PATRONAGE

Dear spectators,

dear dancers,

 

Contemporary dance dazzles us with its virtuoso playfulness, and touches us with its straightforward immediacy. It shows us the potential of what we can experience when we are in touch with other people, dramatically and emphatically.

 

For more than 30 years, Steps has been showcasing how contemporary dance has time and again broken with convention and integrated new influences. The festival understood early on that diversity is valuable and that everyone should have access to dance – on stage and in the audience. Contemporary dance is as multifaceted as our society.

 

Steps is special in that it brings contemporary dance to people in all regions of Switzerland. It also stages shows in areas outside the urban centres, where the number of venues are few, and forms a bridge between the Swiss dance scene to the international one. Swiss dance would not be where it is today were it not for the Steps Dance Festival sponsored by the Migros Culture Percentage.

 

Dance shows us what happens with people and between people – and everything that could happen. Enjoy the show.

 

Alain Berset 
Federal Councillor, Head of the Federal Department of Home Affairs

 

 

Photo © Gaetan Bally – Keystone

PATRONAT

Liebe Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer,

liebe Tänzerinnen und Tänzer,

 

Zeitgenössischer Tanz überwältigt uns mit seiner virtuosen Verspieltheit, er berührt uns mit seiner schnörkellosen Direktheit. Er zeigt uns eindringlich und eindrücklich, wie viel wir erleben können, wenn wir mit anderen Menschen mitfühlen.

 

Steps präsentiert seit mehr als 30 Jahren, wie der zeitgenössische Tanz immer wieder die Konventionen gesprengt und neue Einflüsse integriert hat. Das Festival hat früh verstanden, dass Diversität wertvoll ist und alle Menschen Zugang zum Tanzen haben sollen – auf der Bühne und im Publikum. Der zeitgenössische Tanz ist so facettenreich wie unsere Gesellschaft.

 

Das Besondere an Steps: Es bringt den zeitgenössischen Tanz zu den Menschen in allen Regionen der Schweiz. Es zeigt ihn auch ausserhalb der urbanen Zentren, wo die Anzahl der Spielstätten sehr begrenzt ist. Und es schafft die Verbindung zwischen dem internationalen Tanzschaffen und der Schweizer Tanzszene. Ohne das Tanzfestival Steps des Migros-Kulturprozent wäre die Schweizer Tanzszene nicht dort, wo sie heute steht.

 

Der Tanz führt uns vor Augen, was mit und zwischen Menschen passiert – und was alles passieren könnte. Dabei wünsche ich allen viel Vergnügen.

 

Alain Berset 
Bundesrat, Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Departements des Innern

 

 

Foto © Gaetan Bally – Keystone