Annie Hanauer / LAC / Teatro Danzabile

A space for all our tomorrows

Tour Dates

Duration: 60 mins. without break

April 29, 2022

Delémont

20:00

Ticket
May 2, 2022

Genève

20:00

Ticket
May 6, 2022

Luzern

20:00

Ticket
May 10, 2022

Solothurn

19:30

Ticket
May 13, 2022

Zürich

20:00

Ticket
May 14, 2022

Zürich

20:00

Ticket
May 16, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Ticket
May 18, 2022

La Chaux-de-Fonds

20:30

Ticket
May 19, 2022

La Chaux-de-Fonds

19:00

Ticket
Ticket information

Théâtre du Jura

Delémont

Route de Bâle 10

www.theatre-du-jura.ch +41 32 566 55 55

Ecolint Centre des Arts

Genève

Route de Chêne 62

www.ecolint-cda.ch

Südpol Luzern

Luzern

Arsenalstrasse 28, Kriens

www.sudpol.ch +41 41 318 00 40

Stadttheater Solothurn

Solothurn

Theatergasse 18

www.tobs.ch +41 32 626 20 70

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Temple Allemand ABC - ADN

La Chaux-de-Fonds

Rue du Progrès 12

www.danse-neuchatel.ch +41 79 643 95 32

Temple Allemand ABC - ADN

La Chaux-de-Fonds

Rue du Progrès 12

www.danse-neuchatel.ch +41 79 643 95 32

Utopias are as old as humanity itself. What constitutes them? While they may exist in the mind, they are not (yet) a reality. Utopias are believed to remain unrealised, and thus utopian. Why are we so fascinated by utopias? Do we need utopian experiments to realise greatness, and is the stage perhaps the perfect place to reimagine or recreate them? Inspired by the historical artist collective Monte Verità and based on current events, the US-born choreographer Annie Hanauer engages with different concepts of utopia through dance and presents her notion of an ideal modern society in her new work. Annie Hanauer, who is based in Great Britain, transfers the discussion about utopia to the physical plane and explores its meaning from the perspective of a female body that deviates from the norm. Together with a live female musician, she and two additional dancers will create an energetic and sensuous evening dance performance, which will celebrate its premiere in April 2022 as part of the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps as a co-production with LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura and Teatro Danzabile.

Annie Hanauer

Annie Hanauer

Annie Hanauer is an American dancer, choreographer and educator and studied at the University of Minnesota. She currently lives and works between London and France. Based on her experience as a disabled woman, she is particularly interested in voices that do not represent mainstream society. Her choreographic work has involved developing methods of improvisation and projects related to disability, caregiving and motherhood. She has been active on stages around the world for over a decade, is a member of the AnnieVickySarah (AVS) collective and has collaborated with Lea Anderson, Wendy Houstoun, Rachid Ouramdane, Emanuel Gat and Boris Charmatz, among others. Her choreographic works have received support from the Arts Council England, Siobhan Davies Dance, CCN2 Grenoble, Candoco Dance Company and The Place. She is a member of the Equity Dance Committee in the UK. She danced with Candoco Dance Company in London from 2008 to 2014 and also performed at the Dance Festival Steps during this time. Picture: Camilla Greenwell

Deborah Lennie

Deborah Lennie

The musician Deborah Lennie was born in New Zealand and grew up in Australia. After studying piano and voice at NSW Conservatorium of Music, she studied French and political science at the University of Sydney and trained as an actor at Actors Center Australia. She has lived in France since the early 2000s and is currently Associate Artist at Théâtre du Champ Exquis in Normandy. She has worked with many different performers, including Rachid Ouramdane, Mille Engbert and Annie Hanauer. She has served as artiste associée at Théâtre du Champ Exquis in Blainville-sur-Orme, France, since 2019. Picture: Christophe Bisson

Laila White

Laila White

The self-taught dancer, choreographer, photographer and visual artist Laila White was born in a refugee camp in Tindouf, Algeria, where she contracted polio. Photography, dance and painting form the foundation of her artistic work. They are her chosen language for expressing her feelings and personal experiences. She began her career as a dancer in 2014 and has worked with international choreographers, including Neus Canalias, Antonio Quiles, Alessandro Schiattarella and Cie. BewegGrund, as well as the Jessie Brett Dance Company from Wales. Her work deals with the absence of her unknown twin sister, from whom she was separated at a young age and who, like her illness, is a part of her history. She describes herself as a twin sister and woman with two lives, two mothers and two crutches. Picture: Laila White

