USA

AXIS Dance Company

Radical Impact Tour

Tour Dates

Duration: 90 mins., with interval

April 27, 2020

Luzern

20:00

April 29, 2020

Bern

20:00

May 1, 2020

Zürich

20:00

May 7, 2020

Schaffhausen

19:30

Ticket information

Südpol Luzern

Luzern

Arsenalstrasse 28, Kriens

www.sudpol.ch +41 41 318 00 40

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Stadttheater Schaffhausen

Schaffhausen

Herrenacker 23

www.stadttheater-sh.ch +41 52 625 05 55

Three strong, individual voices from the US can be heard at this year’s Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps: Robert Dekkers presents the trio «Flutter». The California-based choreographer plays with our senses and affirms that synchronicity can be both organic and exciting. The common theme in Jennifer Archibald’s creation «Petrichor - the smell of earth after rain» is gratitude. The choreographer, active in the New York dance scene, has challenged her dancers to develop a vision of their own future based on this theme. Music is the starting point of «Radical Impact». Marc Brew, artistic director of AXIS Dance Company, created the piece in close collaboration with the composer JooWan Kim, conductor of a hip hop orchestra. The AXIS Dance Company is one of the most renowned ensembles worldwide for dancers with and without a disability. Founded in 1987, the company has since collaborated with many famous choreographers, such as Bill T. Jones, Stephen Petronio and Yvonne Rainer. Physically, AXIS is an exceptionally powerful and versatile ensemble. An American-style, athletic dance technique is used in clever and ingenious ways to tie together the varied bodily skills of all its company members.

AXIS Dance Company

AXIS Dance Company

AXIS Dance Company was founded in 1987 with the intention of drawing people with a disability into the contemporary dance scene and giving inclusive dance more exposure. It has done so with a lot of commitment, creativity and with strong artistic voices. Today, the California-based company is one of the most renowned ensembles worldwide for dancers with and without disability. Numerous choreographers have created works for them, including well-known names such as Bill T. Jones, Stephen Petronio, Yvonne Rainer or Meredith Monk. Picture: David De Silva

Robert Dekkers

Robert Dekkers

Robert Dekkers is the founder and artistic director of Post:Ballet. He collaborates with artists from the fields of visual arts, architecture, sculpture, fashion design and new music and designs productions which are «anything but risk-averse», as the SF Chronicle wrote. As a guest choreographer he has worked for Kansas City Ballet, Atlanta Ballet, siDANCEco and San Jose State University. For Quixotic Cirque Noveau, he recently created «Firebird» set to an orchestrated arrangement of music by Radiohead. Picture: Connor Radnovich

Jennifer Archibald

Jennifer Archibald

Jennifer Archibald is a graduate of The Alvin Ailey School and studied the Meisner Technique at the Maggie Flanigan Acting Conservatory. Today she directs her own Arch Dance Company and is programme director of ArchCore40 Dance Intensives. She has been commissioned to choreograph for companies such as Atlanta Ballet, Ailey II, Ballet Memphis and Kansas City Ballet. At Cincinnati Ballet, she is the first female resident choreographer in the company’s 40-year history. As a teacher she travels the world. Currently she is an acting lecturer at the Yale School of Drama. Picture: Ander J Larsson

Marc Brew

Marc Brew

Choreographer Marc Brew is a graduate of Victoria College, of the Arts Secondary School and of the Australian Ballet School. For almost twenty years, he has been working worldwide as director, choreographer, dancer, lecturer and speaker. He has been commissioned by companies such as Scottish Ballet, Ballet Cymru, Candoco Dance Company, Touch Compass, Gdance and Scottish Dance Theatre. Following his engagement as deputy artistic director at Ballet Cymru in Wales, he took over the artistic direction of AXIS Company in 2017. Picture: Maurice Ramirez

Programme:

Flutter
Petrichor - the smell of earth after rain
Radical Impact

Artistic direction:

Marc Brew

Credits Flutter:

