Switzerland

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis

Faded

Tour Dates

Duration: 55 mins., no interval

April 24, 2020

Luzern

20:00

April 26, 2020

Bellinzona

17:00

April 28, 2020

St. Gallen

20:00

April 30, 2020

Baden

20:00

May 1, 2020

Baden

20:00

May 6, 2020

Zürich

20:00

May 13, 2020

Solothurn

19:30

May 15, 2020

Delémont

20:30

Ticket information

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Teatro Sociale Bellinzona

Bellinzona

Piazza Governo 11

www.teatrosociale.ch +41 91 825 48 18

Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Kurtheater Ausser Haus: Thik Theater im Kornhaus

Baden

Kronengasse 10

www.kurtheater.ch +41 56 210 98 70

Kurtheater Ausser Haus: Thik Theater im Kornhaus

Baden

Kronengasse 10

www.kurtheater.ch +41 56 210 98 70

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Stadttheater Solothurn

Solothurn

Theatergasse 18

www.tobs.ch +41 32 626 20 70

Forum St-Georges

Delémont

Route de Bâle 5

www.ccrd.ch

The Genevan Ioannis Mandafounis, winner of the 2015 Swiss Dance Awards in the category «Outstanding Male Dancer», has long been established as a successful choreographer. With his «Faded», a co-production with the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps, he finalises his change of roles and identity. He has decided to retire from the stage. But before that, he assumes the role of a classical dancer for one last time. With «Faded» he looks back to the beginnings of his career and pays respects to his roots in ballet. Mandafounis has rehearsed several extremely demanding solo variations from famous ballets works in the original and – with the eye of a contemporary choreographer – has arranged them as a true tour de force of a programme. A musician-performer shares the stage with him. She is an important reference in this reflection on a profession which has completely dominated his life, with regular training from a young age. While he re-experiences each solo through a body shaped by years of dance practice, a quite humorous, but above all deeply touching dialogue of the dancer with dance itself emerges.



Ioannis Mandafounis explains the close connection between the identity of his piece «Faded» and the identity of Steps.

Ioannis Mandafounis

Ioannis Mandafounis

Ioannis Mandafounis, born 1981 in Athens, studied dance there at the National School of Dance and at the Conservatoire in Paris. He had a successful dance career at the Göteborg Ballet, NDT 2 and the Forsythe Company. In 2007, he initiated a close collaboration with his colleague Fabrice Mazliah. Together with May Zarhy they founded the artists’ collective Mamaza in 2009. Mandafounis also collaborates with other artists, and works as a guest choreographer and teacher. From 2013 to 2018, the co-production model PRAIRIE of Migros Culture Percentage sponsored various projects by Ioannis Mandafounis. In 2015, he won the Swiss Dance Award in the category «Outstanding Male Dancer».

Antigoni Fryda

Antigoni Fryda

Antigoni Fryda, born 1984 in Athens, studied electrical engineering and computer science. In 2009, she graduated from the Drama School of the National Theater of Northern Greece. She also studied the flute and music theory. She received various scholarships, one of which enabled her to train at the Stella Acting Studio in New York. In 2016, she studied for a Master’s degree in philosophy in Athens. During the past 15 years, she has collaborated as actress and performer with renowned artists and participated in various productions which have been successful on the international circuit. Picture: Domniki Mitropoulou

Programme:

Faded

Concept/interpretation:

Ioannis Mandafounis

Live music/interpretation:

Antigoni Fryda

Dramaturgy:

Eri Kyrgia

Ballet variations adapted by Smaralia Karakosta:

Marius Petipa / Ricardo Drigo (1894), Enrico Cecchetti / Léo Delibes (1894), Marius Petipa / Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1890), Michel Fokine / Frédéric Chopin (1909), Jerome Robbins / Frédéric Chopin (1976), Kenneth McMillan / Jules Massenet (1974), Marius Petipa / Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1895), Serge Lifar / Edouard Lalo (1943), Marie Taglioni / Jacques Offenbach (1860)

Lighting:

David Kretonic

Coaching:

Smaralia Karakosta

Production management:

Mélanie Fréguin

Production:

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis

Co-production:

Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps; Ville de Vernier – département culture & communication; Theater Freiburg; Onassis Cultural Center Athens

Support:

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis is subsidised by the cooperative grant agreement between the City of Geneva and the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia

World premiere:

4/4/2019, Théâtre du Lignon, Vernier

More information:

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis

Suisse

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis

Faded

DATES DE TOURNÉE

Durée: 55 minutes sans entracte

avril 24, 2020

Luzern

20:00

avril 26, 2020

Bellinzona

17:00

avril 28, 2020

St. Gallen

20:00

avril 30, 2020

Baden

20:00

mai 1, 2020

Baden

20:00

mai 6, 2020

Zürich

20:00

mai 13, 2020

Solothurn

19:30

mai 15, 2020

Delémont

20:30

Billetterie

Luzerner Theater

Luzern

Theaterstrasse 2

www.luzernertheater.ch +41 41 228 14 14

Teatro Sociale Bellinzona

Bellinzona

Piazza Governo 11

www.teatrosociale.ch +41 91 825 48 18

Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Kurtheater Ausser Haus: Thik Theater im Kornhaus

