Switzerland

Take Off!

The Swiss Bachelors of Dance

The bold and self-determined manner in which young people begin their journey through life, especially in professional life, never ceases to impress. Take Off! makes it possible to experience, live on stage, the spirit of optimism and the energy that is inherent in this phase of life, also in dance. To no small extent, the fact that dance is on the rise in Switzerland is due to new education structures. These include the two bachelor’s degree programmes in contemporary dance that were established in 2014, which prepare students aged between 17 and 24 for a professional career. However, the up-and-coming young artists from these two very differently oriented schools in Zurich (ZHdK) and Lausanne (Manufacture) have never appeared together on stage before. On the initiative of the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps, they are now touring together for the first time, nationwide, mainly presenting premieres of new creations resulting from their collaborations with internationally renowned choreographers Annabelle Lopez Ochoa, Fabrice Mazliah, Jasmine Morand and Michael Schumacher, plus a classic by Itzik Galili. The joy of discovery conveyed by these young dance talents confronting diverse dance languages is simply compelling.

Itzik Galili

Itzik Galili

Choreographer Itzik Galili from Israel started to choreograph as a member of the ensemble at Batsheva Dance Company and soon met with a huge response. In 1991, he founded his own ensemble, Galili Dance, in the Netherlands. In 1997, the Ministry of Culture appointed him as artistic director of the newly established company NND / Galili Dance in Groningen, which he ran for eleven years. In 2009, Galili co-founded the contemporary Dansgroep Amsterdam. He has been working successfully on a freelance basis since 2011. Picture: Gadi Dagon

Annabelle Lopez Ochoa

Annabelle Lopez Ochoa

Born in 1973, this choreographer with Columbian/Belgian roots danced for twelve years at Scapino Ballet, before devoting herself solely to choreography from 2003 onwards. Since being recognised as masterful in her field, she has been hired as a guest choreographer all around the world, for instance by Het Nationale Ballet, Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Genève, GöteborgsOperans Danskompani, English National Ballet and New York City Ballet. This multi-award-winning artist also works in theatre, opera and musicals.

Fabrice Mazliah

Fabrice Mazliah

Fabrice Mazliah of Geneva first learnt to dance under Beatriz Consuelo and Alicia de La Fuente. He studied further in Athens and at Atelier Rudra Béjart in Lausanne. He became a member of Nederlands Dans Theater, then joined William Forsythe’s Ballet Frankfurt in 1997, where he started to choreograph. In 2009, together with Ioannis Mandafounis and May Zarhy, he founded the collective MAMAZA. In addition to choreographing, he also teaches, for instance as part of bachelor’s and master’s degree programmes (at P.A.R.T.S in Brussels and Manufacture in Lausanne). Picture: Dominik Mentzos

Jasmine Morand

Jasmine Morand

After obtaining a classical dance education, Jasmine Morand, born in 1977 in Zurich, went on to dance at many ballet companies (Nancy, Zurich, Ljubljana). From 2000 to 2002, she studied contemporary dance at Codarts in Rotterdam and began to choreograph. In 2007, she founded her company Prototype Status in Vevey (which most recently produced MIRE in 2016). She received Canton Vaud’s Culture Prize in 2013. In 2016, she became the director of Dansomètre in Vevey.

Michael Schumacher

Michael Schumacher

Michael Schumacher’s roots are in classical ballet and modern dance. After training at the Juilliard School, New York, he danced at Ballet Frankfurt, Twyla Tharp Dance and Pretty Ugly Dance Company; he has also worked with Sylvie Guillem. He has choreographed for Ballet Frankfurt, NDT 3 and Het Nationale Ballet, among others. He has created with Sabine Kupferberg (Queen Lear, which was in the 2012 Steps programme) and Jiří Kylián (Last Touch First). He also runs improvisation workshops worldwide.

Programme:

Manufactured1

Chromatic colloquy2

let us find3

For Heaven’s Sake4

Subject to change5

Choreography:

1Fabrice Mazliah; 2Annabelle Lopez Ochoa; 3Jasmine Morand; 4Itzik Galili; 5Michael Schumacher

Music:

1Johannes Helberger / King Klang Klong; 2Hauschka / «Pripyat» from the album Abandoned City; 3Colleen «Your Heart Is So Loud», Max Cooper «Order from Chaos», audio montage: Jasmine Morand; 4Drums; 5UNCIVIL – Kollektiv Turmstrasse (Christian Hilscher and Nico Plagemann)

Costumes:

2Berend Voorhaar and Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes; 3Berend Voorhaar and Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes; 4Itzik Galili, confection: Berend Voorhaar and Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes; 5Berend Voorhaar and Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes

Lighting:

4Itzik Galili, Benno Veen

Choreographic assistance:

1Simon Wehrli, dramaturgical assistance: Marialena Marouda; 2Kevin Richmond, (Mark Wuest, Denise Lampart); 3Denise Lampart; 4Mark Wuest, Rehearsal: Elisabeth Gibiat; 5Cathy Sharp

Dancers:

19; 22; 314; 414; 510

Co-production:

La Manufacture HES SO (Lausanne), Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK (Zürich), Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Premiere:

16th of April 2018, Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps, Gessnerallee Zürich; 430th of November 2001, Holland Dance Festival, The Hague (NL)

More information:

BA Contemporary Dance ZHdK 

BA Contemporary Dance Manufacture

Suisse

Take Off!

