Steps programmes. He latest works are «Until the Lions» (2016), «Xenos» (2018) and, in 2019, «Outwitting the Devil». In 2016, he was commissioned by English National Ballet to create a new version of «Giselle». A recipient of multiple awards, he is an associate artist of Sadler’s Wells in London. Picture: Laurent Ziegler

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

The Belgian-Moroccan choreographer Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui draws his inspiration from different cultures, traditions and disciplines in creating his works. Sociopolitical topics are a central theme of his remarkable oeuvre so far. Often working at the same time on several projects, he produces works for his own company Eastman, as well as for large ballet companies and film productions. Since 2015, he has been the artistic director of the Royal Ballet, Flanders. Picture: Mats Bäcker

Montse Sánchez und Ramón Baeza

Montse Sánchez und Ramón Baeza
The dancers Montse Sánchez (b.1964) and Ramón Baeza (b.1963) founded Increpación Danza in 1993. Their stated quest is to explore the dance style of flamenco, re-interpreting and combining it with elements of contemporary dance. This gifted duo can look back on a career of more than 25 years and numerous successful tours.

Programme Bern, Neuchâtel, Zug:

Kaash
The Prom
In Memoriam
Whim

Programme Schaffhausen, Chiasso, Chur, Zürich:

Wad Ras
The Prom
In Memoriam
Whim

Artistic direction:

Catherine Allard

Credits Kaash:

Choreography: Akram Kahn | Music: Nitin Sawhney | Stage design: Anish Kapoor | Costumes: Kimie Nakano | Lighting: Aideen Malone | Dancers: 11 | Choreographic support: Eulàlia Ayguadé Farro, Nicola Monaco

Credits Wad Ras:

Choreography: Ramón Baeza und Montse Sánchez | Music: Antonio Martinez Ñoño, Nan Mercader (Perkussion) | Music compilation: José Antonio Gutiérrez Guti | Costumes: Increpación Danza | Lighting: Peni Barratxina | Dancers: 6

Credits The Prom:

Choreography: Lorena Nogal | Music: Peter Skellern, Hans-Peter Lindstrom, Perfume Genius | Music compilation: Manuel Rodríguez | Stage design: Lorena Nogal | Costumes: Manuel Rodríguez, Lorena Nogal | Lighting: Víctor Cuenca | Dancers: 13

Credits In Memoriam:

Choreography:Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui | Music: A Filetta | Costumes: Maribel Selma | Dancers: 3

Credits Whim:

Choreography:Alexander Ekman | Music: Antonio Vivaldi Die vier Jahreszeiten: der Winter Op. 8, RV 297; Edmundo Ros Bolero; Nina Simone My baby just cares for me | Costumes: Alexander Ekman | Lighting: Alex Kurth | Dancers: 18

World premiere:

Kaash: 28/3/2002, Akram Khan Dance Company, Créteil, France; Whim: 2006

More information:

IT Dansa

Espagne

IT Dansa

Paisatges

DATES DE TOURNÉE

Durée: 90 minutes avec entracte

avril 27, 2020

Bern

20:00

avril 29, 2020

Schaffhausen

19:30

mai 2, 2020

Chiasso

20:30

mai 5, 2020

Neuchâtel

20:00

mai 8, 2020

Chur

20:00

mai 10, 2020

Zug

19:00

mai 13, 2020

Zürich

20:00

Billetterie

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch

Stadttheater Schaffhausen

Schaffhausen

Herrenacker 23

www.stadttheater-sh.ch +41 52 625 05 55

Cinema Teatro

Chiasso

Via D. Alighieri 3b

www.centroculturalechiasso.ch +41 91 695 09 16

Théâtre du Passage

Neuchâtel

Passage Maximilien-de-Meuron 4

www.theatredupassage.ch +41 32 717 79 07

Theater Chur

Chur

Theaterplatz

www.theaterchur.ch +41 81 252 66 44

Theater Casino Zug

Zug

Artherstrasse 2-4

www.theatercasino.ch +41 41 729 05 05

Schauspielhaus Pfauen

Zürich

Rämistrasse 34

www.schauspielhaus.ch +41 44 258 77 77

Avec IT Dansa, l’édition 2020 de Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros, se réjouit d’accueillir une troupe espagnole. La compagnie junior a été fondée en 1996 à Barcelone par la Belge Catherine Allard. Le programme combine des signatures chorégraphiques hétérogènes et diffère légèrement selon les lieux de représentation. «The Prom», signée par Lorena Nogal, est aussi pétillante et dynamique que la troupe: une pièce de danse-théâtre colorée et sympathique avec un brin de folie, taillée sur mesure pour les jeunes danseuses et danseurs. Les œuvres d’Alexander Ekman se caractérisent par des prouesses techniques et un rythme effréné, mais surtout par une bonne dose d’humour, comme l’illustre parfaitement «Whim». Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui présente un extrait de sa pièce «In Memoriam», dans laquelle trois personnages sondent l’emprise du pouvoir qu’ils exercent les uns sur les autres. Dans «Wad Ras», le duo chorégraphique formé par Ramón Baeza et Montse Sánchez revient sur ses origines et revisite le flamenco. Il en résulte une esthétique inédite, dans laquelle les protagonistes s’encouragent au rythme de percussions diverses. Dans «Kaash», Akram Khan présente une fusion parfaite entre le kathak classique et la danse contemporaine. La variété du programme d’IT Dansa en fait un must pour tout spectateur désireux de (re)découvrir la danse!

