Switzerland

Take Off!

The Swiss Bachelors of Dance

The bold and self-determined manner in which young people begin their journey through life, especially in professional life, never ceases to impress. Take Off! makes it possible to experience, live on stage, the spirit of optimism and the energy that is inherent in this phase of life, also in dance. To no small extent, the fact that dance is on the rise in Switzerland is due to new education structures. These include the two bachelor’s degree programmes in contemporary dance that were established in 2014, which prepare students aged between 17 and 24 for a professional career. However, the up-and-coming young artists from these two very differently oriented schools in Zurich (ZHdK) and Lausanne (Manufacture) have never appeared together on stage before. On the initiative of the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps, they are now touring together for the first time, nationwide, mainly presenting premieres of new creations resulting from their collaborations with internationally renowned choreographers Annabelle Lopez Ochoa, Fabrice Mazliah, Jasmine Morand and Michael Schumacher, plus a classic by Itzik Galili. The joy of discovery conveyed by these young dance talents confronting diverse dance languages is simply compelling.

Itzik Galili

Itzik Galili

Choreographer Itzik Galili from Israel started to choreograph as a member of the ensemble at Batsheva Dance Company and soon met with a huge response. In 1991, he founded his own ensemble, Galili Dance, in the Netherlands. In 1997, the Ministry of Culture appointed him as artistic director of the newly established company NND / Galili Dance in Groningen, which he ran for eleven years. In 2009, Galili co-founded the contemporary Dansgroep Amsterdam. He has been working successfully on a freelance basis since 2011. Picture: Gadi Dagon

Annabelle Lopez Ochoa

Annabelle Lopez Ochoa

Born in 1973, this choreographer with Columbian/Belgian roots danced for twelve years at Scapino Ballet, before devoting herself solely to choreography from 2003 onwards. Since being recognised as masterful in her field, she has been hired as a guest choreographer all around the world, for instance by Het Nationale Ballet, Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Genève, GöteborgsOperans Danskompani, English National Ballet and New York City Ballet. This multi-award-winning artist also works in theatre, opera and musicals.

Fabrice Mazliah

Fabrice Mazliah

Fabrice Mazliah of Geneva first learnt to dance under Beatriz Consuelo and Alicia de La Fuente. He studied further in Athens and at Atelier Rudra Béjart in Lausanne. He became a member of Nederlands Dans Theater, then joined William Forsythe’s Ballet Frankfurt in 1997, where he started to choreograph. In 2009, together with Ioannis Mandafounis and May Zarhy, he founded the collective MAMAZA. In addition to choreographing, he also teaches, for instance as part of bachelor’s and master’s degree programmes (at P.A.R.T.S in Brussels and Manufacture in Lausanne). Picture: Dominik Mentzos

Jasmine Morand

Jasmine Morand

After obtaining a classical dance education, Jasmine Morand, born in 1977 in Zurich, went on to dance at many ballet companies (Nancy, Zurich, Ljubljana). From 2000 to 2002, she studied contemporary dance at Codarts in Rotterdam and began to choreograph. In 2007, she founded her company Prototype Status in Vevey (which most recently produced MIRE in 2016). She received Canton Vaud’s Culture Prize in 2013. In 2016, she became the director of Dansomètre in Vevey.

Michael Schumacher

Michael Schumacher

Michael Schumacher’s roots are in classical ballet and modern dance. After training at the Juilliard School, New York, he danced at Ballet Frankfurt, Twyla Tharp Dance and Pretty Ugly Dance Company; he has also worked with Sylvie Guillem. He has choreographed for Ballet Frankfurt, NDT 3 and Het Nationale Ballet, among others. He has created with Sabine Kupferberg (Queen Lear, which was in the 2012 Steps programme) and Jiří Kylián (Last Touch First). He also runs improvisation workshops worldwide.