Giuseppe Comuniello

Giuseppe Comuniello

Giuseppe Comuniello is a visually impaired dancer and choreographer from Florence, Italy, who is supported by the Oriente Occidente Dance Festival. In 2019, he was invited to participate in the 3rd Europe Beyond Access laboratory in Maastricht. His work can be seen both on stage and on screen and demonstrates his broad range of interests, including differences in perspectives, physical perception and the effects of group dynamics. He is a member of Al. Di. Qua, a collective of disabled artists, and is internationally active with different dance artists, including Camilla Guarino, the Virgilio Sieni Company and Alessandro Schiattarella with Cie. BewegGrund. In addition, he regularly offers workshops, including at ORME Festival in Lugano, Istituto Cavazza in Bologna and Stopgap Dance Company in Great Britain. Picture: Marco Caselli Nirmal

Teatro Danzabile

Teatro Danzabile

Teatro Danzabile was founded in 2005 and has been under the directorship of Emanuel Rosenberg since 2010. The company is regarded as a pioneer of professional inclusive stagecraft in Ticino with the aim of drawing together the seemingly different realities of people with and without disabilities. Based in Lugano, Teatro Danzabile has regularly organised workshops, projects, and dance and theatre productions since 2011. Together with Inclusione Andicap Ticino, it launched the ORME Festival, the first inclusive festival for performing arts in Italian-speaking Switzerland, which has been a part of IntegrART since 2015, a national network project sponsored by Migros Culture Percentage. Picture: Toni Virgadamo

Programme:

A space for all our tomorrows

Choreography:

Annie Hanauer

Choreography adviser:

Susanna Recchia

Dramaturgy:

Silja Gruner

Composition:

Patrice Grente, Deborah Lennie

Live music:

Deborah Lennie

Costumes:

Valentina Golfieri

Lighting:

Marzio Picchetti

Audio description:

Camilla Guarino

Dancers:

Giuseppe Comuniello, Annie Hanauer, Laila White

Production coordination:

Emanuel Rosenberg

Production assistant:

Polina Tallone

Production:

LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura, Teatro Danzabile

Co-production:

IntegrART – a network project sponsored by Migros Culture Percentage  Programmer's Fund of Reso – Dance Network Switzerland, supported by Pro Helvetia, Swiss Arts Council

Supported by:

Fondazione Lugano per il Polo Culturale, Manitou Foundation, PLIM – creazioni

In collaboration with:

Franklin University

Premiere:

29 April 2022 at Théâtre du Jura as part of the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Age recommendation:

15 years and older

Content warning:

repetitive music

Post-performance discussions:

All performances are followed by a discussion organised by Steps.

Further information:

Teatro Danzabile

Annie Hanauer

Annie Hanauer / LAC / Teatro Danzabile

A space for all our tomorrows

DATES DE TOURNÉE

Durée: 60 minutes sans entracte

avril 29, 2022

Delémont

20:00

Billets
mai 2, 2022

Genève

20:00

Billets
mai 6, 2022

Luzern

20:00

Billets
mai 10, 2022

Solothurn

19:30

Billets
mai 13, 2022

Zürich

20:00

Billets
mai 14, 2022

Zürich

20:00

Billets
mai 16, 2022

St. Gallen

20:00

Billets
mai 18, 2022

La Chaux-de-Fonds

20:30

Billets
mai 19, 2022

La Chaux-de-Fonds

19:00

Billets
Billetterie

Théâtre du Jura

Delémont

Route de Bâle 10

www.theatre-du-jura.ch +41 32 566 55 55

Ecolint Centre des Arts

Genève

Route de Chêne 62

www.ecolint-cda.ch

Südpol Luzern

Luzern

Arsenalstrasse 28, Kriens

www.sudpol.ch +41 41 318 00 40

Stadttheater Solothurn

Solothurn

Theatergasse 18

www.tobs.ch +41 32 626 20 70

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Theater St. Gallen Lokremise