 

Merci à Catherine Allard, directrice artistique de It Dansa, Jove Companyia de l'Institut del Teatre, pour ses mots chaleureux envoyés de Barcelone.

Lorena Nogal

Lorena Nogal

L’artiste effectue sa formation à l’Institut del Teatro à Bercelone, avant d’intégrer la compagnie junior de l’école (2005-2008). Elle danse ensuite dans des productions de Plan B Danza (2007-2010), Lanònima Imperial (2011) et Gelabert-Azzopardi (2011-2016). Depuis 2008, elle est un membre actif de l’équipe artistique qui entoure Marcos Morau. Assistante chorégraphique, elle danse également au sein de sa troupe La Veronal ainsi que dans des pièces commandées par des compagnies internationales et crée en parallèle également ses propres œuvres.

Alexander Ekman

Alexander Ekman

Au cours de sa carrière, le Suédois né en 1984 a dansé au Ballet royal de Suède, au Cullberg Ballet ainsi qu’au NDT 2. Depuis 2006, il se consacre entièrement à la chorégraphie et récolte un succès international avec ses créations pour, entre autres, le Cullberg Ballet, la Compañia Nacional de Danza, le Göteborg Ballet, le Berner Ballett, le Ballet royal de Suède, le Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet et le Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris. En 2011, Alexander Ekman travaille par ailleurs comme professeur et chorégraphe à la Julliard School à New York. De 2011 à 2013, il est chorégraphe associé au NDT. Alexander Ekman crée également les décors de plusieurs de ses pièces. Photo: Ann Ray

Akram Khan

Akram Khan

Akram Khan étudie le kathak, une danse traditionnelle du nord de l’Inde, ainsi que la danse contemporaine à Londres. En 2000, il y fonde l’Akram Khan Company. Plusieurs de ses œuvres sont le fruit de collaborations interdisciplinaires avec des artistes de renom et nombre d’entre elles ont déjà figuré au programme de Steps par le passé. Parmi ses dernières créations, citons «Until the Lions» (2016), «Xenos» (2018) et «Outwitting the Devil» (2019). En 2016, l’English National Ballet lui commande une nouvelle version du ballet «Giselle». Artiste maintes fois récompensé, Akram Khan est par ailleurs Associate Artist au Sadler’s Wells à Londres. Photo: Laurent Ziegler

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Dans son processus créatif, le chorégraphe belgo-marocain s’inspire fortement d’autres cultures, traditions (de danse) et disciplines. Les thèmes sociopolitiques traversent son œuvre, désormais conséquente, tel un fil conducteur. L’artiste, qui travaille souvent sur différents projets en parallèle, crée pour sa propre troupe, Eastman, mais aussi pour des compagnies de danse de renom et pour le cinéma. Depuis 2015, Cherkaoui est en outre directeur artistique du Ballet royal de Flandre. Photo: Mats Bäcker

Montse Sánchez und Ramón Baeza

Montse Sánchez und Ramón Baeza

C’est en 1993 que la danseuse Montse Sánchez (née en 1964) et le danseur Ramón Baeza (né en 1963) fondent la compagnie Increpacion danza. Leur ambition artistique: explorer le flamenco et en proposer une nouvelle interprétation en y intégrant des éléments de danse contemporaine. La longévité de leur carrière, jalonnée de nombreuses tournées au succès incontestable durant ces 25 dernières années, prouve la qualité de leur démarche.

Programme à Berne, Neuchâtel, Zoug:

Kaash
The Prom
In Memoriam
Whim

Programme à Schaffhouse, Chiasso, Coire, Zurich:

Wad Ras
The Prom
In Memoriam
Whim

Direction artistique générale:

Catherine Allard

Crédits Kaash:

Chorégraphie: Akram Kahn | Musique: Nitin Sawhney | Scénographie: Anish Kapoor | Costumes: Kimie Nakano | Création lumières: Aideen Malone | Danseuses/danseurs: 11 | Soutien chorégraphique: Eulàlia Ayguadé Farro, Nicola Monaco

Crédits Wad Ras:

Chorégraphie: Ramón Baeza und Montse Sánchez | Musique: Antonio Martinez Ñoño, Nan Mercader (Perkussion) | Collage musical: José Antonio Gutiérrez Guti | Costumes: Increpación Danza | Création lumières: Peni Barratxina | Danseuses/danseurs: 6

Crédits The Prom:

Chorégraphie: Lorena Nogal | Musique: Peter Skellern, Hans-Peter Lindstrom, Perfume Genius | Collage musical: Manuel Rodríguez | Scénographie: Lorena Nogal | Costumes: Manuel Rodríguez, Lorena Nogal | Création lumières: Víctor Cuenca | Danseuses/danseurs: 13

Crédits In Memoriam:

Chorégraphie: Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui | Musique: A Filetta | Costumes: Maribel Selma | Danseuses/danseurs: 3

Crédits Whim:

Chorégraphie: Alexander Ekman | Musique: Antonio Vivaldi Die vier Jahreszeiten: der Winter Op. 8, RV 297; Edmundo Ros Bolero; Nina Simone My baby just cares for me | Costumes: Alexander Ekman | Création lumières: Alex Kurth | Danseuses/danseurs: 18

Première:

Kaash: 28.3.2002, Akram Khan Dance Company, Créteil, France | Whim: 2006

Plus d’informations:

IT Dansa