The Swiss Bachelors of Dance

Dates de tournée

Durée: 85 min sans entracte

avril 16, 2018

Zürich

20:00

avril 16, 2018

Zürich

20:00

avril 17, 2018

Zürich

20:00

avril 17, 2018

Zürich

20:00

avril 20, 2018

Lörrach (D)

20:00

avril 20, 2018

Lörrach (D)

20:00

avril 22, 2018

Olten

19:00

avril 22, 2018

Olten

19:00

avril 26, 2018

Poschiavo

20:00

avril 26, 2018

Poschiavo

20:00

avril 27, 2018

Poschiavo

20:00

avril 27, 2018

Poschiavo

20:00

avril 30, 2018

St. Gallen

19:30

avril 30, 2018

St. Gallen

19:30

mai 1, 2018

Steckborn

20:15

mai 1, 2018

Steckborn

20:15

mai 3, 2018

Vevey

20:00

mai 3, 2018

Vevey

20:00

mai 5, 2018

Neuchâtel

20:00

mai 5, 2018

Neuchâtel

20:00

Billetterie

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Gessnerallee Zürich

Zürich

Gessnerallee 8

www.gessnerallee.ch +41 44 225 81 11

Burghof Lörrach

Lörrach (D)

Herrenstrasse 5

www.burghof.com +49 7621 9408911

Burghof Lörrach

Lörrach (D)

Herrenstrasse 5

www.burghof.com +49 7621 9408911

TANZINOLTEN, Kulturzentrum Schützi

Olten

Schützenmattweg 15

www.tanzinolten.ch +41 62 216 15 34

TANZINOLTEN, Kulturzentrum Schützi

Olten

Schützenmattweg 15

www.tanzinolten.ch +41 62 216 15 34

Palestre scuole comunali

Poschiavo

Via da S. Maria

www.valposchiavo.ch +41 81 839 00 60

Palestre scuole comunali

Poschiavo

Via da S. Maria

www.valposchiavo.ch +41 81 839 00 60

Palestre scuole comunali

Poschiavo

Via da S. Maria

www.valposchiavo.ch +41 81 839 00 60

Palestre scuole comunali

Poschiavo

Via da S. Maria

www.valposchiavo.ch +41 81 839 00 60

Theater St. Gallen

St. Gallen

Museumstrasse 24

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Theater St. Gallen

St. Gallen

Museumstrasse 24

www.theatersg.ch +41 71 242 06 06

Phönix Theater

Steckborn

Im Feldbach 8

www.phoenix-theater.ch +41 52 761 33 77

Phönix Theater

Steckborn

Im Feldbach 8

www.phoenix-theater.ch +41 52 761 33 77

Le Reflet –Théâtre de Vevey

Vevey

Rue du Théâtre 4

www.lereflet.ch +41 21 925 94 94

Le Reflet –Théâtre de Vevey

Vevey

Rue du Théâtre 4

www.lereflet.ch +41 21 925 94 94

Théâtre du Passage

Neuchâtel

Passage Maximilien-de-Meuron 4

www.theatredupassage.ch +41 32 717 79 07

Théâtre du Passage

Neuchâtel

Passage Maximilien-de-Meuron 4

www.theatredupassage.ch +41 32 717 79 07

Il est toujours impressionnant de voir avec quel courage et quelle détermination les jeunes débutent leur chemin dans la vie, en particulier lorsqu’il s’agit de leur entrée dans la vie professionnelle. Take Off! permet au public de ressentir, en direct, l’énergie et l’effervescence qui caractérise cet âge, aussi dans la danse. Si cet art a le vent en poupe en Suisse, on le doit entre autres à de nouvelles structures de formation. Parmi elles, les deux filières de bachelor en danse contemporaine ouvertes en 2014, qui préparent des étudiants âgés de 17 à 24 ans à une carrière professionnelle. Les jeunes artistes issus de deux écoles à l’approche différente, la ZHdK à Zurich et la Manufacture à Lausanne, n’ont, à ce jour, jamais proposé de représentation commune. C’est à l’initiative de Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros, qu’ils partent désormais ensemble en tournée à travers la Suisse et présentent des œuvres (principalement des premières) créées avec eux par des chorégraphes internationaux de renom: Annabelle Lopez Ochoa, Fabrice Mazliah, Jasmine Morand et Michael Schumacher ainsi qu’un classique d’Itzik Galili. Au vu de la variété des gestuelles proposées, la découverte de ces jeunes talents promet d’être un véritable ravissement.