Choreography: Robert Dekkers | Rehearsal director: Sonsherée Giles | Dancers: Lani Dickinson, AJ Guevara, JanpiStar | Music: Clapping Music de Steve Reich, Partita pour violon seul No. 2 en ré mineur, BWV 1004: III. Sarabande de Johann Sebastian Bach | Lighting: Walter Holden | Costumes: Christian Squires | Costumes assitant: Marge Funabiki | World premiere: 25.10.2019, Z Space, San Francisco CA

Credits Petrichor - the smell of earth after rain:

Choreography: Jennifer Archibald | Rehearsal director: Sonsherée Giles | Dancers: Bradford Chin, Lani Dickinson, AJ Guevara, Yuko Monden Juma, DeMarco Sleeper, JanpiStar | Music:The Shaman's Heart II by Byron Metcalf, Steve Roach, In My Room by Fennesz | Lighting: Walter Holden | Costumes: Julie Bell | Costumes assitant: Marge Funabiki | World premiere: 25.10.2019, Z Space, San Francisco CA

Credits Radical Impact:

Concept and direction: Marc Brew | Choreography: the dancers in collaboration with Marc Brew | Dancers: Bradford Chin, Lani Dickinson, AJ Guevara, Yuko Monden Juma, DeMarco Sleeper, JanpiStar | Music: composition originale de JooWan Kim, chef de l’orchestre hip-hop Ensemble Mik Nawooj | Costumes: Susan Roemer (S-Curve Apparel & Design) | Lighting: Allen Willner | World premiere: Oktober 2017

Swiss premiere

More information:

AXIS Dance Company

États-Unis

AXIS Dance Company

Radical Impact Tour

DATES DE TOURNÉE

Durée: 90 minutes avec entracte

avril 27, 2020

Luzern

20:00

avril 29, 2020

Bern

20:00

mai 1, 2020

Zürich

20:00

mai 7, 2020

Schaffhausen

19:30

Billetterie

Südpol Luzern

Luzern

Arsenalstrasse 28, Kriens

www.sudpol.ch +41 41 318 00 40

Dampfzentrale Bern

Bern

Marzilistrasse 47

www.dampfzentrale.ch

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Stadttheater Schaffhausen

Schaffhausen

Herrenacker 23

www.stadttheater-sh.ch +41 52 625 05 55

Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros, accueille trois fortes personnalités artistiques venues des États-Unis. Commençons par Robert Dekkers et son trio «Flutter». Originaire de Californie, terre d’accueil de la compagnie, le chorégraphe y joue avec notre vue et confirme par la même occasion qu’une synchronicité organique peut s’avérer tout à fait passionnante. Dans «Petrichor - the smell of earth after rain», Jennifer Archibald utilise, quant à elle, la gratitude comme fil rouge. La chorégraphe, active sur la scène new-yorkaise, invite danseuses et danseurs à imaginer leur propre avenir sous cet angle. «Radical Impact» de Marc Brew, le directeur artistique d’AXIS Dance Company, repose en grande partie sur la musique et résulte d’une collaboration étroite avec le compositeur JooWan Kim, qui dirige un orchestre de hip-hop. L’AXIS Dance Company fait partie des troupes phares de par le monde pour danseurs avec et sans handicap. Fondée en 1987, elle a collaboré avec de nombreux chorégraphes de renom dont Bill T. Jones, Stephen Petronio ou encore Yvonne Rainer. AXIS, qui se caractérise par une gestuelle extrêmement puissante et polyvalente, utilise sa technique athlétique typiquement américaine avec ingéniosité et créativité pour combiner les différentes caractéristiques physiques de ses membres.

 

Marc Brew, directeur artistique de la AXIS Dance Company, envoie ce message depuis Oakland, en Californie.

