PATRONAGE

Dear spectators,

dear dancers,

 

Contemporary dance dazzles us with its virtuoso playfulness, and touches us with its straightforward immediacy. It shows us the potential of what we can experience when we are in touch with other people, dramatically and emphatically.

 

For more than 30 years, Steps has been showcasing how contemporary dance has time and again broken with convention and integrated new influences. The festival understood early on that diversity is valuable and that everyone should have access to dance – on stage and in the audience. Contemporary dance is as multifaceted as our society.

 

Steps is special in that it brings contemporary dance to people in all regions of Switzerland. It also stages shows in areas outside the urban centres, where the number of venues are few, and forms a bridge between the Swiss dance scene to the international one. Swiss dance would not be where it is today were it not for the Steps Dance Festival sponsored by the Migros Culture Percentage.

 

Dance shows us what happens with people and between people – and everything that could happen. Enjoy the show.

 

Alain Berset 
Federal Councillor, Head of the Federal Department of Home Affairs

 

 

Photo © Gaetan Bally – Keystone

PATRONAGE

Chères spectatrices, chers spectateurs,
chères danseuses, chers danseurs,

 

Directe, virtuose et bohème, la danse contemporaine nous transporte et nous bouleverse. Elle nous fait découvrir les possibilités qui s’offrent à nous lorsque nous partageons des émotions avec d’autres personnes.

 

Depuis plus de 30 ans, le festival Steps présente la danse contemporaine et sa manière de faire voler en éclats les conventions et d’ouvrir de nouvelles voies. La danse contemporaine est aussi multiple que notre société. Et le festival a compris très tôt que la diversité est précieuse et que tout le monde doit avoir accès à la danse – sur scène et dans les salles.

 

La particularité du festival Steps est justement d’amener la danse contemporaine dans toute la Suisse – y compris hors des centres urbains, là où les salles de spectacle sont plus rares. Le festival jette aussi des ponts entre la scène internationale et la scène suisse de la danse. Sans lui et le soutien du Pour-cent culturel Migros, celle-ci ne serait pas ce qu’elle est aujourd’hui.

 

La danse symbolise la magie des rencontres, réelles ou désirées. Profitons-en!

 

Alain Berset,
Conseiller fédéral, chef du Département fédéral de l’intérieur

 

 

Photo © Gaetan Bally – Keystone