St. Gallen

Grünbergstrasse 7

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Temple Allemand ABC - ADN

La Chaux-de-Fonds

Rue du Progrès 12

www.danse-neuchatel.ch +41 79 643 95 32

Temple Allemand ABC - ADN

La Chaux-de-Fonds

Rue du Progrès 12

www.danse-neuchatel.ch +41 79 643 95 32

Les utopies existent depuis la nuit des temps et leur réputation de ne jamais se réaliser n’y change rien. Pourquoi nous fascinent-elles donc tant? Nos rêves nous tireraient-ils paradoxalement du lit tous les matins? Les expériences utopiques seraient-elle la clé de tout changement? Les planches d’un théâtre sont peut-être l’endroit idéal pour présenter différentes ébauches et perspectives.

 

En s’inspirant de la communauté artistique du Monte Verità du début des années 1900, la chorégraphe américaine Annie Hanauer explore divers concepts d’utopie et les rattache à cette question intemporelle: de quelle manière voulons-nous vivre? Mue par la quête d’un monde meilleur et la curiosité de ce à quoi il pourrait ressembler, la chorégraphe qui a élu domicile en Grande-Bretagne déplace la discussion sur l’utopie au niveau physique. En compagnie de deux autres danseur·euse·s, elle sonde la signification de ce vaste sujet à travers trois corps qui divergent de la norme.

 

Si A space for all our tomorrows ne prétend pas rendre une utopie tangible, puisque qu’une utopie reste inaccessible par nature, Annie Hanauer en explore toutefois la composition et permet ainsi au public d’en découvrir les contours et les couleurs. Accompagnée par la musique live de Deborah Lennie, la pièce dégage une dynamique complexe, dont l’énergie est transmise tantôt avec puissance et intensité, tantôt avec subtilité et sensualité. Elle invite à une réflexion pleine d’optimisme sur un avenir commun et confirme que des perspectives plurielles élargissent non seulement notre horizon, mais permettent aussi une transformation positive.

Annie Hanauer

Annie Hanauer

La danseuse, chorégraphe et pédagogue américaine Annie Hanauer a suivi sa formation à l’Université du Minnesota. Aujourd’hui, elle vit et travaille ente Londres et la France. Elle s’intéresse tout particulièrement aux voix minoritaires de la société et se base sur son expérience personnelle de femme en situation de handicap. Son travail chorégraphique comprend notamment le développement de méthodes d’improvisation et suit des projets en rapport avec le handicap, le souci de l’autre et la maternité. Annie Hanauer est active sur les scènes du monde entier depuis plus d’une décennie, elle fait partie du collectif AnnieVickySarah (AVS) et a entre autres collaboré avec Lea Anderson, Wendy Houstoun, Rachid Ouramdane, Emanuel Gat et Boris Charmatz. Son travail bénéficie du soutien de l’Arts Council England, de Siobhan Davies Dance, du CCN2 Grenoble, de la Candoco Dance Company et de The Place. Elle est en outre membre du Dance Committee de l’association britannique Equity. Danseuse à la Candoco Dance Company à Londres de 2008 à 2014, Annie Hanauer a déjà participé à Steps en tant que telle. Photo: Camilla Greenwell

Deborah Lennie

Deborah Lennie

La musicienne Deborah Lennie est née en Nouvelle-Zélande et a grandi en Australie. Elle a étudié le piano et le chant au NSW Conservatorium of Music, le français et les sciences politiques à l’Université de Sydney et est comédienne diplômée de l’Actors Center Australia. Depuis le début des années 2000, Deborah Lennie vit en France. Elle est actuellement artiste associée du Théâtre du Champ Exquis en Normandie. Elle a collaboré avec divers professionnel·le·s des arts de la scène, notamment avec Rachid Ouramdane, Mille Engbert et Annie Hanauer. Depuis le début 2019, Deborah Lennie est artiste associée au Théâtre du Champ Exquis à Blainville-sur-Orne, France. Photo: Christophe Bisson

