Inclusion

As the team of the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps, we advocate for the self-determined inclusion of people with disabilities in cultural life. We are committed to the representation of artists on stage as well as facilitating access to content and removing barriers for our audience.

 

Since 2006, we have programmed works by and with people who either have or do not have disabilities and have received insightful support by our theatre partners in this endeavour. Steps was certified by Kultur inklusiv in 2018 and has since advocated among its community of event organisers for barrier-free access for audiences. Interested cultural event organisers can find valuable tips in the “A barrier-free cultural visit” roadmap, which was jointly developed in 2020 by Kultur inklusiv and experts from Sensability with support from Migros Culture Percentage.

 

Representation is also an important subject in our accompanying programme. Our workshops for dance professionals provide opportunities for dance artists with and without disabilities. “HORAkel”, our new format for everyone interested in Steps, kicks off in 2022 and was developed together with Theater HORA in order to bring HORA ensemble members to selected Steps performances. Their perspectives and impressions of the onstage activity are presented in short videos on our website.

 

An advisory board of self-advocates supports the festival‘s implementation of its inclusion goals. The advisors for the 2022 edition are Inga Laas (accessibility for people with a hearing impairment) and Alex Oberholzer (accessibility for people with restricted mobility).

 

 

Simply put: In the texts about the companies you will find short descriptions of the shows in simple language.

 

 All theatres are accesible to visitors with mobility impairments. All theatres offer wheelchair spaces, which can be reserved directly through the respective theatre.

Accessibility for TANZflug / Mirjam Gurtner: The audience can move freely between the different areas inside the hotel. There is no reserved seating. However, chairs are available if necessary. The hotel in Geneva is only partially wheelchair-accessible. Reservations for wheelchair tickets: Purchase your tickets via See Tickets and register with Mara Natterer (Production Manager Almost Home). Please specify the date and time of the performance. Thank you very much.

 

 indicates theatres that have an audio induction loop system for visitors with hearing aids.

Inclusion

L’équipe de Steps, Festival de danse du Pour-cent culturel Migros, s’engage pour l’intégration autonome des personnes en situation de handicap dans la vie culturelle. Il s’agit de la représentativité des artistes sur scène, mais aussi de moyens auxiliaires facilitant l’accessibilité au contenu et de la suppression d’obstacles pour le public.

 

Depuis 2006, nous programmons des productions crées et interprétées par des personnes en situation de handicap ou non et sommes soutenus dans cette démarche par nos théâtres partenaires. Depuis 2018, le festival porte le label «Culture inclusive». Comme partenaire de label, nous promouvons l’accessibilité des spectacles au sein de notre communauté d’organisateurs et d’organisatrices. Riche en précieux conseils, le guide Pour une sortie culturelle accessible a d’ailleurs été élaboré en 2020 à leur intention par le Service Culture inclusive et les spécialistes de Sensability avec le soutien du Pour-cent culturel Migros.

 

La représentativité est également un aspect clé de notre programme en marge des spectacles. Aussi trouve-t-on, parmi des ateliers de danse «par des professionnel·le·s pour des professionnel·le·s», des offres proposées par et pour des actrices et acteurs de la danse en situation de handicap ou non. HORAkel, un nouveau format développé en collaboration avec le Theater HORA, dont certains membres assistent à des représentations d’autres troupes dans le cadre de Steps, sera lancé en 2022. Une fois les tournées des compagnies débutées, vous trouverez des courts métrages sur notre site Internet, dans lesquels les membres de Theater HORA partagent leurs impressions et points de vue sur la pièce et sur la danse en général.

 

Un comité d’auto-représentant·e·s aide par ailleurs le festival à réaliser ses objectifs d’inclusion. Pour l’édition 2022, Inga Laas endosse le rôle de conseillère pour l’accessibilité des personnes malentendantes et Alex Oberholzer celui de conseiller pour l’accessibilité des personnes à mobilité réduite.

 

 

Dit simplement: Dans les textes sur les compagnies, vous trouverez les descriptions des pièces en langage simplifié.

 

 Toutes les salles de nos théâtres partenaires sont accessibles pour un public à mobilité réduite. Tous les théâtres proposent des places pour fauteuils roulants. Les réservations se font directement auprès de ces théâtres.

Les représentations de TANZflug / Mirjam Gurtner dans les hôtels sont partiellement accessibles aux fauteuils roulants. Les places pour fauteuils roulants peuvent être réservées directement auprès de la compagnie.

 

 indique que les théâtres disposant d’une boucle magnétique pour les personnes portant un appareil auditif.