Programme:

Manufactured1

Chromatic colloquy2

let us find3

For Heaven’s Sake4

Subject to change5

Choreography:

1Fabrice Mazliah; 2Annabelle Lopez Ochoa; 3Jasmine Morand; 4Itzik Galili; 5Michael Schumacher

Music:

1Johannes Helberger / King Klang Klong; 2Hauschka / «Pripyat» from the album Abandoned City; 3Colleen «Your Heart Is So Loud», Max Cooper «Order from Chaos», audio montage: Jasmine Morand; 4Drums; 5UNCIVIL – Kollektiv Turmstrasse (Christian Hilscher and Nico Plagemann)

Costumes:

2Berend Voorhaar and Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes; 3Berend Voorhaar and Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes; 4Itzik Galili, confection: Berend Voorhaar and Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes; 5Berend Voorhaar and Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes

Lighting:

4Itzik Galili, Benno Veen

Choreographic assistance:

1Simon Wehrli, dramaturgical assistance: Marialena Marouda; 2Kevin Richmond, (Mark Wuest, Denise Lampart); 3Denise Lampart; 4Mark Wuest, Rehearsal: Elisabeth Gibiat; 5Cathy Sharp

Dancers:

19; 22; 314; 414; 510

Co-production:

La Manufacture HES SO (Lausanne), Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK (Zürich), Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps

Premiere:

16th of April 2018, Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps, Gessnerallee Zürich; 430th of November 2001, Holland Dance Festival, The Hague (NL)

More information:

BA Contemporary Dance ZHdK 

BA Contemporary Dance Manufacture

Schweiz

Take Off!

The Swiss Bachelors of Dance

Es ist immer wieder beeindruckend, wie junge Menschen mutig und selbstbestimmt ihren Weg ins Leben beginnen, insbesondere, wenn es um den Weg ins Berufsleben geht. Die Aufbruchstimmung und die Energie, die dieser Lebensphase auch im Tanz zu eigen ist, kann man bei Take Off! live auf der Bühne miterleben. Der Tanz ist in der Schweiz nicht zuletzt dank neuer Ausbildungsstrukturen im Aufwind. Zu ihnen gehören auch die beiden 2014 etablierten Bachelorstudiengänge für zeitgenössischen Tanz, in deren Rahmen sich Studierende im Alter von 17 bis 24 Jahren auf die Berufskarriere vorbereiten. Zusammen aufgetreten sind die Nachwuchskünstlerinnen und -künstler der beiden sehr unterschiedlich ausgerichteten Schulen in Zürich (ZHdK) und Lausanne (Manufacture) bisher jedoch noch nie. Auf Initiative des Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps gehen sie nun landesweit erstmals gemeinsam auf Tournee und zeigen vorwiegend Uraufführungen, die international anerkannte Choreografinnen und Choreografen mit ihnen neu kreieren: Annabelle Lopez Ochoa, Fabrice Mazliah, Jasmine Morand und Michael Schumacher, dazu einen Klassiker von Itzik Galili. Die Entdeckerfreude der jungen Tanztalente angesichts der vielfältigen Tanzsprachen wirkt einfach unwiderstehlich.

Itzik Galili

Itzik Galili
Der aus Israel stammende Choreograf Itzik Galili beginnt als Ensemblemitglied der Batsheva Dance Company zu choreografieren und stösst schnell auf grosses Echo. 1991 gründet er in den Niederlanden sein eigenes Ensemble Galili Dance. 1997 ernennt ihn das Kulturministerium zum künstlerischen Direktor der neu etablierten Compagnie NND/Galili Dance in Groningen, die er elf Jahre leitet. 2009 ist Galili Mitbegründer der zeitgenössischen Dansgroep Amsterdam. Seit 2011 arbeitet er erfolgreich freischaffend. Foto: Gadi Dagon

Annabelle Lopez Ochoa

Annabelle Lopez Ochoa
Die 1973 geborene Choreografin mit kolumbianisch-belgischen Wurzeln tanzt zwölf Jahre beim Scapino Ballet, ehe sie ab 2003 ausschliesslich choreografiert. Inzwischen eine anerkannte Meisterin ihrer Zunft, wird sie weltweit als Gastchoreografin engagiert, unter anderem vom Het Nationale Ballet, vom Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Genève, von der GöteborgsOperans Danskompani, dem English National Ballet und dem New York City Ballet. Die mehrfach ausgezeichnete Künstlerin arbeitet auch für Schauspiel, Oper und Musicals.