Baden

Kronengasse 10

www.kurtheater.ch +41 56 210 98 70

Kurtheater Ausser Haus: Thik Theater im Kornhaus

Baden

Kronengasse 10

www.kurtheater.ch +41 56 210 98 70

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Stadttheater Solothurn

Solothurn

Theatergasse 18

www.tobs.ch +41 32 626 20 70

Forum St-Georges

Delémont

Route de Bâle 5

www.ccrd.ch

Le Genevois Ioannis Mandafounis, lauréat du Prix suisse de la danse dans la catégorie «Danseur exceptionnel» en 2015, est aussi connu depuis longtemps pour ses activités de chorégraphe. «Faded», une coproduction avec Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros, scelle ce changement de rôle et d’identité, puisqu’elle marque les adieux de Mandafounis à la scène. L’artiste y endosse une dernière fois le costume de danseur classique et en profite pour jeter un regard sur ses débuts et rendre un hommage vibrant à ses racines plongées dans le ballet classique. Le danseur présente plusieurs solos, morceaux de bravoure tirés de variations de ballets connus, qu’il a rassemblés, avec l’œil du chorégraphe contemporain, en un programme relevant du véritable tour de force. Une danseuse et performeuse partage la scène avec lui. Elle lui sert d’interlocutrice privilégiée dans sa réflexion sur un métier, qui, à travers la constance de l’entraînement, a dominé sa vie depuis ses jeunes années. Mandafounis redécouvre chaque solo avec ce corps de danseur forgé par des années d’expérience et aboutit peu à peu à un dialogue, drôle et émouvant à la fois, entre le danseur et la danse en tant que telle.

 

Ioannis Mandafounis explique le lien étroit entre l'identité de sa pièce «Faded» et l'identité de Steps.

Ioannis Mandafounis

Ioannis Mandafounis

Né à Athènes en 1981, Ioannis Mandafounis étudie la danse à l’École nationale d’Athènes et au Conservatoire de Paris. S’ensuit une brillante carrière de danseur, notamment au Göteborg Ballet, au NDT 2 et au sein de la Forsythe Company. En 2007, l’artiste débute une étroite collaboration avec le danseur et chorégraphe Fabrice Mazliah, qui débouche, deux plus tard, sur la fondation du collectif Mamaza avec May Zarhy. En parallèle, Mandafounis crée également avec d’autres artistes et travaille comme chorégraphe invité ainsi que comme professeur. De 2013 à 2018, différents projets d’Ioannis Mandafounis ont été encouragés dans le cadre du modèle de coproduction PRAIRIE du Pour-cent culturel Migros. En 2015, il est récompensé par le Prix suisse de la danse dans la catégorie Danseur exceptionnel.

Antigoni Fryda

Antigoni Fryda

Née en 1984, l’artiste originaire d’Athènes étudie l’électrotechnique et l’informatique avant d’obtenir son diplôme à la Drama School of the National Theater of Northern Greece en 2009. Elle étudie en parallèle la flûte et la théorie de la musique. Des bourses lui permettent, entre autres, de poursuivre sa formation au Stella Adler Acting Studio à New York. En 2016, Antigoni Fryda entame un master de philosophie à Athènes. Au cours des 15 dernières années, sa carrière d’actrice et de performeuse a été jalonnée de collaborations avec des artistes de renom et de nombreuses productions présentées à travers le monde. Photo: Domniki Mitropoulou

Programme:

Faded

Conception/interprétation:

Ioannis Mandafounis

Musique live/interprétation:

Antigoni Fryda

Dramaturgie:

Eri Kyrgia

Variations de ballet adaptées par Smaralia Karakosta:

Marius Petipa / Ricardo Drigo (1894), Enrico Cecchetti / Léo Delibes (1894), Marius Petipa / Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1890), Michel Fokine / Frédéric Chopin (1909), Jerome Robbins / Frédéric Chopin (1976), Kenneth McMillan / Jules Massenet (1974), Marius Petipa / Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1895), Serge Lifar / Edouard Lalo (1943), Marie Taglioni / Jacques Offenbach (1860)

Création lumières:

David Kretonic

Coaching:

Smaralia Karakosta

Management de production:

Mélanie Fréguin

Production:

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis

Coproduction:

Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros, Ville de Vernier – département culture & communication, Theater Freiburg, Onassis Cultural Center Athen

Avec le soutien de:

La Cie Ioannis Mandafounis est soutenue dans le cadre d’une convention de soutien conjoint entre la Ville de Genève, le Canton de Genève et Pro Helvetia.

Première:

4.4.2019, Théâtre du Lignon, Vernier

Plus d’informations:

Cie Ioannis Mandafounis