AXIS Dance Company

AXIS Dance Company

Fondée en 1987, l’AXIS Dance Company associe le monde de la danse contemporaine à celui du handicap, afin de promouvoir la danse inclusive à grand renfort d’engagement, de créativité et de fortes personnalités artistiques. La compagnie établie à Oakland, en Californie, est ainsi devenue l’une des troupes internationales les plus réputées pour danseurs avec et sans handicap. Elle a déjà collaboré avec de nombreux chorégraphes, dont les célèbres Bill T. Jones, Stephen Petronio, Yvonne Rainer ou encore Meredith Monk. Photo: David De Silva

Robert Dekkers

Robert Dekkers

Robert Dekkers est fondateur et directeur artistique du Post:Ballet. Il collabore avec des artistes renommés venus des arts visuels, de l’architecture, de la sculpture, de la mode et de la musique pour des productions «tout sauf frileuses» aux dires du quotidien «SF Chronicle». Robert Dekkers travaille également comme chorégraphe invité pour le Kansas City Ballet, l’Atlanta Ballet, sjDANCEco et l’Université d’État de San José. Il a récemment créé «Feuervogel» pour le Quixotic Cirque Nouveau, un programme complet avec orchestre et basé sur la musique de Radiohead. Photo: Connor Radnovich

Jennifer Archibald

Jennifer Archibald

Après une formation en danse à l’Alvin Ailey School, l’artiste étudie la technique Meisner au Maggie Flanigan Acting Conservatory. Elle dirige aujourd’hui sa propre troupe, l’Arch Dance Company, ainsi que le programme ArchCore40 Dance Intensives. Elle est invitée à créer de nouvelles pièces pour de nombreuses compagnies, dont l’Atlanta Ballet, Ailey II, le Ballet Memphis et le Kansas City Ballet, et devient même la première chorégraphe féminine résidente du Cincinnati Ballet dans les 40 ans d’existence de la troupe. Jennifer Archibald enseigne aussi la chorégraphie dans le monde entier et actuellement l’art dramatique à la Yale School of Drama. Photo: Ander J Larsson

Marc Brew

Marc Brew

Marc Brew a effectué sa formation de danseur au Victoria College of the Arts Secondary School et à l’Australian Ballet School. L’artiste travaille depuis une vingtaine d’années comme metteur en scène, chorégraphe, danseur, enseignant et orateur. Le Scottish Ballet, le Ballet Cymru, la Candoco Dance Company, Touch Compass, Gdance ou encore le Scottish Dance Theatre l’ont déjà engagé comme chorégraphe invité. Après un passage comme directeur artistique adjoint au Ballet Cymru (Pays de Galles), il part aux États-Unis, où il reprend les rênes de l’AXIS Dance Company. Photo: Maurice Ramirez

Programme:

Flutter
Petrichor - the smell of earth after rain
Radical Impact

Direction artistique générale:

Marc Brew

Crédits Flutter:

Chorégraphie: Robert Dekkers | Chargée des répétitions: Sonsherée Giles | Danseuses/danseurs: Lani Dickinson, AJ Guevara, JanpiStar | Musique: Clapping Music de Steve Reich, Partita pour violon seul No. 2 en ré mineur, BWV 1004: III. Sarabande de Johann Sebastian Bach | Création lumières: Walter Holden | Costumes: Christian Squires | Assistente Costumes: Marge Funabiki | Première: 25.10.2019, Z Space, San Francisco CA

Crédits Petrichor - the smell of earth after rain:

Chorégraphie: Jennifer Archibald | Chargée des répétitions: Sonsherée Giles | Danseuses/danseurs: Bradford Chin, Lani Dickinson, AJ Guevara, Yuko Monden Juma, DeMarco Sleeper, JanpiStar | Musique: The Shaman's Heart II by Byron Metcalf, Steve Roach, In My Room by Fennesz | Création lumières: Walter Holden | Costumes: Julie Bell | Assistente Costumes: Marge Funabiki | Première: 25.10.2019, Z Space, San Francisco CA

Crédits Radical Impact:

Conception et direction: Marc Brew | Chorégraphie: les danseuses et danseurs en collaboration avec Marc Brew | Danseuses/danseurs: Bradford Chin, Lani Dickinson, AJ Guevara, Yuko Monden Juma, DeMarco Sleeper, JanpiStar | Musique: composition originale de JooWan Kim, chef de l’orchestre hip-hop Ensemble Mik Nawooj | Costumes: Susan Roemer (S-Curve Apparel & Design) | Création lumières: Allen Willner | Première: Oktober 2017

Première suisse

Plus d’informations:

AXIS Dance Company