Fabrice Mazliah

Fabrice Mazliah
Der Genfer Fabrice Mazliah beginnt bei Beatriz Consuelo und Alicia de La Fuente mit dem Tanzunterricht und studiert weiter in Athen und am Rudra-Béjart-Atelier in Lausanne. Er wird Mitglied des Nederlands Dans Theater und ab 1997 in William Forsythes Ballett Frankfurt, wo er zu choreografieren beginnt. 2009 gründet er mit Ioannis Mandafounis und May Zarhy das Kollektiv MAMAZA. Neben dem Choreografieren unterrichtet er, unter anderem im Rahmen von Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen (P.A.R.T.S, Brüssel, und Manufacture, Lausanne). Foto: Dominik Mentzos

Jasmine Morand

Jasmine Morand
Jasmine Morand, geboren 1977 in Zürich, ist nach einer klassischen Tanzausbildung Tänzerin bei mehreren Ballettcompagnien (Nancy, Zürich, Ljubljana). 2000 bis 2002 studiert sie bei Codarts in Rotterdam Zeitgenössischen Tanz und beginnt zu choreografieren. 2007 gründet sie in Vevey ihre Compagnie Prototype Status (es entsteht zuletzt MIRE, 2016). 2013 erhält sie den Kulturpreis des Kantons Waadt. 2016 übernimmt sie die Leitung des Dansomètre in Vevey.

Michael Schumacher

Michael Schumacher
Michael Schumachers Wurzeln liegen im klassischen Ballett und im Modern Dance. Ausgebildet an der Juilliard School, New York, wird er Tänzer des Ballett Frankfurt, bei Twyla Tharp Dance und der Pretty Ugly Dance Company; ausserdem arbeitet er mit Sylvie Guillem. Choreografien entstehen unter anderem für das Ballett Frankfurt, NDT 3 und Het Nationale Ballet. Er kreiert mit Sabine Kupferberg (Queen Lear, 2012 im Programm von Steps) und Jiří Kylián (Last Touch First) und gibt weltweit Workshop in Improvisation.

Programm:

Manufactured1

Chromatic colloquy2

let us find3

For Heaven’s Sake4

Subject to change5

Choreografie:

1Fabrice Mazliah; 2Annabelle Lopez Ochoa; 3Jasmine Morand; 4Itzik Galili; 5Michael Schumacher

Musik:

1Johannes Helberger / King Klang Klong; 2Hauschka / «Pripyat» von dem Album Abandoned City; 3Colleen «Your Heart Is So Loud», Max Cooper «Order from Chaos», Audiomontage: Jasmine Morand; 4Schlagwerk; 5UNCIVIL – Kollektiv Turmstrasse (Christian Hilscher und Nico Plagemann)

Kostüme:

2Berend Voorhaar und Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes; 3Berend Voorhaar und Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes; 4Itzik Galili, Herstellung: Berend Voorhaar und Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes; 5Berend Voorhaar und Sabrina Zyla, Karisma-Costumes

Licht:

4Itzik Galili, Benno Veen

Choreografische Assistenz:

1Simon Wehrli, dramaturgische Assistenz: Marialena Marouda; 2Kevin Richmond, (Mark Wuest, Denise Lampart); 3Denise Lampart; 4Mark Wuest, Einstudierung: Elisabeth Gibiat; 5Cathy Sharp

Tänzerinnen/Tänzer:

19; 22; 314; 414; 510

Koproduktion:

La Manufacture HES SO (Lausanne), Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK (Zürich), Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps

Uraufführung:

16. April 2018, Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps, Gessnerallee Zürich; 430. November 2001, Holland Dance Festival, Den Haag (NL)

Weitere Infos:

BA Contemporary Dance ZHdK 

BA Contemporary Dance Manufacture