Laila White

Laila White

La danseuse, chorégraphe, photographe et plasticienne autodidacte est née dans le camp de réfugiés de Tindouf, en Algérie, où elle a contracté la poliomyélite. Les trois disciplines que sont la photographie, la danse et la peinture constituent le fondement du travail artistique de Laila White. Elles sont le langage que l’artiste choisit pour exprimer ses sentiments et ses expériences personnelles. Elle débute sa carrière de danseuse en 2014 et travaille entre autres avec des chorégraphes reconnu·e·s à l’international comme Neus Canalias, Antonio Quiles, Alessandro Schiattarella et la Cie. BewegGrund, ainsi qu’avec la Jessie Brett Dance Company au Pays de Galles. Dans ses pièces, elle thématise l’expérience de l’absence de sa «sœur jumelle inconnue», dont elle a été séparée très tôt, ainsi que la maladie, qui fait partie intégrante de son histoire. Laila White se décrit elle-même comme une sœur jumelle et une femme avec deux vies, deux mères et deux béquilles. Photo: Laila White

Giuseppe Comuniello

Giuseppe Comuniello

Le Florentin Giuseppe Comuniello est un danseur et chorégraphe malvoyant, qui est soutenu par le Festival de danse Oriente Occidente. En 2019, il a été invité à participer à l’Europe Beyond Access Laboratorium à Maastricht. Son œuvre, que l’on peut aussi bien voir sur scène que sur écran, témoigne de la diversité de ses intérêts: les différences dans la perspective de la perception corporelle et de l’effet des dynamiques de groupe. Giuseppe Comuniello est membre du collectif Al. Di. Qua, qui regroupe des artistes en situation de handicap. Il travaille par ailleurs avec différent·e·s professionnel·le·s de la danse de divers pays, entre autres avec Camilla Guarino, la Compagnie Virgilio Sieni ainsi qu’avec Alessandro Schiattarella et la Cie. BewegGrund. Il propose aussi régulièrement des ateliers, par exemple au Festival Orme à Lugano, à l’Istituto Cavazza à Bologne et pour la Stopgap Dance Company en Grande-Bretagne. Photo: Marco Caselli Nirmal

Teatro Danzabile

Teatro Danzabile

Fondée en 2005, la compagnie Teatro Danzabile est dirigée par Emanuel Rosenberg depuis 2010. Elle compte parmi les pionnières de la création scénique inclusive professionnelle au Tessin et poursuit l’objectif de réunir les réalités de prime abord différentes des personnes en situation de handicap ou pas. Depuis 2011, la compagnie établie à Lugano organise régulièrement des ateliers, des projets ainsi que des productions de danse et de théâtre. En collaboration avec Inclusione Andicap Ticino, Teatro Danzabile a lancé le Festival ORME, le premier festival inclusif des arts de la scène de Suisse italophone, qui fait partie depuis 2015 d’IntegrART, un projet de mise en réseau du Pour-cent culturel Migros. Photo: Toni Virgadamo

Programme:

A space for all our tomorrows

Chorégraphie:

Annie Hanauer

Conseil chorégraphique:

Susanna Recchia

Dramaturgie:

Silja Gruner

Composition musicale:

Patrice Grente, Deborah Lennie

Musique live:

Deborah Lennie

Costumes:

Valentina Golfieri

Lumière:

Marzio Picchetti

Audiodescription:

Camilla Guarino

Danseur·euse·s:

Giuseppe Comuniello, Annie Hanauer, Laila White

Coordination de production:

Emanuel Rosenberg

Assistance de production:

Polina Tallone

Production:

LAC – Lugano Arte e Cultura, Teatro Danzabile

Coproduction:

IntegrART – un projet de mise en réseau du Pour-cent culturel Migros Fonds des programmateurs de Reso – Réseau danse suisse, soutenue par Pro Helvetia, Fondation suisse pour la culture

Avec le soutien de:

Fondazione Lugano per il Polo Culturale, Manitou Foundation, PLIM – creazioni, Landis & Gyr Stiftung

En collaboration avec:

Franklin University

Première:

le 29 avril 2022, Théâtre du Jura, dans le cadre de Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros

Âge recommandé:

dès 8 ans

Avertissement relatif au contenu:

musique répétitive

Discussions publiques:

Steps propose une discussion publique à l’issue de chaque représentation, sauf le
2.5.2022 à Genève
14.5.2022 à Zurich
19.5.2022 à La Chaux-de-Fonds

Plus d’informations:

Teatro Danzabile

Annie Hanauer