Itzik Galili

Itzik Galili

L’Israélien Itzik Galili fait ses premiers pas de chorégraphe alors qu’il danse encore à la Batsheva Dance Company. Le succès ne se fait pas attendre et il fonde l’Ensemble Galili Dance en 1991 aux Pays-Bas. En 1997, le ministère de l’Intérieur le nomme directeur artistique de la nouvelle Compagnie NND/Galili Dance à Groningen, qu’il dirigera pendant onze ans. En 2009, Galili est l’un des cofondateurs de la troupe de danse contemporaine Dansgroep Amsterdam. Chorégraphe indépendant depuis 2011, ses productions rencontrent un succès international. Photo: Gadi Dagon

Annabelle Lopez Ochoa

Annabelle Lopez Ochoa

Née en 1973, la chorégraphe d’origine belge et colombienne danse pendant douze ans au Scapino Ballet avant de se consacrer entièrement à la chorégraphie dès 2003. Elle est depuis entrée dans la cour des grands et travaille comme chorégraphe invitée au Het Nationale Ballet, au Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Genève, à la GöteborgsOperans Danskompani, à l’English National Ballet ou encore au New York City Ballet. Cette artiste récompensée par de multiples distinctions étend ses créations aux domaines du théâtre, de l’opéra et de la comédie musicale.

Fabrice Mazliah

Fabrice Mazliah

Le Genevois Fabrice Mazliah débute sa formation de danseur auprès de Beatriz Consuelo et d’Alicia de La Fuente avant de se perfectionner à Athènes et au Rudra-Béjart-Atelier à Lausanne. Il rejoint ensuite le Nederlands Dans Theater et, en 1997, le Ballett Frankfurt sous la direction de William Forsythe, où il crée ses premières pièces. En 2009, il fonde le collectif MAMAZA avec Ioannis Mandafounis et May Zarhy. Parallèlement à ses activités de chorégraphe, il enseigne notamment aux étudiants en bachelor et en master à P.A.R.T.S. (Bruxelles) et à la Manufacture (Lausanne). Photo: Dominik Mentzos

Jasmine Morand

Jasmine Morand

Née à Zurich en 1977, Jasmine Morand suit une formation de danse classique avant d’intégrer diverses troupes de ballet (Nancy, Zurich, Ljubljana). De 2000 à 2002, elle étudie la danse contemporaine à Codarts, Rotterdam, et se lance dans la chorégraphie. En 2007, elle fonde la Compagnie Prototype Status à Vevey (dernière production: MIRE, 2016). En 2013, elle reçoit le Prix culturel vaudois et est nommée, en 2016, à la tête du Dansomètre à Vevey.

Michael Schumacher

Michael Schumacher

Michael Schumacher plonge ses racines dans le ballet classique et la danse moderne. Après une formation à la Juilliard School à New York, sa carrière de danseur le mène au Ballett Frankfurt, chez Twyla Tharp Dance ainsi qu’à la Pretty Ugly Dance Company et il travaille aussi avec Sylvie Guillem. Comme chorégraphe, il crée entre autres des pièces pour le Ballett Frankfurt, le NDT 3 et le Het Nationale Ballet. Il collabore par ailleurs avec Sabine Kupferberg (Queen Lear, à l’affiche de Steps 2012) et avec Jiří Kylián (Last Touch First) et donne des ateliers d’improvisation de par le monde.

Programme:

Manufactured1

Chromatic colloquy2

let us find3

For Heaven’s Sake4

Subject to change5

Chorégraphie:

1Fabrice Mazliah; 2Annabelle Lopez Ochoa; 3Jasmine Morand; 4Itzik Galili; 5Michael Schumacher

Musique:

1Johannes Helberger / King Klang Klong; 2Hauschka / «Pripyat» tiré de l'album Abandoned City; 3Colleen «Your Heart Is So Loud», Max Cooper «Order from Chaos», montage audio : Jasmine Morand; 4Percussions; 5UNCIVIL – Kollektiv Turmstrasse (Christian Hilscher et Nico Plagemann)

Costumes:

2Berend Voorhaar et Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes; 3Berend Voorhaar et Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes; 4Itzik Galili, confection: Berend Voorhaar et Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes; 5Berend Voorhaar et Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes

Lumières:

4Itzik Galili, Benno Veen

Assistance chorégraphique:

1Simon Wehrli, assistance dramaturgique: Marialena Marouda; 2Kevin Richmond, (Mark Wuest, Denise Lampart); 3Denise Lampart; 4Mark Wuest, répétitions: Elisabeth Gibiat; 5Cathy Sharp

Danseuses/danseurs:

19; 22; 314; 414; 510

Coproduction:

La Manufacture HES SO (Lausanne), Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK (Zürich), Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros

Première:

16 avril 2018, Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros, Gessnerallee Zürich; 430 novembre 2001, Holland Dance Festival, La Haye (NL)

Plus d‘informations:

BA Contemporary Dance ZHdK 

BA Contemporary Dance Manufacture